We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Save
Share
Waterberg Plateau National Park, Otjiwarongo Namibia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (143)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (7)

About

#6 of 19 Specialty lodging in Otjiwarongo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled on a rock terrace high up on the slope of the Waterberg, the chalets of the Waterberg Plateau Lodge afford grand vistas of the endless Kalahari bush savannah below. Each of the eight double room chalets sits between red sandstone rocks in the midst of green bush, with total privacy guaranteed. Acacias shade the terrace; a plunge pool filled with spring water provides cooling and attracts birds and small game.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View

Location

Full view
Contact
Waterberg Plateau National Park, Otjiwarongo Namibia
Getting there
Hosea Kutako Intl Airport151 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
160Reviews0Q+A11Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 54
  • 41
  • 40
  • 17
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sarhas wrote a review Nov 2019
Southampton, United Kingdom14 contributions
Had a lovely one night stay in the family lodge. Fabulous walks with lots to see including baboons, dassies, warthogs, many birds, porcupines,mongooses and lots from the antelope family! This really is a fabulous setting beneath the Waterberg Plateau it is much wetter than other parts of Namibia so much more pleasant for walking! The food was great and we enjoyed afternoon tea and cakes. There is the option to go on the Rhino drive which should not be missed!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Plateau Lodge
Responded Nov 5, 2019
Great to hear that you enjoyed exploring our "paradise" ;-) Please allow us to point out that Waterberg Plateau Lodge is not recommendable for families with small children, because it is built on a rock terrace halfway up the slope of the Waterberg - so there are steep rock cliffs. The family rooms we offer are at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge which is situated in our idyllic valley. Best regards from the Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve
Read more
Felix H wrote a review Aug 2019
Oshakati, Namibia17 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed with my clients from Germany on August 11 and 12,2019 at Waterberg Plateau Lodge. My room no.6 had no hot water because staff forgot to light the fire in the outside oven. My clients room no.5 was according to them not cleaned. The meals were the worst we had on the entire tour and simply could almost not eat anything. What they serve as a three course dinner I doubt my dog would not even eat it.We also left hungry on the day of departure the 13th of August. There was no gas at 8h30 to even friend an egg. We left with empty stomachs but were happy to enjoy proper Namibian hospitality and excellent food at our last stop on tour, the Mount Etjo Safari Lodge. Waterberg Plateau Lodge is seriously in need of upgrading their facilities and employing people who can cook decent meals. Overpriced in comparison to other lodges and not worth visiting.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Plateau Lodge
Responded Aug 16, 2019
Dear tour guide Felix H, your clients and you originally booked for 13 August for Waterberg Valley Lodge which is our budget accommodation at nearly half of the rate of Waterberg Plateau Lodge. You arrived already on 11 August, saying that there were some unforeseen changes in the itinerary of your tour. Unfortunately our Waterberg Valley Lodge was fully booked. Our reception manager then offered two rooms at Waterberg Plateau Lodge and informed you about the rates, because obviously it meant that you would have to pay for the upgrade. He even granted you a reduced rate for tour guides although the original booking for you was for a full paying guest. You agreed and then asked to stay for two nights instead of one. However, when you checked out, you suddenly started to complain about the price. When our reception manager insisted on the full payment as agreed, you added complaints about food and rooms. You threatened to cancel all bookings with us on further tours of yours and to publish bad comments on review platforms. When you realised that our manager would not be intimidated by that, you finally threw your credit card on the counter. Kind regards from private nature reserve Waterberg Wilderness
Read more
rod1245 wrote a review Jul 2019
11 contributions6 helpful votes
Location and view are spectacular but the quality of service was definitely not. Before arrival, based on reviews we made the request not to be allocated to room number 8. Upon arrival we were nevertheless allocated to this room. We were travelling with our two daughters and both rooms were far away from each other. After complaining, they accepted to change our room the day after. The service was incredibly slow at lunchtime, we were waiting for 1,5h for our salads. The dinner was good and the staff in the restaurant was really nice. We visited 8 lodges during our stay in Namibia and this one was unfortunately the only one which we would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Plateau Lodge
Responded Aug 7, 2019
We regret the hiccup with the room and the lunch. Your comment was forwarded to our booking office and the lodge manager to be discussed on the weekly team meetings. Great to hear that you enjoyed the location. Hopefully you also had time to experience the Waterberg by joining our guided Plateau Hike and Rhino Drive... Kind regards from the private nature reserve Waterberg Wilderness
Read more
Outdoor freak wrote a review Feb 2019
1 contribution
We are a family (grandparents included) exploring accommodation options in the waterberg region and came across the waterberg plateau lodge. Only to our disappointment to be shown away without a booking at reception by management. We were not allowed to look at the lodge at all. If anyone shares my sentiment I like to explore before Booking into a place. Very disappointed in this lodge and I for one will never book accommodation with them. I will strongly recommend NWR around the corner which is a for more affordable option as well.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Plateau Lodge
Responded Feb 6, 2019
According to our reception manager you intended to spend the day in our Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve. In order to guarantee an undisturbed stay for our overnight guests we do not accept day visitors, as we clearly indicate at our entrance gate and as our manager explained to you. We do not make exceptions even when visitors insist and threaten us with negative comments on review sites such as TripAdvisor. Best regards from the Waterberg
Read more
Bucketlist101 wrote a review Jan 2019
Cape Town Central, South Africa9 contributions7 helpful votes
Lodge rooms are comfortable with the most spectacular views as far as the horizon from such an elevation. Watched the sunrise which lit up the Waterberg mountain as the backdrop of the lodge. Rooms are hot in Summer despite the fan so the private cold plunge pool was very welcome. Staff in the restaurant were friendly and accommodating and we enjoyed the visit of Thomas the porcupine at dinner. The food was wholesome and a good standard given the remote location. We stayed for 1 night which was an ideal stopover between Windhoek and Ethosha to break the journey and enjoy the location. However, if you want to do any activities I would recommend 2 nights. We ordered hot water to be delivered in the morning so we could make tea / coffee in the room. I would suggest they replace ricoffy with a better quality instant coffee. Or perhaps you could ask for filter coffee to be delivered instead of making instant. In my experience in Namibia people are gentle, friendly and accommodating but you need to ask for things at times. It would be appreciated if they offered SADC citizens discounts as other lodges do in Namibia. Also, if it was possible with some technology to introduce air-conditioning one day in the future. I would love to return one day.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Plateau Lodge
Responded Feb 4, 2019
We totally agree with you and emphasise this on our website: In order to experience our guided hikes onto the Waterberg Plateau, our well-demarcated hiking trails, our "Botanical Garden" with small information boards introducing the plants along the path, our Rhino Drive and Rhino Tracking, not to forget our History Path and our Cultural Tour into Hereroland - you need to stay at least two nights. But yes - seven good reasons to come back one day, and maybe rather in May/June instead of December/January ;-) Kind regards from the private nature reserve Waterberg Wilderness
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
NamibiaOtjozondjupa RegionOtjiwarongo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Waterberg Plateau Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Waterberg Plateau Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Waterberg Plateau Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Waterberg Plateau Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Waterberg Plateau Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.