We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Praia Taipu De Fora, Taipus de Fora, Marau, State of Bahia 45520 Brazil
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (499)
Pool & Beach (120)
Dining (70)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Taipus de Fora
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.9
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
Dreamland Bungalows is located beach front on one of the most beautiful beaches in Brazil, Taipú de Fora. All our 12 units have elegant design and are equipped with individual veranda (10 with ocean view), king size bed, minibar, Led TV 43, interphone, air condition and wireless internet. The pousada also has a charming bar right in front of the beach, where we serve refreshing drinks and great food. A relaxed and friendly atmosphere is set by the owners and the employees. We speak English, Portuguese and Norwegian. Welcome to paradise!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool with view
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Shuttle bus service
Massage
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Hiking
Snorkeling
Concierge
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Telephone
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Norwegian, Portuguese
483Reviews9Q+A14Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 422
  • 50
  • 4
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ré Pons P wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions
I stayed 7 nights in this place and i really enjoyed. Nice room, good restaurant, the place is beautiful and the beach have no end...All i needed was sun, peace and relax. I really recommend to go there you will love it
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jan Inge Thomassen, Owner at Dreamland Bungalows
Responded Mar 18, 2022
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback:) Hope to receive you here again some day! A big hug from Jan and the Dreamland famliy:)
Read more
Ludmila wrote a review Sep 2020
Salvador, BA9 contributions3 helpful votes
Dreamland bungalows apply one of our values: trust! They act with humbleness and give you space to relax and enjoy as much as you can, surrounded by nature and positiveness. The staff is willing to help any time and the host Jan and his wife are polite and are close to the daily business. Room is clean and the food is great. It is a place that you can go surfing and snorkeling by a foot away, as well as enjoy the sun and a cooooold beer.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anj_Ahmed wrote a review Oct 2019
Manchester, United Kingdom57 contributions65 helpful votes
From the minute we arrived Jan greeted us with a great big smile and made us feel so welcome. The accommodation is just right and was everything we needed. The location right on the beautiful beach is just perfect. I could not have enjoyed my stay more. We left some shoes behind and Jan even went out of his way to get them sent by moto taxi/boat/bus to our next destination...really over and above and so greatly appreciated. I cannot wait to come back and stay for longer...we only booked for 4 nights...I could easily stay for a month! Do not hesitate to book here, the journey is most definitely worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Carlacarlacarla wrote a review Oct 2018
London, United Kingdom11 contributions6 helpful votes
This place is incredible. We enjoyed every moment of the week we stayed with Jan and Leana at Dreamland's. Wonderful service, friendly staff, really good food and the most amazing beach. We're looking forward to go back next year.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Joseph A wrote a review Sep 2018
London, United Kingdom40 contributions11 helpful votes
Definitely visit the peninsula and definitely stay at dreamland. It is right on the beach, the standard of the accommodation is great, the staff without fail were top notch and the owners were lovely. Will who ran the restaurant in the evenings particularly went out his way to help us. We went in September and felt like we had the beach to ourselves! We would recommend renting a quad bike for the day, Owner Jan will take you through the route on the map and provide great suggestions and options. We finished the day at the light house for sunset which was amazing. A few things to note, apparently the natural pools are best at full moon where I believe they will be available for longer and have more fish (we didn’t know this). The road in is also very bumpy so just be prepared, but it’s very much worth it. Thanks to the whole team, hopefully one day we will see you again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anukool S wrote a review Feb 2018
Perth, Australia106 contributions68 helpful votes
Absolutely stunning place to stay... One of the best beaches anywhere, serene atmosphere, almost feel like a private beach to yourself. The water is warm, large lagoons. The bungalows are like a boutique resort. The owner Jan and his family manage it with a smile on their faces and are very helpful. The staff, like William are very friendly and helpful and even told us about the tasty chocolate popsicle. A must have.. . The food is also very nice.. Could stay here for ever. Its hard to get here but that's why you don't see many people and feel so tranquil. Would come back in a hearyveat
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
lionelb166 wrote a review Nov 2017
Marau, BA1 contribution
I was staying there for one week and had such a wonderful stay ! Thank you Liana & Jan ! Muito Obrigado a todos ! Congratulations for the renovations you’re doing and the expanded future you’re working on . Of course, the place you’re in is already lots higher than anybody could imagine; of course, you can feel all the energy of this idyllic peninsula, but what makes you unable to wait until your return is the kindness and regards you can feel with any member of the Crew. Obrigado e Parabens to all and each of you 🦋🙏🏽🦐🦑🦎🌺🌊🌶🍹🏄🏼 ...food is another reason to come back ! I’m still wondering why I left .... 🏝 Lionel
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Williamcavalcante, Front Office Manager at Dreamland Bungalows
Responded Dec 5, 2017
Hello Lionel, Thanks for all your kind words, we really apreciated! We are also looking forward to see you back here soon... Best regards William. Família Dreamland
Read more
Anne wrote a review Jul 2017
1 contribution
A beautiful place to find peace and calm. The service is excellent and the staff is flexible to make sure all your needs are met in order to have a perfect vacation. The ones working at Dreamland are super nice, some speak English, they are always smiling and it is "good vibe" here. The food is delicious - you can order whatever you like for breakfast, tapioca with coco is my favourite! There are good options for dinner and lunch too. Tusen takk for meg:) Hilsen Anne Merete
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Williamcavalcante, Gerente at Dreamland Bungalows
Responded Aug 17, 2017
Dear Anne Merete! Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a great pleasure to receive you here in Dreamland, and we hope to see you again soon. A big hug from all of us:) Best regards, William
Read more
Scott H wrote a review Jul 2017
3 contributions
The not so good: It is very much out of town and also over 1km to the pools. We were lucky we had a quad bike as the drive there when it had been raining a lot was challenging with one section of water crossing reaching almost the top of the quadbike. That was in addition to the general road plagued with unavoidable potholes. We had book the front bungalow hoping obviously to be at the front, closer to the beach and bar area. When we arrived the person indicated there was something wrong wrong with our room (we found out there was another couple staying there) and we would be upgraded to the bungalow behind on the second floor (which they said also has more TV channels). So unfortunately this was a bit of a let down considering it wasn't what we book or were expecting and now had half a view of the bungalow in front. The water used for showering etc is yellow which was a little concerning. There is no snorkelling gear or bikes etc that u can use for the hike to the pools, but u can hire by the hour at the main pool snorkelling gear (snorkel mask and flippers for 20 reals per hour). There is also a place to the left on the beach that appears to hire bikes. The good: The moqueca with prawns and banana is by far the best I've had anywhere so for around $100 reals it's very much worth the expense. The rooms themselves are quite nice with mosquito nets air conditioning and a place to hang out your clothes. The staff are friendly The kitchen staff are great and do a wonderful breakfast
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from JanThomassen, Owner at Dreamland Bungalows
Responded Jul 17, 2017
Dear Scott! Thank you for your review. We always try our best to satisfy our guests, and it means a lot to us to hear their opinions. I just wish you would have told us about how you felt during your stay, or when we asked for your feedbacks on check out, so we would have a chance to improve your impression. I am also sure that the rainy and windy weather we had during the 2 nights you were staying with us, did not allow us to show you our best and most beautiful side. I am sorry to hear that our upgrade did not please you. It was honestly intended to be a little gift for you and your girlfriend, since we did not have many guests at the moment. We gave you a more expensive room, a Top Floor Bungalow (on the second row) instead of the Ground Floor Bungalow on the first row. The Top Floor Bungalow has a better view that the Ground Floor one, since it is higher up, even if it is not in the front. But we should have asked you before if you´d like the upgrade or not, and I apologize for it. Normally the location of our pousada is what most of our guest find to be one of the best parts. It is "far away from everything", but still "close to everything", as many of our guests say. We are only 7 kms away from the village, Barra Grande, but since we have been going through the roughest winter in history here this year, with extreme measures of rain, the road is in pretty bad condition. And these 7 kms of unpaved road naturally feels a bit longer that they actually are, I understand. But unfortunatly we there is not much we can do with the weather, and now we have to wait for the rain to pass, before the local authorities can start doing maintenance on the road. The distance to the pools is also normally considered a strong plus, since the pools and its little center is a very busy place most of the year. We are only 15 minutes walking away, just enough to get away from the crowds. As the whole peninsula has no running water provided by the government, everyone has their own artesian well. The water here is clean and absolutlely not bad for health, but it is also rich in minerals, in particular iron, which causes a little color and a sometimes a light odor. The pousada has a filtration and chlorine treatment system, but on rainy days the mineral level in the water increases a bit. Unfortunately this is one of the inconveniences of being located in a paradise, far from everything - with little infrastructure. We are happy to hear that you liked our food and the service provided by the staff. I hope to see you again here in Dreamland, so that we one day will have the chance to improve your impression. Best regards, Jan
Read more
mbriso wrote a review Apr 2017
Weybridge, United Kingdom57 contributions10 helpful votes
We booked last minute as we had to change plans and decided to visit Taipus again after over 10 years. We found this place online and decided to give it a try. The stay was lovely and the owners were nice and helpful. We even forgot about the rain one evening when Jan played a few tunes in his guitar! Breakfast was good (freshly made tapioca was great!). The food in the evening was absolutely delicious, particularly the prawn and plantain stew (not a "moqueca" as that can only be truly experienced in Espirito Santo state!). Jokes apart, this corner of Bahia is a paradise if you want to relax and forget about the world. Thankfully, it is still hard to reach, which makes Dreamland Bungalows' standards very good considering how isolated the area is. We also recommend renting the quadri bike to explore the region. One suggestion: consider including the water price in the room fee calculation so that guests receive the equivalent of 2 small bottles every day - perhaps have a jar in the room so that guests don't need to go to a refill spot (plus keeping the environment safe). It just feels odd to know that you are being charged for a refill.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$187 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BrazilState of BahiaMarauTaipus de Fora
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dreamland Bungalows
Which popular attractions are close to Dreamland Bungalows?
Nearby attractions include Ponta do Muta Beach (2.8 miles), Taipus de Fora Beach (1.1 miles), and Barra Grande Beach (2.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Dreamland Bungalows?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Dreamland Bungalows?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Dreamland Bungalows?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Dreamland Bungalows?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dreamland Bungalows?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taipu 73 Pizzaria integral, Restaurante Fruto do Mar, and Obar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dreamland Bungalows?
Yes, guests have access to a pool with a view during their stay.
Does Dreamland Bungalows have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Dreamland Bungalows offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Dreamland Bungalows located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Taipus de Fora.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Dreamland Bungalows?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Portuguese, and Norwegian.
Does Dreamland Bungalows have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.