We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

whala!bocachica

Traveler (391)
360
Panoramas (39)
Room & Suite (235)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Modern 3 stars all-inclusive beach resort, providing excellent accommodations dispersed through spacious bright pastel colored buildings, that are nostalgic of a native old style fishermen's village nestled within lush tropical vegetation, surrounded by coconut and almonds trees that line the beach. Beachfront fresh water pool. Located right on the front line of Boca Chica Beach, Dominican Republic 15 minutes from Las Americas International Airport and 30 kilometers from Santo Domino city.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Free Internet
Airport transportation
Banquet Room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family Resort
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
Contact
Calle Abraham Nunez, 4 Boca Chica Beach, Boca Chica 15700 Dominican Republic
Getting there
Las Americas Airport4 mi
La Isabela International Airport26 mi
See all nearby hotels
236Reviews
96Q+A
19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 85
  • 58
  • 48
  • 24
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Good price for an all inclusive hotel, nice beach view from the room balcony. Food was poor most of the time was cold even that they had steam tables, I sugguested the dinning room manager to change the direction of the wall fans cause that didn't help with the food being cold.
Read more
+1
I don’t write bad reviews unless it’s well deserved. I understand that this is a budget option however having traveled extensively, this is NOT a vacation that Transat should be proudly offering. The hotel was probably lovely at one time and now it’s completely run down and as
Read more
+1
We stayed 5 days in that resort all included, friendly service, starting with the bellman Virgilio, helped me several time with restaurants, car wash recommendations, about the resort has 2 open bar around Two swimming pools, three restaurants, one buffet, the food is fresh,
Read more
Response from Khalmatova, Servicio al cliente at whala!bocachica
Responded 1 week ago
Dear customer, Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay at Whala Boca Chica. Looking forward to host you again!
Read more
We are 5 days in to our 14 day vacation at Whala Boca Chica..our room is nice with a pool and partial oven view.. the rest of the resort, beach, food and entertainment are mediocre at best. The customer service in the buffet restaurant is definitely lacking and needs major
Read more
Response from Khalmatova, Servicio al cliente at whala!bocachica
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest, we regret that your disappointment with so many areas of our lovely resort, has been conveyed through this forum and not once on site to any of the Management members, we are very resourceful and would have gladly gone above and beyond to reformulate your experience in order to have you join the hundreds of extremely pleased and satisfied guests of Whala Boca Chica. We apologize for not meeting your expectations and we would like to express that we do value your comments very much and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and change your opinion about us.
Read more
We enjoyed our 6 days stay. Arrived early on Saturday at 5am and check in process was quick. Front desk speak English well. We got our clean and spacious room with the ocean view. It’s not really bad hotel for the cheap price you pay. We’ve been to worst one! I could see this is
Read more
Response from Khalmatova, Servicio al cliente at whala!bocachica
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback! We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay at Whala Boca Chica. Looking forward to host you again!
Read more
Previous
Dear guest, thank you for your inquiry about Whala Boca Chica.Kindly note the check-out is 12:00pm for all guests and room categories. However, for guests whose flight departure is scheduled later in the day all amenities of the hotel (except for guest rooms) remain accessible free of charge.
1 vote
Show all answers
Is it a fully all inclusive resort ?
Yes
1 vote
Is it a fully all inclusive resort ?
Yes it is , and the food plus service is great very friendly staff !!!
0 votes
Dear customer, thank you for your interest in Whala Boca Chica.All water used in cooking or for washing fruits/vegetables undergoes daily testing and is certified by independently appointed inspection teams. Apart from being cleaned with water all fruits and vegetables are additionally handled for cleanliness and safety before serving.
1 vote
Show all answers
We drank the water that was bottled, they have a water cooler in the lobby, you are asked to refill your bottles and take them to your room. We purchased water at the shop of site. We got that medication before we left for travellers diarrhea, just to be on the safe side. We did eat the fruits and vegies at the hotel. I do not believe they recommend that you drink the water there. Just as well Id say. If you have a question about food prep, why not email them and ask away.
1 vote
PreviousNext
12345620
"Get another hotel"
"Pay extra for the ocean view. It's worth it."
"try and get a room in the third building you only get a partial ocean view but you are in the shade"
"make sure you ask to get an ocean view room on the third or fourth floor.. no elevators in the place"
"Ask at the front desk if you have a certain preference."
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
$68 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
don juan beach hotel boca chicadon juan beach resorthotel don juan beachdon juan resort dominican republicdon juan hotel santo domingo
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Don Juan Beach Resort
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicSanto Domingo ProvinceBoca Chica
NUMBER OF ROOMS
225
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing