We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Punsisi Rest House

Booking.com$53*
View Deal
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Punsisi Rest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Punsisi Rest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 187: English reviews
Oberhausen, Germany
Reviewed May 4, 2016 via mobile

Been in this "rest house" for one night. Rooms small with mould at the wall. As we accidentaly damaged the toilet-seat the unfriendly manager asked for 3000 rupies (about 20€), which is absolutely disproportionaly. Better go anywhere else, but not here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenOfOB
Peshala M, Manager at Punsisi Rest House, responded to this review

Dear Vaild Customer, You have get onto the toilet seat (actually no one is climbing on top of a toilet seat), and the toilet seat was on pieces,and we will have to charge was such a thing,and it was completely your fault.

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewed May 2, 2016

If you're anywhere near the top of this place, make sure everything is in the room before the person helping with the room goes back down. There were a few items missing/needed, but without a phone in the room, we had to slog down and up. The room is very basic (including no wifi), which wouldn't be so bad, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoeySmithRocks
Peshala M, Manager at Punsisi Rest House, responded to this review

Dear Vaild Customer, You have not complained that you have lost your things,for so far there was non thing got lost,this is not true,if your thing was missing you could complain to the mangement, Thanks & Regards

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

This is one of the very few negative reviews I have written on Tripadviser. The room we had was disgusting, the toilet did not flush, the vanity tap was ready to fall off, the floor in the room was dirty, the sheets were stained, the towels were paper thin and had holes in them. The door to the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SP_JP
Holsbeek, Belgium
Reviewed April 24, 2016

There's only one road leading to Adam's peak and all the traffic has to pass through it. So try to find a hotel as far from the stree as possible. This hotel has rooms/bungalows like this far away from the street. The bad news is; it takes you 251 stairs (and I counted them) to get to your room. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dirk_VDA
West Yorkshire
Reviewed April 17, 2016

gone from hero to zero. just come from a 4 star to a 2 star at a push!! couldnt believe the amount of steps however saying that some poor bloke carried our cases on his back, a life saver cos we certainly couldnt have done it. room poor didnt look as though had been cleaned bathroom nightmare. Attempted to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deblufc
Peshala M, Manager at Punsisi Rest House, responded to this review

Dear Vaild Customer, The porter is working here is working only for four hours,and he likes his job,he is not only the person carrying the luggages there are few other.The Police duty does not belong to us and that's is their duty. Thanks & Regards

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed April 10, 2016

The hotel is one of the best located for the hike. It is the closest one to the peak. But that;s about it. The owner/manager of the hotel is so bad at customer service. He booked us 3 rooms instead of 2 and he insisted that we pay for all 3 and booked us dinner when we said we did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abed k
Peshala M, Manager at Punsisi Rest House, responded to this review

Dear Vaild Customer, This reservation was done by the driver,and he booked us three rooms on half board basic,the reservation was not done by you,we didn't Hostage the driver.

Reviewed April 4, 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night in this hotel and used it as our base camp for the Adams Peak climb. It is located in the center of the village and therefore a perfect match with our plans. The hotel is built into the hill and has many steps to climb to reach the upper bungalows (this is especially challenging when returning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank daniel b
Inverness
Reviewed March 30, 2016

I spent two nights here when I went to climb Sri Pada (Adam's Peak). Reaching my room almost involved as much effort as Adam's Peak did: up the four flights of stairs inside the building, then well over 200 steps up the steep hillside (and they're developing even further up). This was not just a physical challenge but a pain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DougInverness
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 27, 2016

Five star accommodation does not exist this close to the summit. It's very basic but a decent place to stay. Most tourists tend to head off around 2/2.30am to make the climb. I found all the staff to be friendly. We had a driver arrange our stay here. Breakfast was included which was more than adequate

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daveomunster
Paris, France
Reviewed March 27, 2016

Punsisi rest house is well located at the entrance of Delhousie, a few minutes of walk from the beginning of the Adamspeak climb. Room is quite basic, but it was not an issue as we were there to climb Adamspeak and thus wake up quite early in the night. Much better : our room had a terrace with a really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas_Kuhn
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (40)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maskeliya
0.2 mi away
Slightly Chilled
Slightly Chilled
#1 of 12 in Nallathanniya
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
White House
White House
#6 of 12 in Nallathanniya
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adams Peak Inn
Adams Peak Inn
#1 of 4 in Maskeliya
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Green House Adam's Peak
Green House Adam's Peak
#10 of 12 in Nallathanniya
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Daddy's Guest Home
Daddy's Guest Home
#5 of 12 in Nallathanniya
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green View Guest Inn
Green View Guest Inn
#3 of 12 in Nallathanniya
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Punsisi Rest House

Address: Adam's Peak, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Maskeliya
Price Range: $28 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Punsisi Rest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punsisi Rest House Hotel Maskeliya
Punsisi Rest House Sri Lanka/Maskeliya
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Punsisi Rest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Best views are from the higher up rooms, but if someone is there to carry your luggage, that's not a problem.”
Richardwhite1503, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Take a room that minimizes climbing steps..”
LORIT123, Mar 26, 2017 | Read review
“Better newer rooms at the top when they're finished!”
CWDilworth, Jan 31, 2017 | Read review
“Get a room towards hill”
chaimthomas, Jul 8, 2016 | Read review
“Get a room as high as possible for a good night rest but you'll face a lot of steps to get there”
Dirk_VDA, Apr 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$53* /night
View Deal
Priceline$58
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates