We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mear Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spalding
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Mear Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 72: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Disabled facilities In room pleased with. Janet & Pete were very welcoming & chatty, could not do enough for us. Food excellent,parking area good, families would like it. Enjoyed our stay & would recommend Cherry Cliffe

Helpful?
Thank bigmamacliffe
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2016

Went to Spalding for a family anniversary for three of us and booked one double and a single Very comfortable, clean, quite large modern rooms and a fantastic breakfast in the morning between 09.00 and 10.00 on a Sunday which was brilliant !!! Great value, easy parking, and easy to find, nice couple who run it - would stay again... More 

Helpful?
Thank pigedav
mmearlodge, Manager at Mear Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It was lovely to meet you all, and if / when you come back we will be pleased to see you, including George the goose!! More 

Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2016

We stayed for one night to visit friends and a museum - Pete and Janet are very friendly and hospitable, and as we were the only guests on this occasion, they joined us for a chat over a hearty breakfast which included home-made black-current jam! If we visit Spalding again, we'll certainly aim to stay at Mear Lodge. It would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yorkieguy62
Holcombe Rogus, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2016

Had my classic car booked in to the nearby "Rustbusters" for their full rust treatment and, having travelled 240 miles from Devon, decided it would make sense to stay 2 nights at Mear Lodge. First impressions are always important and a friendly, homely welcome from Janet and Pete was a wonderful introduction to a really relaxing and pleasant stay. As... More 

Helpful?
Thank adieXK8
mmearlodge, Owner at Mear Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We enjoyed your company too and are happy to hear you plan to come and visit again next year. More 

Canvey Island, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

Myself and family booked three rooms for a one night stay to accommodate us for family Birthday celebrations. One had hairs in the bed, an awful egg- like smell when the tap was turned on and pebbles stuck in the carpet (so clearly hadn't even had a hoover flung around). Ours had bugs all over the en-suite walls, no working... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Roberts_Smith09
mmearlodge, Owner at Mear Lodge, responded to this review

We are so sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay at Mear Lodge, and we wish you had said something whilst you were here because as you can see from other reviews, we bend over backwards to accommodate our guests. To replace the carpet is on our “to do “ list. In fact we will be replacing the carpets in all... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

pete and Janet are very welcoming and help throughout our weekend with them. Our 4 year old enjoyed George the goose. Accommodation and breakfast were excellent. Woukd definitely recommend and revisit.

Helpful?
Thank sean h
mmearlodge, Owner at Mear Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. It was lovely to have you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you if/when you come to stay again. More 

1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

Pete and Janet are very friendly and welcoming and easy going. Mear lodge is one of the nicest and laid back places that we have ever been too. The breakfast is to die for ( I had to have one every morning) the room was very clean and tidy, the bathroom is spacious the shower is very powerful. The bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daz K
mmearlodge, Owner at Mear Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It was lovely to have you staying with us, we look forward to you next visit. We have already recommended the zoo you visited to other guests. More 

halifax
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at Mear lodge from the 15th-17th July. I was staying on my own whilst my family were nearby at my uncles, as we traveled down from Yorkshire for a family funeral. I was shown great hospitality and warmth and felt totally at ease staying on my own.The room was spacious with all I needed in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank lise1999
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

Thank you for hosting a special birthday lunch. You put on a lovely buffet and a delicious selection of desserts. We had a great time with friends and family. Pete and Jan, you really made us feel welcome.

Helpful?
Thank Rachael W
mmearlodge, Owner at Mear Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your message. We enjoyed having you all to visit, for his special day. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

Had a delightful stay at Mear lodge on our way to Norfolk. A very quiet location close to Spalding. The individual rooms were in a court yard by the farmhouse. Janet and Pete are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean and comfortable and a lovely full English breakfast cooked to order. We would recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
mmearlodge, Owner at Mear Lodge, responded to this review

Lovely to have met you. I'm glad the weather has turned for the better for your holiday in Norfolk. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spalding hotels
1.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spalding
244 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Spalding
74 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Spalding Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
St. Nicholas Country House Guesthouse
2.4 mi away
Woodhouse Farm Lodge
Woodhouse Farm Lodge
#1 of 17 in Spalding
56 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cley Hall Hotel
Cley Hall Hotel
#3 of 17 in Spalding
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Mear Lodge

Address: Claylake Farm House Burr Lane, Spalding PE12 6AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Spalding
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Mear Hotel Spalding
Mear Lodge Spalding, Lincolnshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mear Lodge staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mear Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Away from busy town, disabled facilities good, enough parking space.”
 of 5 bubbles bigmamacliffe, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“All rooms are on ground floor and v quiet except for a resident goose !!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles pigedav, Sep 22, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are separate to the main house where you have breakfast, so are all very accessible.”
 of 5 bubbles 409luanc, Oct 26, 2015 | Read review
“another excellent aspect of Mear Lodge is that the rooms are separate from each and from the accommodation of the owners. Each room is set round a long courtyard and has its own front door almost as if you were staying in a self catering unit. This gives everyone privacy and space.”
 of 5 bubbles Gwen1_11, Apr 12, 2015 | Read review
“I was in room 7 for 99% of my stay and found it absolutely fine.”
 of 5 bubbles colincrutchley, Feb 24, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question