We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Porters St. James, Holetown BB24017 Barbados
6 people are viewing this hotel
Priceline
$353
View deal
Expedia.com
$337
View deal
Hotels.com
$337
View deal
Booking.com$353
Travelocity$337
Trip.com$353
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (421)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (478)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 5 in Holetown
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.6
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
Set amidst twelve acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the calm West Coast of Barbados, Coral Reef Club is the epitome of West Indian elegance. This family owned and run luxury resort renowned for its special ambiance and classic island style. A five star hotel, it is one of the finest in the Caribbean. Accommodations are traditionally designed with wooden balustrading, fretwork and shuttered windows. Fine dining and personal service are a high priority at this "Small Luxury Hotel of the World".
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Car hire
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Great View
608Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 464
  • 87
  • 25
  • 13
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
tonyvaughan11 wrote a review Jun 17
Whittington, United Kingdom23 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
You need look no further than the Coral Reef Club in Barbados if you want an unforgettable holiday in the Caribbean. Beautiful location. The best service. Amazing food and beautiful rooms. We are staying in a Plantation Suite which is really lovely but all the rooms are lovely. The staff are very knowledgeable about the island and have there very own historian, Trevor, to give you a tour of the Island and it’s history. Beautiful beach with Turtles laying there eggs at night. Still here, going home soon but I decided to write it now, just in case there is somebody looking at TripAdvisor wondering where to go. .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: End of May beginning of June is a perfect time to go. Not too busy and the weather is perfect.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianni King, Sales at Coral Reef Club
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your 5 star rating! It was indeed a pleasure to make your holiday an unforgettable one! Thank you for complimenting our location and service, food, rooms and staff! We hope you had a smooth departure, and hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Ruta N wrote a review Jun 16
Livingston8 contributions18 helpful votes
We (2 single ladies) stayed at the hotel from the 27th May through to the 10th June 2022. Everything about our stay was wonderful . The hotel maintains an old colonial style and sits in beautiful gardens. We had Salvia, a "basic" room, with twin beds and we were very comfortable. It had a covered outside terrace the same size as the room with sunbeds, table and chairs, seats, a fridge and a standard lamp! The bathroom had a walk in shower but no bath. This didn't present any problem for us. We stayed half board. Breakfast was lovely but I have had better choice. Dinner was marvellous. Basically you could eat fillet steak every night if you wanted to. Everything we had was delicious. All too easy to overeat, especially on BBQ night. The nightly entertainment was very good with some lovely singers. We found the staff to be superb. Kim, our room maid, was very helpful at all times, the beach butlers, Sheldon, Carlos etc. were superb, all of the bar staff and restaurant staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The reception staff went out of their way to help with any problems including sorting out one of our trips when the driver didn't turn up. I wish I could remember more of their names but all of the staff deserve praise. Overall, we had a fabulous stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianni King, Sales at Coral Reef Club
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your 5-star rating! We are delighted to hear that you and your friend had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our hotel, gardens, and your room. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your meals and the nightly entertainment while dining with us. Thank you for highlighting our housekeeping, bar, restaurant, and reception staff who go above and beyond for our guests. It was a pleasure to have you both, and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
nikkistewart wrote a review Jun 10
northern ireland36 contributions20 helpful votes
We are on our way back from 8 days in the Coral Reef. We stayed in a Plantation Suite called High Clere. From the minute we arrived at the property to the minute we left everything was perfect. It was our 30th anniversary while we were there and Mark organised a lovely dinner for us and the staff had very kindly left several gifts in our room as well as a beautiful glass serving plate from the OHara family. We have stayed in some beautiful hotels across the world and normally stay in the Sandylane when we are visiting Barbados, however the service, style and sheer relaxed atmosphere of the Coral Reef is far beyond the other hotels on the island. Our flight was delayed by 6 hours and the manager had no issue with letting us stay in the suite until 8pm without charge or fuss, quite simply unheard of any most other hotels. The food in the hotel is outstanding we booked in on a half board basis and the package included lunch as complimentary. The menu changed every evening. There was also entertainment each evening with quality singers and musicians. All in all we can’t recommend this hotel highly enough. Thank you to Carlos, sherryanne, Katherine, Mark, Akil, Akeem, Kerry, Owen, Stephen,Natasha,Matthew ,Curtis. I’m sure we have left a few out We will be back again hopefully later in the year or new year 2023. Until we return keep on doing exactly what you are doing…. Oh yes and could you fix the lift for our return please lol
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianni King, Sales at Coral Reef Club
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your five-star rating! We are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful time celebrating your 30th anniversary with us! Thank you as well for your many compliments about our hotel and atmosphere, dining experience, and our staff who you were able to mention by name. We are happy to have made your holiday a memorable one, and look forward to welcoming you when you return!
Read more
TokyoJimmy wrote a review Jun 8
Newcastle124 contributions122 helpful votes
The Coral Reef is impressive, it has kept its old-world charm whilst being modern and stylish. My wife and I decided to book the Coral Reef Club as the world came out of lockdown, after watching the old 80’s BBC adaptation of Miss Marple’s ‘A Caribbean Mystery’ which was filmed in the hotel and wanting some luxury indulgence. Our impressions of the hotel were impressive from the start, as I asked them to arrange a three day car hire before we arrived which they did efficiently and with no issues with the excellent Holetown firm of Ballantyne’s. All the staff at the hotel whether in the bar, dining room, housekeeping, gardeners or reception are extremely friendly and eager to help. They always delivered what we wanted, from sorting our bill the night before departure to passing messages on to our travel firm. Our check in was smooth and quick, we were shown to our garden view room and offered a complimentary rum punch. Our room was comfortable and large with a fan and air conditioning, a small wall safe, plenty of drawer and wardrobe space, lots of hangers, hairdryer, a large comfortable bed, cold water and a toaster (in case you want breakfast in your room) and an iron and ironing board. We also had a nice veranda with chairs, table, loungers, rack for drying swimwear and a small fridge, which was very good for storing cold drinks. There are no TV’s in the rooms which we were aware of at the time of booking, but there is a TV lounge somewhere on site. The bathroom was also large, with two sinks, shaving/vanity mirror and we thought we were lucky enough to have a shower/bath as few garden view rooms appeared to. This shower/bath was one of the few downsides to our stay as the bath had a large marble surround, around eight inches wide, which made getting in and out of the bath a bit of a hurdle, but it also meant that each time you showered a large amount of water pooled and because the shower screen was too small, and the rubber seal at the bottom of it too short, unless a convoluted system of beach towels and bath mat was rigged by housekeeping and ourselves, a small flood appeared in the bathroom. It became highly tedious to spend every morning and evening after a shower to mop up this flood. The only other downside to the room was the Wi-Fi, which was fine in terms of strength, but I was thrown out of it every time that I put my phone lock screen on, so I had to keep logging in. The property has a large pool which was quiet and fine for swimming during our stay, and an excellent beach front, with plenty of loungers, attentive service, and a very suitable stretch of sea to take a dip in. The breakfast offers plenty of choice, from cereals, fruit, eggs, waffles and pancakes made to order, hot choices and toast. They need to work on the tea, it’s a little weak! You can have as much or as little as you want. The restaurant has a menu that changes daily, we ate there once and found the food well-presented and cooked, and there was a wide choice of dishes, but it was pricey even by Barbados prices and the portions on the smallish side. Service was very good. The bar has a great view of the beach, sea (particularly at sunset) and Holetown in the distance, but be careful of where you sit after a rain shower as they don’t move the chairs and I got very soggy trousers after discovering this the hard way after sitting on a seat that I didn’t realise had been left out. The local town in a 15-minute walk by road or beach, and it offers alternative places to eat, pubs, supermarkets and other shops to suit all tastes and budgets. The Coral Reef Club also has on site parking, a spa, a tennis pro and some water sports. It’s a highly relaxing place to stay and we very much enjoyed our stay. Overall it was the luxury stay we wanted and we had a great time.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Garden view rooms are very quiet and relaxing
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
S.D wrote a review May 2022
Bridgetown, Barbados1 contribution
The Spa and facial treatment was absolutely amazing. I go to so many spas and this one offered something totally different and serene. I called back to thank the staff who were present and that treated us on the following day. I spent a week perusing the spa menu online and the manager provided excellent suggestions on what would work for us as we wanted to enjoy the gardens and sauna aswell. In the end though our evening was soured by a discrepancy in pricing of the spa menu online vs pricing on their brochures in person. I provided proof of the pricing seen online to the manager. I didnt really want to create an energy shift from the amazing day we had in celebration, so I simply suggested that whoever runs the online platform, look into updating the spa menu/prices to what it should be as this could be an uncomfortable ending for someone else. I wanted to visit again this month, but the situation above did not sit well with me, so I called again to speak to someone else just for their opinion on the matter. Again - proof of the pricing discrepancy was provided in person and acknowledged in the presence of someone else at the end of our treatment. But Spa manager Natalie and front desk held to their stance that the online pricing didn't need to be honored in my case. We were told: - Next time come in person and enquire on pricing before making a reservation [I book spas every where, everytime an online menu was used. It's 2022] - That there is something called Buyer Beware. [I personally believe If I use your spa menu provided on your online webpage to book a service, outside of Vat and Levy taxes there should be not be any issues vs my situation where the price differed by a 43% increase.] - What we booked was outside of the realm of what we were shown (online) . [I no idea how that could be when I had shown the spa menu with the treatment in question with a different price to the spa manager after our treatment - but I guess they would know better than me] - Front desk stated with confidence he knew the menu we were shown, althought not being present on the dates of service or booking. - That we wanted a 30 minute treatment, but due tl us wanting garden access we actually booked was a 50 minutes treatment. [As initially stated, the issue is not the treatment, we got the treatment, it's obvious we should pay for what was recieved. The issue that I presented, was that the price for it online (which is why it was accepted in the first place) was different from the price told to us in the end that is reflected on in-person brochures. I took a brochure, maybe I will collect brochures and come in person first to make a reservation in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
GH24 wrote a review Apr 2022
1081 contributions548 helpful votes
Stunning hotel with magnificent gardens and rooms. The pool, beach and main building were all excellent and the service first rate – all the staff were very friendly & helpful. Rooms were a great size, well equipped with big balconies and good quality fittings, decoration etc. There’s plenty of space around the site so it never seems crowded although the beach area was very popular and looked a bit cramped. Dining was a bit of a mixed bag. Lunch was very good with a range of options. Breakfast was average with a limited choice compared with similar hotels we have stayed in and the evening meals would be best described as “good hotel food” – absolutely nothing wrong with it, well cooked and presented but nothing memorable. We were also surprise by the number of children during our time there – again nothing wrong with kids enjoying themselves but it does disrupt the peaceful setting. I can see why this place is so popular and has many repeat customers but I doubt we would return although it is a wonderful oasis and the owners should be proud of what they have achieved.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
RandT12345 wrote a review Apr 2022
10 contributions8 helpful votes
Our recent stay was wonderful. The hotel is in a great location and is beautiful. We stayed in Ylang Ylang junior suite which was on the floor level near to one of the pools. The room is very nice and spacious. As other have mentioned you do occasionally hear other guests if busy, but we only really had the guests above on 2 mornings be of any slight annoyance. The beach is really nice but we mainly stayed by the pool. It has a water dispenser which is great for the heat and is kept very cool. The beach butlers do also come up to the pool and offer drinks. The chocolate milkshakes and rum punch’s were our favourites. Anthony was very friendly and attentive. We went out for dinner most nights (booked by the concierge) and was assigned a driver for the entirety of our stay which was great. The drivers name was Ralph and he was a real credit to the hotel. A really nice guy. I’d recommend asking for him if needed! The breakfast buffet was fine, but I personally would always prefer more of a semi buffet, where you can have the cooked items made to order from your seat. I never really enjoy the slight chaos that can occur at buffets if a large amount of guests arrive at the cooking station at the same time. The staff did cope well with it but I always think it’s nicer to not stand waiting and for the chef to be able to focus on your dish and put all parts together at the same time, making it more special than what I could make at home. It would be nice to have items such as eggs florentine, royal Benedict etc as an option to be ordered as well. The smashed avocado lunch option would be a good addition to breakfast also, because that as delicious! Just to mention you can order breakfast to your room and I think it was free of charge, but we didn’t do this. Lunch was nice with plenty of options. As mentioned some staff aren’t the warmest, where as some are really nice, funny and more chatty. A young barman who was very friendly also gave us his rum punch recipe as they were so good! We had dinner twice and it was very nice with good singers making it quite a romantic and relaxing dinner. We aren’t guests that ever ask for a lot, but we did get the feeling if you asked for anything, they really would do their best to try and help. We asked for a late check out and were able to keep the room until we left for the airport. We love Barbados and my partner stayed at this hotel 20 years ago. Having stayed at Sandy lane as well, we do feel we would most likely return to Coral reef when we come back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianni King, Sales at Coral Reef Club
Responded May 4, 2022
Thank you for choosing Coral Reef Club and for writing us this lovely five star review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We especially loved that we were able to make a lasting impression on you, and your partner whose previous stay was 20 years ago. This feedback plays a huge part in letting us know that over the years we have continued to maintain our standards. Thank you as well for your compliments about our staff who work hard to cater to our guests every need. However, it was disappointing to learn that not everyone greeted you with the same warmth and friendliness, but we will pass this feedback along to the team as we strive to be consistent with our guest experience. It was nice to learn that lunch and dinner provided you with options and entertainment that you particularly enjoyed. We have however captured your feedback on our breakfast buffet, and will be discussing it with the team. Overall, it appears that you have found your new Barbadian getaway in Coral Reef Club, and we are delighted to have contributed to your memorable holiday. It was a pleasure to have you both, and we hope to see you again when you return.
Read more
helen12 wrote a review Apr 2022
UK9 contributions19 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel. Excellent all round. Good service/food and clean rooms. Sheldon and Antony were fantastic on the beach. Plenty of water sports on offer. Only complaint would be the poor front of house lady in the restaurant with the bad attitude and who clearly didn’t want to be there.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianni King, Sales at Coral Reef Club
Responded May 3, 2022
Thank you for your compliments about our hotel and the service you received. We are especially pleased to learn that Sheldon and Anthony were able to make your stay a memorable one! We are however equally disappointed to learn that you had a poor experience with a member of our team. This is not our standard and we have shared this feedback as we hope to continuously improve. We are glad that your positive experiences outweighed the bad, and that your time with us was an enjoyable one. We do hope to see you again and look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.
Read more
Peter N wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
+1
Had a fabulous stay at Coral Reef Club with family. Staff were all amazing and nothing was too much trouble for them. Special mention to Nigel at the front desk who was so helpful and welcoming and really enhanced our experience. Donna our room maid also did a superb job. Great location - the beach was amazing and there is a coral reef for snorkelling only ten metres out to sea. Food at the restaurant was fabulous - BBQ night was a particular highlight! Overall I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - the perfect relaxing break for the whole family.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Speak to the beach butlers in the morning and they’ll help arrange Sun loungers for you
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianni King, Sales at Coral Reef Club
Responded May 3, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review and recommendation. We're thrilled to learn you had a wonderful stay with us! We've forwarded your positive comments to our team, and we appreciate you recognising our staff for their exceptional service. Thank you for complimenting our in-house dining experience and menu options; we're especially happy to hear you enjoyed our BBQ night. From the Coral Reef Club team, it was indeed a pleasure, and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Amanda-McG wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom216 contributions284 helpful votes
+1
We revisited here after four years for six nights in a junior suite and absolutely loved it.It’s our favourite hotel on the island.Exceptional service and superior standard.Beautiful beach and grounds.Our room Coleus overlooked the ocean absolutely wonderful.Our only complaint was leaving.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianni King, Sales at Coral Reef Club
Responded May 3, 2022
Thank you for your five star review! We are delighted to read that after all these years Coral Reef Club still continues to exceed your expectations. We also appreciate you taking the time to highlight our service, standards and ambience. Goodbyes are always hard, so we'll say 'see you soon' and we hope to welcome you back whenever you return!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$440 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
coral reef club hotel saint james, coral reef hotel, coral reef saint james, coral reef club barbados
LOCATION
CaribbeanBarbadosSaint James ParishHoletown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Coral Reef Club
Which popular attractions are close to Coral Reef Club?
Nearby attractions include Best of Barbados Gift Shop (0.6 miles), St. James Parish Church (0.2 miles), and Holetown Beach (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Coral Reef Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Coral Reef Club?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Coral Reef Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Coral Reef Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nishi Restaurant, Cafe Bar Carizma, and The Tides.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Coral Reef Club?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Coral Reef Club have airport transportation?
Yes, Coral Reef Club offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Coral Reef Club?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Coral Reef Club?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Andromeda Botanic Gardens (8.0 miles), George Washington House (8.0 miles), and Garrison Savannah - Barbados Turf Club (8.2 miles).
Does Coral Reef Club have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Coral Reef Club accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.