We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

whala!bocachica

Save
Share
Calle Abraham Nunez, 4 Boca Chica Beach, Boca Chica 15700 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Official website
Travelocity
Snaptravel
$103
$93
View Deal
SAVE $10
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Trip.com$103
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (739)
360
Panoramas (39)
Pool & Beach (310)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from whala!bocachica
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 25 hotels in Boca Chica
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Modern 3 stars all-inclusive beach resort, providing excellent accommodations dispersed through spacious bright pastel colored buildings, that are nostalgic of a native old style fishermen's village nestled within lush tropical vegetation, surrounded by coconut and almonds trees that line the beach. Beachfront fresh water pool. Located right on the front line of Boca Chica Beach, Dominican Republic 15 minutes from Las Americas International Airport and 30 kilometers from Santo Domino city.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Entertainment staff
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Kids club
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Full view
71Somewhat walkable
Grade: 71 out of 100
16Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.3 miles
426Reviews129Q+A28Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 178
  • 102
  • 77
  • 33
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Eat1out wrote a review Mar 2020
Greater London, United Kingdom44 contributions36 helpful votes
Just spent two weeks at this hotel, we arrived late in the evening tired after the travelling. our first in impressions were not good, as the reception and our room was not quite what we are used to on vacation, by this I menthe reception is not very flamboyant as we are used to, and our need some TLC, but the beds were the best I have ever slept in on vacation. Overall our impressions changed within a few days the food was very good and the staff were very friendly, both swimming pools kept very clean. Set right on the beach was ideal. Would I recommend this hotel, yes I would, but don't expect 4 to 5 star when you are paying for a 3 to 3.5.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alfiya Khalmatova, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bocachica
Responded Mar 7, 2020
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback! We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay at whala!boca chica. Looking forward to host you again!
Read more
Djair V wrote a review Feb 2020
Elmwood Park, New Jersey1 contribution
This is my second time in there, this time was more special because I went with family. The drinks 🍸 was good not great though but very friendly staffs. Beautiful beach and I felt very comfortable in there
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Alfiya Khalmatova, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bocachica
Responded Mar 1, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay at whala!boca chica. Looking forward to host you again!
Read more
Netty904 wrote a review Feb 2020
NYC34 contributions23 helpful votes
I had a horrendous and dangerous experience at this resort. First, the room we were initially checked into was not as described. It was a first floor room with no balcony and shuttered windows. The room was dark and if you opened the window to let in light, everyone from the pool could see inside your room and the mosquitos could get in. The front desk told me they would change my room at 2pm the next day. The next room was not ready until 5 pm the next day which had us wasting a chunk of the day attempting to change rooms. When we finally got in the room it was nice like the pictures but swarmed with mosquitos. There were at least 50-100 of them on the ceiling, both beds, dressers, refrigerator, and flying all about in the bathroom. When I complained they sent me back with an employee and a can of roach and ant spray. The employee was immediately overwhelmed after spraying and suggested to the front desk that I change rooms. The third room was on the second floor and was somewhere in between the first and second rooms as far as quality. There were at least 10 mosquitos in that room that I tried to kill. They kept coming back and we realized that the window in the bathroom was not sealed along the sides. The only option we had was to spray down the beds and our bodies with mosquito repellant before bed. Speaking of the beds, they had no fitted sheets so the mattress was often exposed. That made me very uncomfortable. On the last day before check out we decided to hang out on the balcony. Mid conversation we look down and our 2 year old was dangling off the balcony. The lower half of his body was hanging in between the bars. Their balconies should not have so much spacing that children can slip through. My son could have been seriously injured. In addition to those complaints, the food was very limited and what was available was often being accessed by flies so my family was forced to eat most of our meals off the resort. This completely defeats the purpose of an all inclusive resort. The first room was facing the entertainment area which meant loud music through 11 pm. Not great for anyone but especially not a family with a 2 and 8 year old. The resort is also advertised as having a kids club. Their so called kids club was closed our entire stay leaving us with a plastic castle. Also, the toilet leaked, the sink drained slowly, the showers were cold, and there were no toilet paper holders or towel racks in any of the three rooms I had during my 5 day stay. The front desk staff was very nice and polite. They spoke decent English and were tolerant of my remedial Spanish. They even taught me new words. The service at the restaurant was lackluster to say the least, it was a struggle just to get water. We would go for breakfast because there was someone who made eggs to order so we didn't have to eat the food that was sitting out being loved on by flies. The beach is ok. My favorite part was that it was public so there were many vendors there selling food. Unfortunately, that meant that other vendors would also come by ALOT but they generally went away after one no thank you. My children had a good time playing in the sand so we stayed there for most of the trip because the pools are not kid friendly. Also tons of nude Europeans. My husband said he'd seen enough 60 year old breasts to last him until I turned 60 lol. Not a problem to us but if nudity is not your deal then I'd avoid this beach. Oh, and there were no wash cloths on the entire resort...we washed our faces and bodies with hand towels. Which we had to request because they were not provided in our rooms initially.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Alfiya Khalmatova, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bocachica
Responded Feb 20, 2020
Dear guest, Please receive the warmest greetings from whala!boca chica. Thank you for having chosen us for this past vacation. We would like to apologize for not being able to fulfill your expectations; this was never our intention, as our only goal is to please our guests and make them happy. We are avid followers of all that our guests have to share about their experience here in whala!boca chica. The feedback that we receive is the basis to continue on the line that has taken us very far amongst our competitors and to improve all the things that we must in order to continue to grow even further. Food is subject to each individual’s perception. We cater to thousands of travelers each year and most of our guests leave completely satisfied. It is unfortunate our cuisine was not to your liking; we have national and international chef that always around listening to any suggestion or any request from our guest, as completely understand that each person have their own taste while most of our guest absolutely love our large variety of food options some others have specific preferences. However, we respect your opinion; please know that we have addressed it to our food and beverage manager and head chef. We regret that your disappointment with so many areas of our lovely resort, has been conveyed through this forum and not once on site to any of the Management members, we are very resourceful and would have gladly gone above and beyond to reformulate your experience in order to have you join the hundreds of extremely pleased and satisfied guests of whala!boca chica. We apologize once more for not meeting your expectations and we would like to express that we do value your comments very much and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and change your opinion about us.
Read more
Yvonne D wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
We chose Boca Chica because is close to the city. It was our first time staying at Whala but when got there were surprised. The hotel is clean, the side of the beach is nice eventough you have all the people selling stuf because beach is public, but there is no space or noise from the locals that usually ruin the beach. The food was ok, the thing that didn't enjoy was the drinks but again knew they only had generic drinks. Would visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Alfiya_Khalmatova, Servicio al cliente at whala!bocachica
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Dear guest, еhank you for your feedback! We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay at whala!boca chica. Looking forward to host you again!
Read more
Melody F wrote a review Feb 2020
Vancouver, Canada2 contributions
Resort is generally very clean albeit a bit outdated. Our upgraded oceanview room had no furniture on the balcony, the TV and the phone did not work, the closet doors did not close and it was very loud ( due to raucous restaurant/bar next door that insisted on blaring music late into the night ). The food was poor with the exception of the omelette bar for breakfast. Staff spoke very little English but with tips they did their best to accomodate. Front desk staff were not particularly friendly. Cleaning staff were very good but our room door was left ajar once after it had been cleaned. There is an oil tank and industrial port facility offshore from the hotel that is not shown in any photos of the resort. This resort caters to Russians- they represented almost 90% of the guests in Feb 2020. They smoked around the pool despite signage everywhere prohibiting smoking, monopolized beach loungers, play their music loudly poolside and queue jump at the buffet and bars. Wish we had been aware of these things before booking.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid the west side of the westernmost oceanfront building- there is a parking strip and bar next...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Alfiya_Khalmatova, Servicio al cliente at whala!bocachica
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Dear guest, we apologize for not meeting your expectations and we would like to express that we do value your comments very much and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and change your opinion about us.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$67 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
don juan beach hotel boca chica, don juan beach resort, hotel don juan beach, don juan resort dominican republic, don juan hotel santo domingo
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Don Juan Beach Resort
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicSanto Domingo ProvinceBoca ChicaGazcue
NUMBER OF ROOMS
225
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about whala!bocachica
Which popular attractions are close to whala!bocachica?
Nearby attractions include Amigos Night Life Boca Chica (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at whala!bocachica?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at whala!bocachica?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at whala!bocachica?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to whala!bocachica?
Conveniently located restaurants include Momo Risto, Pequena Suiza, and La Terrazza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at whala!bocachica?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does whala!bocachica have an airport shuttle?
Yes, whala!bocachica offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does whala!bocachica offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does whala!bocachica have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.