We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Lodge in the Vale

| St John’s in the Vale, Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TQ, England
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Castlerigg
    3.3 mi
  • 4 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 2 days ago
Warm and welcoming
Wonderful stay as a couple with our young puppy. Breakfast was... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 254: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Wonderful stay as a couple with our young puppy. Breakfast was delicious and very filling! The staff were great with our puppy. There was a power cut and although this didn't cause us any immediate problems the manager agreed to discount us anyway. Would definitely stay again and would recommend especially to people with dogs as the nearby walks are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmel T
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I had always wanted to stay here. It looked like it was going to be an upmarket place, but actually it's just a very simple no frills Lake's equivalent of a city hostel or travelodge. The accommodation is perfectly clean and functional, although there is no toilet paper holder. I booked via late rooms where it said breakfast included, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked using groupon, £59 for a standard double room for 2 people with breakfast. Very clean and modern room. Everything you need including tv hair dryer tea making facilities. surrounded with lovely views

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sksodpdosj
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you! We're very happy to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us, our Groupon offer is a great value for money in the low season. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in the area and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for my birthday in December. It is convenient to Keswick especially and easy to find.(although the car park is pitch black if arriving at night/in the dark) We chose this as it was dog friendly and we travel with our dogs. Entrance was lovely and modern, cafe open for drinks/cake until 9pm The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vicky S
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Hello Vicky, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! The Lodge is certainly perfect for travellers with dogs, especially if you're looking to explore the North Lakes and still enjoy a convenient links to the rest of the National Park. Unfortunately we do not have kitchen facilities at the Lodge so we aren't able to provide cooked breakfast, having...

Ilkley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is very modern,clean and staff very friendly,welcoming.But the stardard double rooms are very small especially when you take a dog.We kept bumping into the chair in the room due to the space issue.The safe did not work as the battery had failed,so had to use the reception one,but as reception is not manned 24hrs made it difficult for excess...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susanlockyer
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Hi Susan, I'm glad you found us to be welcoming and very friendly. It's a shame your stay didn't go as smoothly as expected. You appeared to be full of praise and very happy during your visit, so it was a bit of a shock to see your review. I do however appreciate you were a little unhappy with the...

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights over New Year, from start to finish it was a perfect break! The reception staff were welcoming and so helpful and lovely, the lodge is in a stunning location and easy to find, rooms spotlessly clean and warm and cosy. Breakfast lovely choice of continental and gorgeously presented. The cafe is a great addition for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Archer1129
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this awesome review! We're very happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, we hope the rest of your holiday in the Lakes was just as good and we look forward to seeing you again :)

Reviewed December 19, 2016

This hotel is surprisingly modern. All facilities and deco look new and modern. Bed is clean and comfortable. As it's near the main road, I would highly recommend this hotel if you can drive and want a quiet and comfortable hotel to sleep. Breakfast is continental breakfast by default. I quite liked it. It seems that Full English breakfast can...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Richdstuff
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review Richdstuff, We're very happy to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us! Full English breakfast can certainly be arranged at our sister property (King'd Head) but we'd like to think that our fabulous continental breakfast is all you need before a long day on the fells :) We hope you've enjoyed the rest of...

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 17, 2016

Seeing this on Groupon it was obviously a deal not to be missed. Tucked away in a remote spot in the Lake District, it was perfect for enjoying the beautiful scenery. Upon our arrival we were greeted my Thomas, who was very friendly and informative throughout the duration of our stay, as were all the staff. A continental breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bethan M
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you very much Bethan :) What a fab review! Really glad to hear you've enjoyed your stay - it sounds like you've made most of your time in the Lakes! We are running offers for our returning guests all the year round, keep an eye on your email, I'm sure you'll find something that takes your fancy. All the...

Reviewed December 15, 2016 via mobile

We had seen this on Groupon an offer not to be missed, a bit sceptical of what we would experience when we got there. On arrival we were meet at reception by Thomas who was very efficient and friendly, we booked in went to our room and what a surprise a spacious room very bright and clean with a tv...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John B
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you for this fab review John, Thomas will be absolutely delighted to see your comments! We're happy to hear you have enjoyed your short break with us, thank you for your kind comments on our accommodation, cleanliness and staff - and of course our tasty continental breakfast :) We hope you've enjoyed the rest of your time in the...

Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed November 7, 2016

Yearly we travel for 2 weeks of hiking in the Lake District. This year we hiked the Wainwright Memorial Walk and one of the night's stay was scheduled for St. John's in the Vale. We chose The Lodge and had a great experience. All communications were very pleasant and promptly replied to. We were warmly greeted. All liked our rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BuccaneerDave
Alicja Z, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful review BuccaneerDave, It's great to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us so much! It sounds like you've made the most of your visit to the Lakes too. Thank you for all your kind comments on our breakfast, rooms and our team. Unfortunately there is no other path to the King's Head apart from...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirlmere
1.1 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
165 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
560 reviews
4.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#3 of 12 in Keswick
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
14.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about The Lodge in the Vale

Address: | St John’s in the Vale, Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Thirlmere
Price Range: $61 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge in the Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Lodge in the Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge In The Vale Hotel Thirlmere
The Lodge In The Vale Thirlmere, Keswick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Lodge in the Vale staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
Greater London, United Kingdom
Padiham, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Lodge in the Vale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ground floor rooms have great views!”
 of 5 bubbles 797SusanB, Oct 7, 2016 | Read review
“Think Bijou and calm and you'll love it!”
  • Wake up to this
 of 5 bubbles karlmusic2016, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“The front of the hotel is on a road. When cars pass it is quite loud.”
 of 5 bubbles AddisonThomas1980, Aug 20, 2016 | Read review
“Best views a ground floor room as upstairs is dormer so window high up”
 of 5 bubbles carolj239, Aug 20, 2016 | Read review
“No walking leaflets in hotel. I would NOT recommend this B&B! Some members of staff could do with a crash course on public relations!”
 of 5 bubbles sefscott, Aug 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question