We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (330)
Room & Suite (121)
Dining (17)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Cala Lodge was built on three acres of property (1.2 hectares) of forest right next to the world-renowned Children's Eternal Rain Forest which has an area of 52.800 acres. It is the largest private reserve in Central America. Cala Lodge offers reasonably priced, cozy accommodations secluded from the noise and crowds and surrounded by beautiful forest with easy access to all the main attractions in the area. We help our visitors to design the best itineraries to take advantage of their stay in Monteverde and make it a memorable esperience.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Babysitting
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
605Reviews
385Photos
9Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 390
  • 166
  • 34
  • 11
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We had a great stay! Small scale hotel, super friendly staff, great breakfast and good coffee. The rooms are very clean. Great service by the staff. Highly recommend it. From the main lodge you can watch beautiful birds during breakfast.
Read more
My wife and I spent our honeymoon at Cala Lodge for the new year! Everyone was very professional when checking in and since it was our honeymoon we got upgraded free of charge to a step up from what we originally reserved. Also the owners of Cala were very polite when we had to
Read more
Just had a lovely couple of days at this hotel the room was exquisite, the views out of this world, saw plenty of the countries wildlife I’d certainly recommend this hotel. The staff were very attentive & nothing was too much trouble for them, there was a reasonably priced
Read more
Disappointing the level of care and no attention to detail. No good hospitality not welcoming. Guests to drag their luggage’s in rain to second floor . Rooms look unkempt and no space to put your belongings.all luggage in the floor. Place does not look clean. Rain water coming
Read more
Response from GerenciaCL, Owner at Cala Lodge
Responded 3 days ago
Hello, To us is really sad to read a review like this one. We are pretty sure of what we offer, the quality of our service and the beauty of our location. However, we can truly realize that our Cala Lodge was not the Hotel for you and probably the agency who help you with your booking use the place that was available without taking into consideration your needs. We are a Hotel located in the middle of the Cloud Forest and we provide an experience to connect with nature. We never advertise having a restaurant, telephones, TV's or having a bellboy. Our location is clear on all platforms, so that it does not come as a surprise that we are not in Santa Elena and you either need to walk or use a taxi service to go to town. What we do have is an amazing group of people trained and willing to help you with anything you need, our maintenance staff will help you with luggage at any time you just need to request it at our front desk. It is very easy to fix anything regarding your stay if you let us know. And unfortunately, this was not the case. We are sure there were some options that would have offer what you were looking for.
Read more
We were only there for two nights but had a great stay. Rooms are very cozy. Nice bathroom, probably the best shower we had in Costa Rica. The grounds are fantastic with a lot of wildlife. Saw a group of monkeys travelling through the trees. Breakfast was great in the
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Center & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementCala Lodge
Suite room
Photo provided by managementCala Lodge
Suite bedrooms
3 Betten, rechts der Balkon.
Room has huge windows
View from the room
PreviousNext
12345625
Is there heat?
We do no have heating system.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi - I was wondering if the rooms have A/C? Thanks
Hello, No we do not have A/C. R
0 votes
Breakfast is included. When I was there this past January they gave you a selection of a few different breakfasts you could order.
0 votes
Show all answers
200 m west and 325 south from the Rafael Argueda's Public School at Cerro Plano, Monteverde
0 votes
We were there in January and no need for nets. No way to hang one either.
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"I would not recommend this place if you wish to have a place to rest if its raining."
"Rooms above ground level for spectacular views!"
"Staying in the main building was not loud. We did have to use the stairs; they may not have an elevator."
"Our Lodge was an appartment and comfortabel"
"The lodges near reception were popular but we had suite 15 further out and saw so much more x"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
$91 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cala hotel monteverde
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasMonteverde
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing