We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beachwood Resort

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
3043 Beachwood Drive, Lakefield, Ontario K0L 2H0, Canada
Special Offer
Call Direct For Best Rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Beachwood Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

63 lady motorcyclists arrived for our annual fall meeting and get together, We were placed throughout the property depending on the number of beds required for each group.Cottages on the water had lovely decks, A number of the cottages have fireplaces,all were equipped with fridge,stove and small appliances, dishes etc or. There is a meal plan available if you choose... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
beachwoodBuckhorn, General Manager at Beachwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do truly appreciate it. It was wonderful meeting the ladies in your group and looking at all the motorcycles. What a fantastic group to belong to! Being able to ride together on trips like this is priceless. We are so pleased you choose Beachwood for your fall gathering and... More 

Burlington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015

Like you I look look at reviews before I book and I found a review saying that the cottages at Beechwood were rustic. That to me indicates a little on the rough side of cottage stays including possibly an outhouse. Well, that's not the case. Everything was clean and modern. Maybe not with granite countertops but that wasn't what we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Don H
beachwoodBuckhorn, General Manager at Beachwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. These lodgings are the most popular as they really do feel like you have your very own cottage. Many guests come back yearly, same time, same cottage. They meet the guests beside them and become life long friends. Some have even married!... More 

Ottawa
Level Contributor
171 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015

We stayed for a weeklong stay in one of the condo units for our summer retreat. From the welcoming staff, accommodation and excellent meals (which they catered to our needs perfectly!!), all of it exceeded our expectations. Our children had a wonderful time spending a few hours with the kids club and then on the relaxing beach shoreline and water... More 

Helpful?
Thank BIGtraveller66
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

Staff were friendly and the MAP at the on-site restaurant surpassed expectations. However, being charged $28 (adjusted to $22!) for 3 chicken nuggets and 2 potato crisps + half a bowl of soup was excessive and marred overall experience. Pool dirty and condo room had deficiencies which although reported were not fixed. Quiet time at lake was superior.

Helpful?
Thank Diane K
beachwoodBuckhorn, Manager at Beachwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay this summer. We cater to all types of guests throughout the year, the individual traveller, families, school groups, weddings and so many more. On they day you had lunch with us, your party of 2 opted for the $14 all you can eat lunch buffet instead of ordering from the lunch menu.... More 

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015 via mobile

We spent a week at Beachwood. Nice little beach with fun inflated diving rafts. There is also a small inground saltwater pool. Nice view of the lake. Waterskiing and tubing available. Recommended for young families.

Helpful?
Thank Teacher1406
Canuck in Mount Hope
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

Spent a week here and truly memorable. Felt like staying at a family cottage, but with someone else preparing excellent food and looking after all tasks. We were in the 3-BR Monarch cottage, with screen porch, that was an ideal setup for a family of six. Special mention to Dave (one of the owners) who looked after any issues at... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaveAndCarolyn_9
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015

Just got back from another great week at this resort on Lower Buckhorn Lake (great fishing and swimming). A lodge with rooms, a few sort of condo accommodations, and about a dozen very well-kept cottages all on the lake, a small sand beach with lots of lawn seating for everybody watching kids out on a huge inflatable playground. Small islands... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken D
beachwoodBuckhorn, Manager at Beachwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to review our property. Many of our guests are families that have been making Beachwood memories for years (just like yours). We thoroughly enjoy catching up with old friends and welcoming new ones to our property each season. We are constantly adding new items for our guest enjoyment - like the outdoor water playground -... More 

Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015 via mobile

I was up there for a couple of days with my best friend. We stayed in lakeview cottage. 3 bedroom and a full bathroom. Full kitchen with an open concept dinning and living room area. The large windows looked at the lake. There is a mudroom and a deck attached to the cottage. I found the accommodations to be reasonable... More 

Helpful?
Thank atifsharif
beachwoodBuckhorn, Manager at Beachwood Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your time in sending us a review. The large lakefront cottages are very popular through out the year because of their privacy and beautiful views of the lake. And yes mosquitos at dawn and dusk do seem to be hungry so bug spray is a good thing to bring. We do have it in the store to purchase... More 

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

We were in a 2 bedroom suite in one of the outer buildings and could not have been more disappointed. The towels and linens were threadbare, the bedrooms were tiny without enough space to walk down each side of the bed. The dresser in one room looked like it was plucked off the side of the road. The one small... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank 725exptraveller
beachwoodBuckhorn, General Manager at Beachwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your room during your stay at Beachwood. The 2 bedroom traditional condos are well equipped with kitchens, living rooms, fireplaces, a/c and have a lovely patio overlooking the lake. We are aware the bedrooms are not spacious, however, we hope experiences... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

We just returned from a week at this resort and could not say enough great things about the amenities, the owners, and the service. Absolutely WONDERFUL. We have three boys (ages 7, 9 and 12) and they were completely occupied all day, every day, with the fishing, the kayaks, the afternoon tubing/waterskiing and the water inflatables. They have a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank FamilyFive_2008
beachwoodBuckhorn, General Manager at Beachwood Resort, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for commenting. Going to a summer resort is all about relaxing, family time and fun. Looks like you accomplished it all. Hope to see you again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakefield
8.7 mi away
Pine Vista Resort
Pine Vista Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
8.3 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Viamede Resort
Viamede Resort
#1 of 1 in North Kawartha
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
2.4 mi away
Westwind Inn on the Lake
10.7 mi away
The Irwin Inn
The Irwin Inn
#2 of 5 in Lakefield
3.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay