We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
24 Beach Road Polhena Beach, Matara 81000 Sri Lanka
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Snaptravel
Booking.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (118)
Room & Suite (35)
Videos (3)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#6 of 68 hotels in Matara
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Culture Resort is a small boutique type hotel in calm and quite village in Matara. It is only 6 min drive from Mirissa,a well known surfing beach,whale watching hotspot and night life. we have only 7 rooms which is managed by a local family. The owner is a avid traveler too. Tranquility,minimalism and sense of the ocean is captured in the structure and the ambiance of the hotel. Our staff is inspired by unique down-south Sri Lankan hospitality in which kinship,interpersonal connectedness and offering food are the main features.
Read more
Room & Suite (35)35
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycles available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Canoeing
Diving
Hiking
Snorkeling
Fishing
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Massage
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
101Reviews1Q+A13Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 77
  • 20
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
abhinay g wrote a review Jan 2020
Noida, India8 contributions8 helpful votes
It is on Polhena beach with awesome location. Stuff is very helpful and food is great. They provided free snorkel gears and bikes was another good parts. Rooms\Bathrooms are modern and clean. Swimming pool although small but nice and clean.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Cultureteam, Owner at Culture Resort
Responded Jan 8, 2020
Thanks Abhinay g for your nice review, it was a pleasure to have your family at our place.
Read more
cjhall86 wrote a review Jan 2020
Oslo, Norway162 contributions94 helpful votes
I don’t like writing that an area on the beautiful south coast of Sri Lanka should be avoided, but I can’t find anything positive to write about this place. The hotel is quite new and rooms are of a good size. There is nothing to do or see in the vicinity and Polhena Beach is not worth a visit. We didn’t snorkel, but others may be able to say whether this was a special experience or not. Poor soundproofing at the hotel means you’ll be woken up by breakfast on the top floor. Mosquito nets aren’t big enough for the beds and there was no hot water on our first (and only) morning. Food in the restaurant (lunch and breakfast) was below average. I booked through Agoda, something which led to issues when paying/checking out. The hotel claimed they are not on Agoda and cannot be booked there. All in all a bit of an unnecessary issue. Wouldn’t stay again and wouldn’t visit Polhena again. Go for Mirissa or Dikwella instead.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Cultureteam, Owner at Culture Resort
Responded Jan 19, 2020
Dear cjhall86 I am very sorry that you had a bad experience at hour hotel, we talked to the police about loud music unfortunately they did not attend on time. We are working on a better plan with the local police now. It seems to be a misunderstanding on behalf of our manager, I educated him about the issue. We checked hot water found no problem with it. The feedback we usually get about our food is excellent, we were surprised by your comment, however I ask our chef to take exta-precaution for possible human error. Once again sorry for having a bas experience at our hotel,we will attend and review all to improve the service of the hotel. Thanks for your comment with regards Prasad, The owner
Read more
Auranga D wrote a review Dec 2019
Piliyandala, Sri Lanka44 contributions5 helpful votes
A peaceful place to spend the day. Clean rooms. Clean bath rooms. Sea view. Rooftop resturent. Small pool but clean. Large rooms. I would recommend since it is very much closer to the polhena beach safe area.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Cultureteam, Owner at Culture Resort
Responded Dec 22, 2019
Thanks aurangad for your nice comment and ratings,,Thanks for the recipe for the yams,wish you best with everything
Read more
kasunudara wrote a review Oct 2019
Galle, Sri Lanka39 contributions9 helpful votes
Visited with friends for lunch.tasty food.try their pepper pork. Pool is small but clean.great views from upstairs restaurant. Built on the landside facing sea.prices $$$ parking available.lift available to Access upstairs rooms and restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Cultureteam, Owner at Culture Resort
Responded Oct 14, 2019
Thanks a lot Kasun Udara for your excellent review,we are glad that you enjoyed our Pepper pork all the best
Read more
Janindu wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
Great view, delicious food and comfortable rooms and a picturesque environment. Has some cool areas to relax and rest with a unique natural ambience. One of the best resorts in Matara if you want to relax by the sea.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Cultureteam, Manager at Culture Resort
Responded Sep 6, 2019
Dear JaninduMG Thanks for your generous comment, Yes, we always keen to to give our guest the feeling of relaxation,and nature.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$69 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceMatara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Culture Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Culture Resort?
Nearby attractions include Polhena Beach (0.2 miles), VYANNI (0.4 miles), and Ceylon Gems and Jewellery (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Culture Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Culture Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Culture Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Culture Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Culture Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include BOB SL Restaurant, Meraki Madiha, and Sajee's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Culture Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Does Culture Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Culture Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Culture Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Culture Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Star Fort (1.3 miles).