We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

De Vere Horwood Estate

Traveler (612)
360
Panoramas (25)
Room & Suite (333)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
De Vere Horwood Estate combines the best of a period Manor House, set in 38 acres, with the modern facilities of Tempus Bar and Restaurant, extensive meeting and function rooms and 185 bedrooms. Our swimming pool and gym are available for all resident guests to enjoy
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Spa
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel deals
1,746Reviews
8Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 347
  • 420
  • 454
  • 283
  • 242
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Had 2 groupon vouchers for a 1 night stay as a group of us visited Bletchley that day which is also a great place to visit. The hotel was just some place to rest our heads but when we turned we was all pleasantly surprised. Used the spa which was a strange set up but clean & adequate. Meal came with voucher & was impressed with selection & service retired to Bar area which is nice & spacious. Room was on the small side but had all mod cons. The breakfast was usual affair but no worse or better than usual large chains. However the morning was a fantastic day which made the hotel grounds look amazing & it was shame we didn't stay another night so we could investigate the surrounding area in more detail. THe only negative is the maze like corridors & I am sure the guy who designs mazes must have been had some hand in the design. A very enjoyable night & will return again when I go to Bletchley. Some of the poor reviews did not resemble my experience for sure .
Read more
Have absolutely no clue as to why this hotel has such bad reviews. Booked through groupon as looked lovely, but was very concerned when reading reviews. Went ahead and thought we'd make the best of it but I can't complain about anything. Bottle of prosecco on ice waiting in the room when we arrived, all clean and tidy. Yes it probably could do with a slight update as certain areas fell slightly tired but nothing like how people have described. Rooms maybe on the smaller side but adequate for 2 people, plenty of storage room etc. Good shower and bath. And yes it is a bit of a maze to find room but with clear direction from the lovely reception staff and signs on walls certainly wasn't hard to find and definitely not a 20 minute walk like people have said!!! Food in the restaurant was beautiful for our evening meal as was breakfast. Swimming pool and sauna were clean and lovely to unwind in after a day of driving. The grounds are stunning, especially on a warm evening, sitting in the beautiful secret garden with a glass of wine underneath the gorgeous lights overlooking the house. And I think the bed was possibly the most comfortable I've experienced in a hotel! All round lovely hotel, deserve alot more credit than people have given it.
Read more
Response from Joanne W, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate
Responded 2 days ago
Dear kankan415, Thank you for your review of De Vere Horwood Estate I am pleased that you was able to stay with us on one of our many promotions, Groupon proving great value for money. I take on board your comment regarding updating the venue, it is a large venue and we have a team who work hard daily to ensure its well maintained and clean, with many of our rooms already receiving an update. The rest of the venue will continue throughout the year. We love our grounds and the views it provides and I am delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay I look forward to welcoming you back in the future Warm Regards Joanne White General Manager
Read more
My wife and I booked a room as a stop over on the way to the south coast. Having read the negative reviews we had relatively low expectations. The hotel was excellent however. The room a little on the small side but lovely Hotel, stunning location and grounds, great staff and great breakfast. For £67 for B&B - excellent value. I can only think that some people make a 'hobby' out of complaining !
Read more
Response from Joanne W, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate
Responded 2 days ago
Dear BradfordLadBradford, Thank you for your review of De Vere Horwood Estate Thank you so much for choosing us on your stop over! I appreciate your comment regarding the size of your room, whilst some can feel compact, we always aim to ensure they are well maintained and spotlessly clean. We are so very proud of our surroundings and its beauty and I am pleased you were able to enjoy them during your stay. I hope we can welcome you back again on your next trip! Warm Regards Joanne White General Manager
Read more
+1
The hotel is in a lovely rural countryside setting. The long driveway and impressive building builds the anticipation. However once your walked down the long corridors into the newer extension for the bedrooms this stops. The rooms are small, dated (but clearly being modernised and painted as my room smelt strongly on fresh paint). Large TV with free view working and good picture - which was a plus point , strange but seems to be hard to get right at some hotels. Think 80s hotel forte motel with a modern twist. Certainly not representative of the impressive frontage and grounds. The service in the bar was mixed with excellent friendly helpful service from the young lady on the bar but when asking a waiter if we could order food at the table were told we had to go to the bar as had to be done at the till ? A pen an paper might have done the job and the lad was unhelpful bordering on rude with a a group of 6 hungry diners. Breakfast again mixed with helpful staff and also others clearly avoiding any eye contact. The bar meals were as per normal in hotels, overpriced for what you get but quality was nice enough. Strange choice of coriander for the micro herbs on a chicken and leek pie for effect. All in all the setting and grounds are lovely but the mixed service and basic room set up put me off a quick return. Hope this helps potential visitors.
Read more
Response from Joanne W, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate
Responded 2 days ago
Dear robaA7383NE, Thank you for your review of De Vere Horwood Estate We are so proud of our stunning setting and beautiful grounds and we have tried to blend the mix of the traditional house with the more modern addition hosting our rooms, but I am disappointed you felt this not the case during your stay. I appreciate your honest feedback regarding the service you received, we normally receive such great feedback, but yours will enable us to refocus and train to ensure a better rounded service going further. I hope we are able to welcome you back in the future Best Regards Joanne White General Manager
Read more
Dont be taken in by the lovely website for this hotel. Yes there is a beautiful country manor house which reception area and some rooms and it has a lovely setting, , but the motel annexes had seen better days and were shabby and run down. The rooms are in a maze of corridors and difficult to navigate aswell. The worst thing about this was the service. We arrived at the bar at 7.30, and booked a table for dinner. I went to the bar as no waiter turned up, and was told someone would be over. We made our orders by 8pm and were still waiting for dinner at 9.15pm despite other tables having been served and nearly finished. We asked a couple of times and the waiter eventually admitted that our order had been forgotton. The meal finally arrived and it was too late to be eating main courses at this time so I made a complaint and the manager refunded the cost and offered to bring a sandwich up to the room. On top of all this we were expecting an international call about stolen credit cards from a bank and the call was not put through to the room as it was booked in my name and not my husbands name, with the same surname. All in all, this does not live up to expectations and was an extremely disappointing place to have a non event for my birthday evening, For the price of this hotel, it was advertised well beyond its value and I would never return again.
Read more
Response from Joanne W, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Snowflakeseeker, Thank you for taking the time to review De Vere Horwood Estate I am disappointed to read that we failed you on several aspects of your stay. We usually receive such great feedback for our service and attentiveness and it saddens me that this wasn't the case during your stay. I am pleased that the team offered a refund as a way to improve your evening but that we let you down again with the call you was expecting. I would ask that you contact me direct on joanne.white@devere.com so I can look into your weekend further as well as the process with the call directing. I look forward to hearing from you Kind Regards Joanne White General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$85 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
horwood house and leisure club hotel little horwoodhorwood hotel and leisure
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Horwood House
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandAylesbury ValeLittle Horwood
NUMBER OF ROOMS
185
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing