We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Save
Share
Dead Sea Road Dead Sea, Sweimah 11194 Jordan
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$205
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/13/21
Booking.com
$205
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/12/21
Trip.com
$196
View deal
Hotels.com$205
Travelocity$205
Destinia.com$278
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4261)
Pool & Beach (784)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 06/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Updated 06/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 9 hotels in Sweimah
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar gives you the opportunity to enjoy its riches where Queen of Sheba and Cleopatra once strived to unravel mystery. Situated gracefully on the shores of the largest spa in the world the Dead Sea, unique for its ozone-rich air, mineral sea water and ultra-violet filtered sunshine. Surely there is no region on earth where nature and history have more wonderfully conspired, where so exciting drama has obtained a so beautiful theatre.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Kids stay free
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Video game console
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Whirlpool bathtub
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Arabic, German and 1 more

Location

Full view
54Somewhat walkable
Grade: 54 out of 100
22Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.75 miles
4638Reviews56Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,326
  • 690
  • 313
  • 153
  • 157
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dania G wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
I am writing this review to especially thank Ivan from the Lady in Red team! He is kind, considerate and makes every guest feel valued and accommodated. What a lovely representative of how great service should look like! THANK YOU IVAN.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Facing the infinity pool!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Raed Almomani wrote a review Aug 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favorite
The food is stunning, one of the best Lebanese restaurants in Jordan. The service is excellent, the stuff is so friendly and helpful, especially Homann, where he guided us through the menu,couldn’t be happier.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sebastien Mariette, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Responded Aug 31, 2021
Dear Mr. Raed, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us on TripAdvisor. It is of great pleasure reading such positive feedback from you about our restaurant CODE; after all, it is our duty and job to make sure that our guests get the joy and comfort they are looking for. Once again we thank you for the positive comments and hope to be of your service in the future should your travel plans bring you back to the Dead Sea. Kind regards, Sebastien Mariette General Manager - Kempinski Hotel Ishtar & Area General Manager Levant
Read more
Jas_Nisha_Travels wrote a review Oct 25
41 contributions72 helpful votes
We stayed the hotel for 3 nights in October 2021 and it was a truly spectacular stay. The hotel itself is beautiful, with immaculate grounds, exceptional design and a true feel of a luxury hotel. Our room was extremely spacious, modern and exceptionally clean with excellent service from the housekeeping staff. All pools were wonderful, spacious and did not feel crowded. The section at the Dead Sea itself is extremely spacious and very well put together. This is very impressive. As far as food goes, we have no complaints whatsoever. Breakfast is wonderful with extremely high levels of service and quality of food. Lunch (where we ate at Akkad) is fantastic. Great meals with exceptional taste. Code, the evening a la carte restaurant, is by far the best Lebanese restaurant we have ever eaten at. Each dish was 10/10. We could not get enough of this restaurant. Their specialty desserts are a must. The head chef here is a true master of cooking. A special thank you for the following members of staff who made our stay extra special: Islam (who worked the pool/shisha section) is amazing, have never met someone so kind and friendly Bejas at Code for his excellent service Maher and Khalil at Code for their very special extra touches Ramzi (our driver for the day to Wadi Mujib) made the day extra special and was a true pleasure to meet When we return to the Dead Sea, we will 100% stay at this hotel again. It is the best one in the area by far
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sebastien Mariette, Owner at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest, Wow, thanks so much for taking the time to share your kind comments. We are happy to receive feedback from a valuable guest like you and to know that we succeed by providing you with a pleasant stay. That’ll put a smile on my face for the rest of the day! The staff and I are so happy we could make your stay so wonderful and that you have explored the resort and you were able to fully unwind and rest while enjoying the wonders of the Dead Sea. Our various outdoor pools, dining venues, and private beaches are certainly some of our most popular features which are often perceived as a remarkable match for our beautifully appointed rooms, suites, and villas. We were also delighted that you had tried our different facilities and outlets. I will gladly share your praising comments with the team especially those team members mentioned by name. Your feedback makes us proud and motivates us at the same time! It’s not surprising that they took such wonderful care of you and made you feel so valued. Given your desire to return to the Dead Sea, all of us are already looking forward to welcoming you and your family to another amazing experience when your travels bring you back to Jordan. Kind regards, Sebastien Mariette General Manager - Kempinski Hotel Ishtar & Area General Manager Levant
Read more
Stefflbauer wrote a review Oct 24
2 contributions
Kempinski Ishtar Aqaba - This hotel has outstanding staff, gorgeous grounds, and phenomenal food. Everyone you will encounter is friendly, and helpful. Outdoor pool and beach facilities are clean and well-maintained, with zero waiting for a lounge chair or towel or dead sea mud or salt scrub treatment. Special mention: Ivan from the lady in red staff was exceptionally helpful and welcoming; in particular, he made us feel absolutely at home. -the gym facilities were clean and had more than adequate nautilus and cardio machines, as well as free weights. Gym monitors were friendly and helpful, not overbearing, offering tips on weightlifting form as needed and giving us space and privacy otherwise. —-both drivers reserved for us by the hotel were competent, warm, and thoughtful. Our Petra driver, Nimr, was exceptional. Professional, knowledgeable, and a very pleasant companion for the long drives to/from the site. In summary, Kempinski Ishtar has five star hotel grounds, great auxiliary services, excellent food and wellness treatments. However, at least one star should be subtracted for six incidents that occurred during our six-night stay. Nothing was terrible, but the need to remind and correct staff was more or less a daily issue —which should not be the case at a luxury property. Examples: 1. Our room was not as expected, and we were disturbed by loud construction noise until after 3am on the first night (we called to complain about it). A room change to an executive suite was made quickly and without fuss the next morning—but we needed to request it. 2. The door to our executive room did not close properly. It stuck with about two inches of wood not sliding into the doorjamb. We therefore inadvertently left our room ajar a few times, and passed other doors on the floor that were also not fully closed. For us, this was not a huge worry: once we noticed this, we simply pulled the door extra hard to close it. For a person traveling solo however, this might not be so easy to overlook: it’s a safety concern. 3. Complimentary water and juices in our minibar were emptied on Day 2. While the room was made up the next day, the minibar remained empty —until we called the concierge to send someone to refill it. 4. The toilet paper and extra roll ran out one morning; we returned from a meal to find our room made up, but no toilet paper re-stocked. When we approached a hotel staffer with supplies, they handed us a plastic-covered 4-roll pack. 5. One member of our party was gluten-free, and requested gluten-free bread (marked as available in every menu). Each Arabic-food meal would have a basket of freshly baked pita bread delivered to the table —and a plate with three large, straight-from-the-refrigerator pita breads. The gluten-free bread was never toasted, never fried (e.g. for the fattouch salad, which should have fried bread on top). When asked to warm up the gluten-free bread (which the staff never offered to do) they unfailingly heated the bread for approximately five seconds and gave it back to us. Again—not grave errors, just disappointing. 6. Two days before our departure, we received a hand-delivered “Goodbye! Enjoy your last night” card, which sent us scrambling to check how many nights we had paid for. (Hotel error; they had “reminded” us to check out by 12 noon, one day too early). 7. We made a dinner reservation in the morning and watched a “Lady in Red” staffer write out our details. That evening, we were greeted by blank looks at the restaurant where we had reserved; no one knew about our reservation. Due to a full outdoor terrace, we were unable to be seated outside as we had requested. Not a big deal, but an avoidable situation.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sebastien Mariette, Owner at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Ms. Stefflbauer, Thank you for patronizing Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, and for taking the time out to share your experience on this social platform. We know that you have many options when choosing where to stay at the Dead Sea, the fact that you choose Kempinski Hotel Ishtar is an honor to us. We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant experience in so many aspects and appreciate your valuable feedback on our facilities as well as our services and food offerings. We were also thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time in the Dead Sea and experienced its unique beach and natural mud treatment. Positive comments like these, even during such unprecedented times, are a great boost to our overall functioning and morale. We thank you for appreciating all our earnest efforts. Our staff would be equally pleased to learn of your high praise. I’ll be sure to share your comments with Ivan and Nimr and the rest of the team. On the other hand, please accept our sincerest apologies for the shortfalls you have experienced in several areas you have described such as technical setbacks and inadequate shortcomings which deranged your overall satisfaction with us. I am sorry that over the eventful and lively day of your stay with us, you felt our team be not as responsive as desired. Please rest assured that we will review your comments in detail with our Management team. The experiences you made are not at all in line with our standards and demand for remarkable European flair. I do hope that you will be able to put this one-off experience deviation behind you.   We truly hope these shortfalls will not tarnish your overall impression of the Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea and deter you from staying with us, again. It would be our utmost privilege to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future, thus providing us with another chance to reflect on the real spirit of hospitality we have been known for.  Kind regards, Sebastien Mariette General Manager - Kempinski Hotel Ishtar & Area General Manager Levant
Read more
Claudiu I wrote a review Oct 24
Onesti, Romania3 contributions
+1
We had a flawless experience. The staff were all professional, generous, well mannered and very attentive from check in throughout our stay. In particular Mr. Murad went very professional and welcoming. Food was tasty and very good, rooms are very clean. View is amazing to Dead Sea. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sebastien Mariette, Owner at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Mr. Claudiu, We would like to thank you for receiving your pleasant feedback regarding your recent stay with us and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Without these comments, we would not have reached the level of excellence where we are at this moment. We're especially happy that you found our staff to be professiona and rest assured I have passed on your comments accordingly particularly Muras. Once again, many thanks for the time you spent providing us with your wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you, your family, and friends soon to this spectacular spot in the world. Kind regards, Sebastien Mariette General Manager - Kempinski Hotel Ishtar & Area General Manager Levant
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$206 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kempinski hotel amman
LOCATION
JordanDead Sea RegionSweimah
NUMBER OF ROOMS
345
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Which popular attractions are close to Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea?
Nearby attractions include Dead Sea (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Burj Al Hamam, Rovers Return, and Buffalo Wings & Rings - Dead Sea.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea have airport transportation?
Yes, Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, Russian, and Arabic.