We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Royal Oak Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Ayton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Royal Oak Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 74: English reviews
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for Sunday lunch expecting the best after reading the reviews. First the Beef was grisly the Yorkshire puds were large but thick and chewy the cabbage was over cooked and the roast potatoes well the must have had a look at the hot fat and thought I don't fancy that.They looked more like boiled and were under cooked.The chicken... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Irene C
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here as we were attending a wedding in the next village, staff were helpful and friendly unfortunately we didn't get chance to eat there Saturday night, Happy Hour looked good ...2 cocktails for the price of 1. Had drinks and Sunday am breakfast ...which was very tasty. Room was no 5 double really comfy bed, clean and ensuite, highly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deeeeeeee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

was very nice only problem was smell of paint but at least it was clean and the food was great meet a couple who got us a bottle of wine as was their 22nd wedding anniversary we hope to do the same when its our 22nd

Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
Simon F, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. More 

Wakefield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

We stayed one night, having read the recent reviews we were anxious. The room was small but adequate and very comfy and clean. we had evening meal which was delicious and well cooked. We had a huge and tasty breakfast the following morning. All the staff were warm and friendly, all ready to help and chat. Some people will obviously... More 

Helpful?
Thank WakefieldClive
Simon F, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the home cooked food. We Look forward to welcoming you again. More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016

If you are looking for some modern, glamorous, 'posh' accommodation this is not the place for you! If you're looking for a cosy bedroom, exceptional food with lots of character, this is the place for you. Great Ayton is a charming village and the Royal Oak fits in perfectly, overlooking the village green and next to Petch's butchers ( best... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue48
Simon F, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for summing up our offering at the Royal Oak. As we have tried to explain in response to previous reviews, the bedrooms are due for refurbishment, which we plan to do in the New Year. In the meantime they are clean, comfortable and priced accordingly. Most importantly, you have rated your whole experience, including our food... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016

Like Eilleen M, we where not impressed with the rooms, don't believe they have decorated since the seventies. Think the management might just have mentioned that they were in the process of developing the hotel and apologised for the poor quality of the rooms. Wanted to get up for an early morning walk but you cannot get out of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank graham031054
Simon F, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations on this visit. As stated in previous responses, we have recently taken over the business. We have yet to refurbish the hotel rooms and have a huge amount of work to do in getting the hotel side of the business to a higher standard. We have removed... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2016

The carpets in the bedroom need renewing. The bathroom had mouldy grouting, generally not acceptable for £70. The bedrooms are small. The breakfast was average. I know people have to make a living. But how can you charge £70 for a very mediocre hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Eilleen M
Simon F, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. As stated in previous responses, we have only just taken over the business and have yet to refurbish the rooms. In the interim, they remain clean and are priced accordingly at only £35pppn including breakfast. Our plan is to update the rooms in January.... More 

Logan City, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

Dear Katie, Simon and all, Thank you for making our short stay in Great Ayton so enjoyable. We came to really love your town, its history, natural beauty and most of all its people. In one full day we trecked to the top of Roseberry Topping and the Captain Cook Memorial. Took us 5 hours and was challenging in places.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lyndall O
Simon F, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mal and Lyndall, Thank you for such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Great Ayton and managed to see so many of the local sights. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us too. Enjoy the rest of your holiday. More 

Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

This hotel has recently changed ownership and there is a long needed plan to re-vamp. The bedrooms on my previous one night stay were decidedly tired, verging on the desperate, though the breakfast went a long way to compensating. This time I went for an early dinner but when we left at 8.30 the dining room was still disappointingly quiet.... More 

Helpful?
Thank CJOR2014
Simon F, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. As noted in previous responses, we have yet to refurbish the rooms. As such, they are 'tired', but clean and priced accordingly. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and service. More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016

Fourth day of an eight day trip and three superb B&Bs so far. Expectations are high. Pub looks great from the outside, but there's something about books and covers.... First of all the service was good, and friendly...absolutely no complaints from a human perspective but the room left a lot to be desired. At least the beds were clean, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim W
Simon F, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the Royal Oak. As new owners we have not yet updated the bedrooms. They are a little tired, hence the low daily rate. However, the rooms are clean and hygienic. The room 7 toilet seat was a miss on our part and has been promptly replaced. I am pleased you found the service... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Ayton
2.7 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 stars 1,264 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
5.2 mi away
Blue Bell Lodge
Blue Bell Lodge
#7 of 11 in Middlesbrough
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WELCOME TO THE ROYAL OAK HOTEL Situated on the beautiful High Green, in the heart of the picturesque village of Great Ayton, lies the Royal Oak Hotel. Built in the 1700s, originally a coaching inn, it has welcomed visitors from afar for centuries. With our cosy log fires, beamed ceilings and rustic charm, the Royal Oak offers excellent cask ales, fine wines, home cooked food, and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. On the edge of the North York Moors, the Royal Oak is the perfect place to call in for coffee, a pint, a delicious meal or to stay the night in one of our ensuite hotel rooms.If its private dining that you want, our function room can seat up to 35 for your occasion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Address: 123 High Street, Great Ayton TS9 6BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Great Ayton
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Great Ayton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing