We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Summit Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Summit Hotel
The Summit Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Summit Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 284: English reviews
Rochester
Reviewed March 9, 2016

Great place to stay if you want to relax, enjoy the company of your companion and take in St. Maarten. New bathroom renovations are great, staff friendly and great location to Mullet Bay, Cupecoy as well as a short drive to the French Beaches. Forth year staying and we will be back next year.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LizOlsson
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LizOlsson, Thank you very much for posting such a wonderful review about the Summit on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your 5 star rating too! I'm really glad you like the newly renovated bathrooms. Those have been getting great reviews from everyone. Thanks also for highlighting our great location with it's easy access to some of the nicest beaches on the...

New Jersey
Reviewed March 3, 2016

Wonderful resort. Clean hot water. Our room had been updated this past year! Only issue was the outsourcing of the bar. Don't go the bar area. Everyone else was great. The staff was always friendly and went above and beyond to make sure your needs were taken care of

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joannh239
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear joannh239, Thank you so much for sharing with everyone on TripAdvisor what a great vacation you had at the Summit. I really appreciate it. As you noted, the bar and restaurant operation are new, having opened just prior to the season. While many reviewers have raved about how good the food and service are, I am aware that others...

Central
Reviewed March 2, 2016

Not fancy but a very respectable place to stay. Everything went well for my family except i was asked to move to a different room two days before checking out. Repacking, unpacking and then repacking again for checkout was inconvenient. Otherwise, it was a good experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thomasjV2371LD
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thomasjV2371LD, Thank you for posting a review about the Summit on TripAdvisor. By design, we strive to not be "fancy" as you noted, and instead we offer guests clean, comfortable rooms, in a relaxing and peaceful environment, where they can enjoy the natural beauty of the hotel and its surroundings. I am very glad that you enjoyed your experience...

Graham, North Carolina
Reviewed February 27, 2016

We had another good visit at the Summit (our 9-10th), though the food was especially good. The bar set up was new, but seemed to work pretty well also. As always, the staff was excellent in all aspects (advice, repairs, arrangements, etc).

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mikeslots
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mikeslots, Thank you very much for your great review, and 5 star rating, of the Summit on TripAdvisor. I can't tell you how much I appreciate it. The fact that you continue to return to the Summit time after time, when so many other hotels are available, is perhaps the greatest endorsement of all. I'm glad you liked our...

Stony Brook
Reviewed February 22, 2016

It still is the best place on SXM for the view - for features although some more items could be used like a barbeque which we used to have. As usual the restaurant is what it is and we all live with it. I do like the food. The service is poor but the bartenders are young and helpful. If...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James B
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James B, Thank you very much for the review you posted about the Summit on TripAdvisor and we completely agree, we do indeed have the "Greatest View on SXM" as you said. Sorry about the individual barbecues going away but the fire inspector wasn't too keen on us having those anymore. Our new Asian fusion restaurant offers great food...

Hellertown
Reviewed February 20, 2016

I am a repeat visitor, and am never disappointed! The rooms are clean, the view is awesome, the staff are very attentive! Even though I own a timeshare elsewhere on the island, I extend my stay at the Summit- I can always rely on a pleasant experience( unlike at MY home resort)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 166donnag
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 166donnag, Thanks so much for your great review of the Summit on TripAdvisor. We love you too! It's wonderful to see you return to the Summit time after time and we are especially flattered that you choose to spend time with us even though you have timeshare elsewhere on the island. Thanks for your comments about the rooms, the...

Lakeland, Florida
Reviewed February 20, 2016

Great views, friendly staff, laid back low key environment. Great food and reasonable prices. Happy hour is big plus. Nice views of Simpson Bay Lagoon. Rooms clean with kitchen. Numerous restaurants close as is superrette.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred A
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fred A, Thank you very much for the great review you posted about the Summit on TripAdvisor. I think your review does a great job of summing up the Summit's advantages in just a few words. I can't actually think of anything to add to it to help future guests understand our strengths and what we have to offer....

Warson Woods, Missouri
Reviewed February 19, 2016

Comfortable room. Good price. We had a great view from our balcony. No problem with noise, despite location next to pool & bar. We met many people who have been staying here for 20-30 years. Maid service very good, especially Sherry. Small problems like slow-draining bathtub & sink were corrected immediately. Ricardo & another man (I don't recall his name)...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3LouMagoo
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 3LouMagoo, Thank you very much for your great review of the Summit on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it. Thanks, in particular, for mentioning Sherry and what a good job she does cleaning the rooms. Sherry, along with Carmen and Joan, take great pride in making sure guest rooms are clean, well supplied and feel comfortable in order for you...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed February 17, 2016

I had a single story bungalow at the far end of the property, with a gorgeous view of the Bay. The rooms/buildings are laid out in a way that makes it seem as if you are the only one on the property. The buildings are angled, so even if someone next door is out on their deck, you don't really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lvLass
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear IvLass, Thank you so much for the wonderful review you posted about the Summit on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it and am so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. As you said, our room layout offers privacy and our grounds are peaceful and quiet. At the same time, we are just a few minutes...

Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Reviewed February 15, 2016

If you are looking for a really, laid back, kick off your shoes & relax kind of place with beautiful gardens & Simpson Bay views, then book this resort. Friendly, helpful staff is a definite plus also.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anthony J, Wow, I can't thank you enough for your excellent review of the Summit on TripAdvisor. Your description of us as "laid back, kick off your shoes & relax kind of place" is so dead on accurate I can't believe we haven't thought to use that in our advertising messages to guests before. You certainly hit the nail...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

385 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (123)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Deluxe Water View Room (42)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Premium Water View Room (44)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Villa (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
1.7 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
7.1 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
719 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful, clean, quiet property with a spectacular view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. Close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island but tucked away with lots of privacy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Summit Hotel

Address: Jordan Road # 42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Price Range: $112 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Summit Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Summit
The Summit Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Cupecoy Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Summit Hotel staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Summit Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for water-view unit in a detached, corner house.”
 of 5 bubbles AlexanderGB, 1 week ago | Read review
“Rooms 2, 3 and 4 directly face the lagoon.”
 of 5 bubbles 831ronk, Jan 14, 2017 | Read review
“Find one as close to waterfront as you can for the excellent view”
 of 5 bubbles jbmoore11, Sep 13, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upper unit with a water view.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesdC1017TD, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for 2B for best view”
 of 5 bubbles 957angelicaw, Jul 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question