We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Summit Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Jordan Road #42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Special Offer
FREE BOTTLE OF RUM!!!
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Summit Hotel
The Summit Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 236: English reviews
N. Venice
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Although an older property, it is maintained well. Great staff that will do whatever necessary to insure a comfortable stay. I even had a new mattress brought to our unit after informing management that the original was not comfortable. The pool was being completely renovated during our 2 week stay so arrangements were made with an adjacent resort so that... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike /Janet J
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike/Janet J, Thank you very much for posting such a nice review about the Summit on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it. I'm glad the new mattress we put in your room was more to your liking too. We appreciate having the chance to fix that for you. I wish all guests would let us know if there is ever... More 

Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we have time shares in SXM - most of which are for Saturday to Saturday. But as you know, saturday to saturday is just not enough time here. So we usually extend our stay by a day or two. staying another day or so also helps with less folks heading home too. the Summit is a great place to stay... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Danny L
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Danny L, Thank you for the great review you posted about the Summit on TripAdvisor and for sharing your thoughts with other travelers about all the wonderful features we offer. I think the most important ones you mentioned, and the ones that most guests come to us for, are the peace and tranquility we offer. Even though we are... More 

Tulsa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

We were very close to several beaches, which was lovely as that was our main purpose for this trip. The Summit Resort is also close to Blue Mall and Portico Cupe Coy, both of which are areas that are growing with new shops, restaurants, etc. We also liked that resort has 24-hour security.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank O8722GRdianew
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 08722GRdianew, Thank you very much for your positive review, and five star rating, of the Summit on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it. As you point out, since we are located in the Cupecoy area, we are close to some of the best beaches on the island including Mullet Bay, Cupecoy, Baie Long, Plum Bay, Rouge and others. It's a... More 

Rochester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

My wife and I spent a wonderful week as guests at The Summit Hotel and Resort in Cupecoy, St. Martin. The management and staff was professional and courteous. The room/apartment and bed was spacious, clean and comfortable. The room was equipped with a full size refrigerator, cooking range, microwave, dishes, utensils, satelite television and WiFi. The bathroom and shower were... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank jimandclaudiac
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jimandclaudiac, Wow! Thank you very much for posting such a wonderful review of the Summit on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and can't thank you enough for all the positive comments you made. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Summit sometime soon! Best regards, Bruce Jakubovitz More 

Coral Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

Good location, indifferent staff, quaint cottages, decent value for money except for the fact that mattress is room was beyond horrible. Like sleeping on springs and boards. The floor would be more comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank johnrP4798OT
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear johnrP4798OT, I am very sorry to read of your recent experience at the Summit and only wish that you had said something to our front desk staff about your issue with the mattress in your room. We keep extra mattresses in storage and would have been happy to replace the one in your room immediately if we had known... More 

St. Johns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

I have stayed here previously and received the same friendly service and clean room as before. The location was great for me, as it is as close to AUC as you can get and close to the best beach on the island, mullet beach.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank 708cliffa
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 708cliffa, Welcome back and thank you for posting a great review of the Summit on TripAdvisor. I am glad you had the same positive experience with us as on your previous trip and I hope we have a chance to welcome you back again on a future visit. Thanks for letting people know how close we are to the... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

This hotel is a gorgeous setting and the beautiful rooms have everything you need - and more than I expected. I had a modern, granite kitchen with everything I needed. It's like having your own pretty little apartment with a patio and relaxing view of the gardens and the water. The restaurant is awesome! Fabulous Chinese food! They have a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Liz H
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Liz H, Wow, thank you very much for your wonderful review, and 5 star rating, of the Summit on TripAdvisor! I can't tell you how much I appreciate it. I'm so glad you enjoyed your accommodations with us as well as the food at Tang's Hideaway. He really is a great chef isn't he? Thanks for mentioning the great... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

I stayed a week at The Summit. It is a gate guarded resort with a wonderful staff that made me feel like family. The rooms are spacious, clean, and reasonably priced with full kitchens. The views are amazing. I enjoyed several excellent meals at Tang's (located on the property) and Fat Tony's (just a short walk up the road). I... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Talawah26
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Talawah26, Thank you very much for the wonderful review, and five star rating, you posted about the Summit on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it. Thank you also for your comments about our staff who, when all is said and done, are what make the Summit such a special place to stay. They take great pride in welcoming guests into... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

The Summit was very reasonably priced. It has a guarded gate and is fenced and near the airport. Rooms are spacious with great air conditioning and scrupulously clean. Well grown landscaping and flowers abound. There is a good view and nice pool. We did a medical mission in St Maarten and Bruce the owner donated rooms for our group, after... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank David D
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David D, I can't thank you enough for the wonderful review, and five star rating, you gave the Summit on TripAdvisor. The work that you and your team did on behalf of the people of St Maarten, during your mission here, was really incredible and it was both an honor and a pleasure having you stay with us during... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

I arrived a day earlier than scheduled, the staff accommodated me without a problem... The room is like an efficiency apartment , kitchenette, updated bathroom, and great little sunporch. The pool area is fabulous, and Tang's restaurant has great food! I would definitely stay here again, great value!

Helpful?
1 Thank 759jeng
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 759jeng, Thank you very much for the wonderful review you posted about the Summit on TripAdvisor. I can't thank you enough. I'm delighted that we were able to accommodate your early arrival and glad that you are so happy with your room as well. I agree, the food at Tang's is delicious! Glad you enjoyed it! I hope we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

364 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (118)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Deluxe Water View Room (42)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Premium Water View Room (44)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Villa (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
1.6 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
7.1 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
2.6 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
#2 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful, clean, quiet property with a spectacular view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. Close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island but tucked away with lots of privacy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Summit Hotel

Address: Jordan Road #42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Price Range: $81 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, West Indies, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Summit Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Summit
The Summit Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Cupecoy Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay