We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Hotel website
| Santa Elena Centro, Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Monteverde, Costa Rica
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

562 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 395: English reviews
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent two nights here at the start of July and found the hotel more than adequate for our needs. The rooms are a reasonable size and very clean with a ceiling fan, no aircon and only a couple of small opening windows. Our room had no view to speak of but we only stayed two nights so it didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill S
Long Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. The room was clean and comfortable, not a luxury hotel, but it had a small pool and hot tub (covered) in case of rain. The breakfast was included, and it was very good. You had your choice of about 5 different items on the menu. The location was very central to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Somewhat disappointing. The rooms, while large, are dark and without air conditioning. Unfortunately you can't open doors or windows because you would be inviting scores of moths and spiders inside (killed about five big spiders in the room in 2 days). Fortunately no problem with mosquitos. Staff was friendly, breakfasts average. Free wifi in reception and in restaurant but it... More 

Helpful?
Thank bumihills2016
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr Mrs Hills, Greetings. Thank you for your review. It sounds like we did not meet your expectations, perhaps they were a little too high for our standard: actually, there are not air conditioned rooms in Monteverde, ( except from our two garden superior rooms !!! ) you should have requested an up grade: around an extra US$60/90 per... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my first trip to Costa Rica. I am paying $350 a day including a few hikes, one ATV ride and transport between hotels by a travel agency here. I was ripped off. When I checked in I was given room 25. I went in, there were stains on the bedspread. There is no heat, no air conditioning, no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan S
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Dan S, we do not advertise our selves as a luxury hotel. You want luxury? ask for it to your travel agency and then complaint to them if you get something else. Some guests seem to think air conditioning is a must, or a given, as well as fridges, heat!! ( heat???? ) there are certain things you don't... More 

Travelers are raving about these Monteverde hotels

oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights. There is a beautiful view from the hotel of a valley and trees. This hotel is an eco friendly hotel. They encourage you to reuse your towels and they have separate trash and recycling in the rooms. Breakfast is included. I really loved the homemade marmalade they served. It was made with pineapple and papaya... More 

Helpful?
Thank oregongyrl
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Gyrl from Oregon. Greetings and thank you for your review, we always try our best to accommodate guests the best we can. Delivering food, helping guests make decisions about tours, where to go, where to eat, etc. We enjoy our job and like to show it. Our rooms are well equipped and comfortable, it is true we don't have... More 

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited during low/rainy season and the hotel was fairly quiet. We never had an opportunity to get in the hot tub it was always full with guests. The hotel is a fairly simple, quiet place. Our room was located right by the hot tub/pool area, which was somewhat loud(hot tub was open until 10 each night). We had cows... More 

Helpful?
Thank saucypezgirl
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Saucypezgirl. Greetings from Hotel Poco a Poco, on behalf of all our staff: thank you for your comments and it was a pleasure to meet you and to be a part of your special occasion. Our rooms are cozy, well equipped and our added values make us the best hotel in the area. Next time, book our brand... More 

Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

Monteverde it's a beautiful place and staying in a good hotel complements the experience. I definitely recommend this hotel... If you visit, PLEASE don't go without jumping in the Jacuzzi. Food is also good, a bit pricey. Breakfast is enough to fill you up before visiting more Monteverde.

Helpful?
Thank Pablo A
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Pablo, greetings from the Cloud Forest, thank you for your comments. We want to be a great spot for relaxing, enjoyment and visiting Monteverde. Hotel Poco a Poco offers great service, food, style, added values, location and prices. Our pool, jacuzzi, sauna and spa are a must!! Thank you very much. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

We stayed for 2 nights. It is a hotel with pool and hot tub but unfortunately the pool was too cold and the tub was too hot. The restaurant was very good with good service and reasonable selection. Unfortunately our room overlooked a large tin roofed building with no view and outside our room was a plastic roof which covered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike B
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mike, thanks for your review, Hotel Poco a Poco is the best option for guests that are looking for a place to relax, enjoy and get to know the beautiful areas in Monteverde. It is true some of our rooms do not have the best exposure, ( view ) yet, one can always book a Quetzal room or specify... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful Eco hotel cared for with pride by owners. Convenient walk into the town and a plaza nearby. Restaurant is casual and affordable. Nice pool and hot tub - bit pool is cold! The staff and owners take the environmental commitment seriously!

Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in room 48 which was the last room on the top floor. The room was tied, small and very dull. No air con, no fridge and had a view of the road! Which made our stay not at all relaxing. The 4 stars are definitely not a true indication of its value. The pool area is in need... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim T
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

297 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (263)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.1 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#10 of 22 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel's analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Address: | Santa Elena Centro, Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Monteverde, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Price Range: $114 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco Costa Rica/Monteverde
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay