We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

581 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 404: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel very close to town. Short walk across street through parking lot of shopping center then down the hill. The shopping center has a few restaurants, shops and a large supermarket. It was nice to finally be in walking distance of town without the cost of taxis. Room is basic but cute, clean & comfortable with a nice shade... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Greetings and thank you for your review. Our location is privileged, we are just three blocks away from down town and across the street from the comercial centre: shops, places to eat, banks, market and more.. Our staff, our amenities, coffee in the room, jacuzzi, spa, covered pool and other comforts make us the best value place to stay in... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We traveled to Monteverde with our 2 kids (6 & 9) and wanted to stay somewhere nice, but still close enough to walk to the town center, which is pretty much limited to hostels. This hotel is about a 5 minute walk to everything, including the bank, a grocery store, and a great restaurant (Sabor Tico). The hotel property is... More 

Helpful?
Thank MissMoeTO
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Miss Moe. Thank you very much for your very nice, complete and helpful review. You are exactly the kind of guests we look forward having with us!!! We are a small, nicely run, comfortable and cozy hotel, strategically located near EVERYTHING in Monteverde. Thanks a lot!! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights Very expensive for the "poco" you get: The rooms look like those of a road side motel. Wifi very poor, sometimes unusable and no connection in the rooms. Noisy in the morning, sound travels easy. Staff ok, sometimes rude Breakfast disappointing (4 pieces of fruit and scrambled eggs) Pool really cold, so jacuzzi gets... More 

Helpful?
Thank 59evelyneb
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs 59, greetings and thank you for your comments. Your description of our breakfast fare doesn't describe what our real options are, typical, American, continental or light. We offer fruits plate, toasts, butter jelly, juice, eggs, pancakes, rice and beans, ham, etc,, Perhaps you could have bought an extra side order of you were still hungry. We are working... More 

Travelers are raving about these Monteverde hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I feel I must write a review on this delightful hotel in view of some of the negative comments on trip advisor. I stayed here for two nights. This centrally located hotel is in an excellent location to discover all that moterverde has to offer. The hotel is basic, with large rooms. I stayed in a twin with two double... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank marathonSara
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Marathon. Greetings from Monteverde and thank you very much for leaving a good review. We know how much more difficult it is to get good reviews due to the fact that somehow, humans are more inclined to complaint than to compliment. I wish more people would deliberately ( just like you did) help us with good reviews, even... More 

Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Poco a Poco for two nights as part of a small tour of Costa Rica. The service from reception was very good, especially with helping to book local activities. Given that most people are only staying for a day or two most providers are happy to pick you up at very short notice. The food in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank OJFUK
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs / Mr OJFUK. Thank your for your review, Thank you for your compliments about our service at Front desk and thanks for letting us know we need to check on the staff at Restaurant to make sure everything is good over there. Our recipes and food are very good and we are one of the best restaurants in... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016

We spent three nights here and it felt like you were staying in someone's private home and garden. Their commitment to working with the nature surrounding the property is amazing. Coffee plants grow outside. I was sick while there and the restaurant took good care of me with the caring staff delivering soup and fruit to my room. The breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beth M
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Beth, thank you very much for your very nice review, our staff is always trying their best and willing to go for the extra mile in order to please our guests. Thanks for letting other know. Our hotel is very small, a family project, well kept, ( we have been renovating quite a lot recently, we have add amenities... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Poco a Poco for 4 days 3 nights. The staff was great and I cannot say enough things about how amazing they were! the problem was 1) They Have no gym! Which they advertised as having. 2) The breakfast was terrible!!!!!! The ham looked and tasted like lunch meat. 3) The pool was way to cold to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kameron K
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Kameron, greetings. I feel very bad reading your review, we have been undergoing some changes, the gym being one of them, its been pretty much an useless space, so we turned it into a deluxe room, featuring air conditioned and new comforts. I'm sorry this was important to you, I wish we knew before you left, we could have... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2016

In America this hotel would be considered to be a subpar motel due to the state of the rooms and facilities. The rooms themselves were dingy, dirty, filled with bugs, quite old (and not in a charming way), and bare. I traveled with a party of 5 and we each independently immediately felt the need to leave. Though we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carson F
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Hotel.com user, I feel relief you were able to speak your discontent and have your provider find you a more suitable solution. On our behalf, I may add we agreed on a last minute cancellation without penalty, not many places would agree on that. Specially since its a mere perception and not what the general opinion about our hotel... More 

Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

This is our third place we have stayed in Costa Rica and the first place where we were handed drinks immediately and were greeted by someone to take our bags. This place is cool,as in air, so even though the rooms do not use air conditioning, it's not necessary and I'm a diva!! Breathing in the cool air and feeling... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kasey O
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Kasey, thank you very much for your very nice, very helpful review. While in Monteverde, one must appreciate all the beauty and singularities of the region and lodging options. I really appreciate your comments because they show you wanted to experience Monteverde. Cool air, 5000 feet of elevation, no a/c, more basic accommodations, tours, places to visit and where... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

We spent two nights here at the start of July and found the hotel more than adequate for our needs. The rooms are a reasonable size and very clean with a ceiling fan, no aircon and only a couple of small opening windows. Our room had no view to speak of but we only stayed two nights so it didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill S
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Bill. Thank you very much for your kind review. We are proud to be one of the best hotels in the area of Monteverde. We are indeed the best located and most convenient in terms of price, amenities and location. Our restaurant is one of the best in Monteverde and we regularly offer live music. we have been going... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

301 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (267)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#11 of 22 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel's analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Address: | Santa Elena Centro, Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Monteverde, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Price Range: $90 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco Costa Rica/Monteverde
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay