We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Fonda Vela

1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve. Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity$107
TripAdvisor$107
Trip.com
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com$107
Expedia.com$107
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (482)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (197)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Hot tub
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Billiards
Fax / photocopying
Internet
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
831Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 270
  • 316
  • 148
  • 51
  • 46
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The hotel could have potential, but it is obvious there is a lack of interest on behalf of the owners and managers. Service is also quite lame, to say the least. You can tell employees are totally discouraged and have a bad attitude. The worst is the maintenance in general. Rooms smell terrible, moist, humid and rotten. The Suites were OK, but a long distance from being luxury as we were promised. I imagine the normal rooms are even worse. I think the hotel should be in a 80 - 90 U$ level, not in the price range they want.
Read more
Response from HotelF54, Gerente at Hotel Fonda Vela
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Petey T, We appreciate your comments and regret that the experience has been valued in such a negative way. We will take your comments into account to improve and continue working to offer excellent stays in the midst of a unique natural environment. Warm regards, Fondavela Staff
Read more
Staff is lean and not properly trained. Staff confirmed that there was air conditioning prior to our booking. On arrival they blamed the ‘no ac’ on bookings.com not having the correct information. No correct information for taking the correct buses for tours booked at hotel. Lots of time wasted at the front desk to resolve issues. No one to answer phones during peak times. I am thankful they were able to get the rust stains (from the rusty drain) out of my white shirt from my trying to wash it in the bath tub. Beautiful grounds and hardwood floors. Food and beverage staff flawless. Spent too much time with ‘getting things right.
Read more
Response from HotelF54, Gerente at Hotel Fonda Vela
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Dayrels, We appreciate your comments and regret that the experience has been valued in such a negative way. We will take your comments into account to improve and continue working to offer excellent stays in the midst of a unique natural environment. Warm regards, Fondavela Staff
Read more
Stayed here at the beginning of August 2019 with my family of 8 (3 rooms). Out of all the places we stayed in during our 2 week trip, this was the worst one. The bathrooms are in terrible shape, there is also a serious bug problem, and the rooms have a bad odour. The positive: the front desk staff are helpful. Overall, you can definitely get better value for your money elsewhere. We stayed here because of close proximity to the cloud forest, but we would not do it again.
Read more
Response from HotelF54, Gerente at Hotel Fonda Vela
Responded Aug 7, 2019
Dear Ganesh, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. We are very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. We have been working on improving the facilities and will continue working to offer our guests the best experience. We do hope you give us another chance as we will definitely improve our services, Fondavela Staff
Read more
The hotel is nice, good rate, the breakfast is very good and is included. The hotel is very close to Monteverde Forest but a little far from the town. The room 12 has an amazing view. The check in and check out was very fast.
Read more
Response from HotelF54, Gerente at Hotel Fonda Vela
Responded Jul 30, 2019
Dear Q616DPjavierr, We want to thank you for sharing your valuable comments about your stay and we are happy to know you have enjoyed your stay that much. Your comments motivate us and encourage us to continue working to make it always better. Fonda Vela Staff
Read more
Rooms are elaborately decorated with hard woods and the grounds are nicely kept including agouti! Rooms are big, with seating area and a king and queen bed. Unfortunately that is were the good parts end. The wood floors were very slippery and difficult to walk on. The bar and restaurant were poorly staffed. Walls were very very thin. Linens were musty (including spider webs). Overall there was the feeling that the hotel is designed for travelers without children who may enjoy a leisurely walk around the grounds and are fairly self sufficient.
Read more
Response from HotelF54, Gerente at Hotel Fonda Vela
Responded Jul 14, 2019
Dear jrimaz, We appreciate your positive comments about your visit and without doubt, we appreciate your feedback that will help us learn and improve day by day. We regret the inconveniences and we will make the necessary improvements immediately. Warm regards, Fondavela Staff
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$112 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fonda vela hotel, fonda vela monteverde
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasMonteverde
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing