We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

574 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 401: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I feel I must write a review on this delightful hotel in view of some of the negative comments on trip advisor. I stayed here for two nights. This centrally located hotel is in an excellent location to discover all that moterverde has to offer. The hotel is basic, with large rooms. I stayed in a twin with two double... More 

Helpful?
Thank marathonSara
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at Poco a Poco for two nights as part of a small tour of Costa Rica. The service from reception was very good, especially with helping to book local activities. Given that most people are only staying for a day or two most providers are happy to pick you up at very short notice. The food in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank OJFUK
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs / Mr OJFUK. Thank your for your review, Thank you for your compliments about our service at Front desk and thanks for letting us know we need to check on the staff at Restaurant to make sure everything is good over there. Our recipes and food are very good and we are one of the best restaurants in... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent three nights here and it felt like you were staying in someone's private home and garden. Their commitment to working with the nature surrounding the property is amazing. Coffee plants grow outside. I was sick while there and the restaurant took good care of me with the caring staff delivering soup and fruit to my room. The breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beth M
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Poco a Poco for 4 days 3 nights. The staff was great and I cannot say enough things about how amazing they were! the problem was 1) They Have no gym! Which they advertised as having. 2) The breakfast was terrible!!!!!! The ham looked and tasted like lunch meat. 3) The pool was way to cold to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kameron K
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In America this hotel would be considered to be a subpar motel due to the state of the rooms and facilities. The rooms themselves were dingy, dirty, filled with bugs, quite old (and not in a charming way), and bare. I traveled with a party of 5 and we each independently immediately felt the need to leave. Though we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carson F

Travelers are raving about these Monteverde hotels

Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is our third place we have stayed in Costa Rica and the first place where we were handed drinks immediately and were greeted by someone to take our bags. This place is cool,as in air, so even though the rooms do not use air conditioning, it's not necessary and I'm a diva!! Breathing in the cool air and feeling... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kasey O
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

We spent two nights here at the start of July and found the hotel more than adequate for our needs. The rooms are a reasonable size and very clean with a ceiling fan, no aircon and only a couple of small opening windows. Our room had no view to speak of but we only stayed two nights so it didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill S
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Bill. Thank you very much for your kind review. We are proud to be one of the best hotels in the area of Monteverde. We are indeed the best located and most convenient in terms of price, amenities and location. Our restaurant is one of the best in Monteverde and we regularly offer live music. we have been going... More 

Long Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. The room was clean and comfortable, not a luxury hotel, but it had a small pool and hot tub (covered) in case of rain. The breakfast was included, and it was very good. You had your choice of about 5 different items on the menu. The location was very central to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Debbie, thank you for review. We are proud to be one of best hotels in Monteverde, our location, our service, our team, the food, spa, pool, jacuzzi, gardens and more, complete a very nice stay for our guests. We have been working recently on small improvements and renovations that will allow our guest to enjoy a much better... More 

California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

Somewhat disappointing. The rooms, while large, are dark and without air conditioning. Unfortunately you can't open doors or windows because you would be inviting scores of moths and spiders inside (killed about five big spiders in the room in 2 days). Fortunately no problem with mosquitos. Staff was friendly, breakfasts average. Free wifi in reception and in restaurant but it... More 

Helpful?
Thank bumihills2016
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr Mrs Hills, Greetings. Thank you for your review. It sounds like we did not meet your expectations, perhaps they were a little too high for our standard: actually, there are not air conditioned rooms in Monteverde, ( except from our two garden superior rooms !!! ) you should have requested an up grade: around an extra US$60/90 per... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016

This is my first trip to Costa Rica. I am paying $350 a day including a few hikes, one ATV ride and transport between hotels by a travel agency here. I was ripped off. When I checked in I was given room 25. I went in, there were stains on the bedspread. There is no heat, no air conditioning, no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan S
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Dan S, we do not advertise our selves as a luxury hotel. You want luxury? ask for it to your travel agency and then complaint to them if you get something else. Some guests seem to think air conditioning is a must, or a given, as well as fridges, heat!! ( heat???? ) there are certain things you don't... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

301 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (267)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#11 of 22 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel's analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Address: | Santa Elena Centro, Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Monteverde, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Price Range: $93 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco Costa Rica/Monteverde
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay