We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Lodge in the Vale

Certificate of Excellence
| St John’s in the Vale, Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TQ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Lodge in the Vale
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 224: English reviews
County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

An 'okay' stay here. The room was generally clean enough, though the plug in the bathroom sink was disgusting. Décor could certainly be nicer. The bathroom made me feel like I was in hospital in terms of size and particularly given the choice of flooring. I had requested a room with a view and that some acknowledgement of my partner's... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoJo7620
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Hello JoJo, I'm sorry to hear your stay with us was not as nice as we would like it to be. We certainly don't feel that our rooms or bathrooms resemble hospital accommodation in any way, but I appreciate we can't please all and I am sorry you didn't enjoy your room. A couple of our rooms do have skylight... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our group of 9 stayed at this hotel for a night. Pleasant, very clean, smallish rooms. Breakfast was standard. My room had only a skylight, not a window, tho it was reachable for this tall lad, and easily opened, with a shade that made the room pitch black. The shower was tiny, like one on a cruise ship. Over 6'2",... More 

Helpful?
Thank PatrickRoney
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Hello Patrick, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We have both standard and small doubles available and it sounds as though perhaps you have booked a small double for your stay? I'm glad you've found our place to be very clean and pleasant though, I really hope you have enjoyed the rest of your stay in the area! More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Simply put, the best place I have ever stayed in the Lake District. I travel to the lakes often on business. Unfortunately most of the accommodation I have used has been below average at best. The lodge in the vale is absolutely fantastic. Modern, comfortable, relaxing. It will be my number one choice from here on for business and leisure

Helpful?
Thank IvHdz
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you very much IvHdz! Fantastic to read your great comments, we're really glad you've enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we'll see you again soon! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel for a short break away, it was a little difficult to get to due to the floods around that time but we got there in the end. It's a lovely looking building but the car park is a bit of a mess, it's pretty much just a gravel drive way and it's pot luck if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kaymichelle
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us Kaymichelle! I'm really glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your kind comments on our rooms, breakfast and our team. The car park suffered some damage during the floods unfortunately, but we have just had builders round yesterday and we are hoping to have the car... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night on a Saturday in June having landed at Ambleside and been out for 8 hours over Loughrigg Fell to Grasmere then back with our dog. We made our way to The Lodge to a friendly and warm greeting by the staff and into our room to chill. We used the rooms facilities to make coffee... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bovski
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review Bovski! We're so happy to read your great comments. It looks like you have made the most of your stay in the Lakes - some great advice there too! We certainly hope to see you again in not too distant future :) More 

IOW
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked in here prior to completing the 10 peaks challenge, the first impressions were good and all the staff tried their best and came across really positively, however the construction of the build let it down. We had three rooms, one room had to have the power cut in the middle of the night as the extractor fan wouldn't... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank adings
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Dear Adings, It's a shame you forgot to mention how you've helped yourself to alcohol from our bar after the cafe was closed, how you have refused to leave the bar area when asked by staff and how you were downright rude. I suggest you research places you book in the future Adings. We are not a hotel, a bar... More 

Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The most helpful staff ever especially the gentleman serving the breakfast. I was in room 8 which was spotless and had everything i needed including a safe and hairdryer. A wooden floor in the room so no stained carpets as so often found in hotels. Breakfast was continental and was presented beautifully and so much choice. Lots of room for... More 

Helpful?
Thank anne m
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review Anne! We're really glad to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for all your kind comments. I hope we'll see you again soon! More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a great liitle place. Stayed here for just one night on a 2 day fell walking ''soiree'' Really nice welcome from the lady ( I think she is probably the Manager) and a very helpful male receptionist when I checked in later having parked my vehicle and hit the fells Great location for fellwalkers I ''ran up'' The 3... More 

Helpful?
Thank russtheblade
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this fantastic review! We're very glad to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments :) If you're thinking about staying in the future, we do monthly offers for our returning guests, so if you drop us an email on stay@lakedistrictinns.co.uk, we'll add you to our mailing list. See... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

Called in for a brew in February 2016, we'd cycled along the temp cycle route / bus route as the main road road was being fixed after the winter floods. Had a ride around Thirlmere and met Joss Naylor, also on his bike. Looks a bit like the old YHA, where we stayed in the 90s and 00s before it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hill-Special
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Hi Hill-Special, We're not a YHA any more, just thought I'll point that out... :) Thanks for the review though, looks like you've had a great time in the area! We're a B&B, so next time, why not stay for the night. More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

We wanted a quiet relaxed 4 days in the Lake District and we couldn't have found a better spot. We were made very welcome by the staff and nothing was too much trouble for them. Good plentiful continental breakfast was included in the room price. There is even a small bar for that nightcap after a long tiring day.The lodge... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2johnandval
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review 2johnandval! We're so pleased to read your kind comments and so happy you've enjoyed your stay in the area! We hope to see you again soon :) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirlmere
6.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
5.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Lodge in the Vale

Address: | St John’s in the Vale, Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Thirlmere
Price Range: $90 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge in the Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge in the Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge In The Vale Hotel Thirlmere
The Lodge In The Vale Thirlmere, Keswick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay