We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Emerald Cove

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Emerald Cove
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 39: English reviews
Alberton, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

A beautiful place and friendly personal..clean and peaceful. For anyone down on business in this area especially if there is more than one of you I would recommend it ..relaxing with a beautiful pool and facilities

Helpful?
Thank 19622
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review, it was nice to meet you and we would love to have you back again if you come back to the area on business. More 

Durham
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2016

Stayed for a week in early August. The accommodation was lovely and just right for our needs The pool was cold but as we are from Northern England we couldn't let that stop us ... in fairness we were in the middle of S Africas winter. Location was brilliant, a fair selection of restaurants and bars in easy reach, a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank davidindurham
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we love having happy guests. We do want our guests to have the best possible holiday and our best reward is to see families enjoying their time at Emerald Cove and our beautiful South Coast. More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2016

Fantastic host, Children's paradise - my 8yr old commented "BEST HOLIDAY EVER" and wants to go back. Safe and secure - HOME away from HOME. Perfect family bonding time with clean pool and private access to beach. my kids loved unit 6 for the loft bedroom. will definitely go back for ANOTHER DAY IN PARADISE, Thank you Judy for making... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Prakashshanker
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this review

Thank you Prakash for giving us such a nice review, we are always happy when our guests enjoy their holiday and it was lovely to see your kids enjoying the pool. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2016

We were lucky enough, to get unit 7 which is right next to the beach access gate. As it is off-season we were the only guests. The unit was clean and reasonably well stocked with utensils, and a small braai. We were unaware of the fact that no towels or teacloths were provided, it was the first time this has... More 

Helpful?
Thank 691annd
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed your quiet stay. I do apologise for the lack of towels and dishcloths, we do not normally supply these and you were informed of this on your confirmation, but we would have happily supplied them had you asked. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2016

We received a very warm welcome from the hosts, and the accommodation is right next to the beach and within walking distance of a couple of nice restaurants and bars. The bed is comfortable and there is secure parking at the front of the property. However, the chalets are a little tired and the communal areas in particular could do... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cactus73
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed, and wished you had drawn our attention to the oven and ants so we could have dealt with those problems while you were here, the broken oven was only a trip switch ! I do apologise for the lack of towels and dishcloths, we do not normally supply these and our guests are duly... More 

Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2016

Fully equipped self catering cottages, overlooking lovely pool with a gate at the top of the property that opens out to a stunning beach. Perfectly situated with a shopping mall nearby and a dive centre across the road. Great security and a perfect holiday place I would highly recommend. The hosts are so helpful and friendly. You leave and want... More 

Helpful?
Thank Divejb
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you found our location so great and we would love to welcome you back when you plan that next trip. More 

Eastham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

We have just returned from our 4th stay at Emerald Cove and it was hard to leave to go home. While we grew up in SA and know that the best holiday beaches in SA are on the south coast of Natal, we travel all the way from the UK to enjoy the pleasure and we always feel very welcomed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for ending our year on a high note with such a nice review. We love having you and your lovely family here and look forward to having you back again one day. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2015

Judy stayed up late to graciously welcome me from my flight, which was much appreciated. I also found out that she had upgraded to me to a much larger cottage closer to the wifi as I was staying for three weeks. This was much appreciated, thank you Judy, it made the evenings much more enjoyable! The cottages are really fantastic,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. You were a lovely guest and always appreciative of any small thing we could do to make your stay more comfortable. Thank you also for the photos which show off the chalet so nicely with that lens. More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2015

We were so blessed to have had a free upgrade to such a stunning chalet! It was on the second floor and it was so beautiful! It was my mum in laws 60th birthday so we wanted to do something really nice, but still affordable. My mum in law couldnt stop saying how much she loves the place when we... More 

Helpful?
Thank yan0la
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review, sorry about the power going off, yes it was a problem with the entire area. More 

Limpopo Province, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2015

Good facilities on site , close to the beach , great for families and couples looking for a break without a hassle . good restaurants close to the Venue Clean rooms. beach within walking distance and close for Children

Helpful?
Thank mikeowen462
Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelly Beach
10.9 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Tahiti Sands
Tahiti Sands
#3 of 8 in Shelly Beach
9 reviews
1.2 mi away
Driftsands Holiday Flats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sea 'N Sky
Sea 'N Sky
#3 of 5 in Uvongo
9 reviews
3.7 mi away
Margate Sands
Margate Sands
#2 of 6 in Margate
68 reviews
5.3 mi away
Beach Motel
Beach Motel
#2 of 6 in Ramsgate
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beachfront, self-catering thatched chalets. On the shores of the warm Indian Ocean Emerald Cove is the perfect place to enjoy the pleasures of a beach holiday and explore the KwaZulu Natal South Coast. Swimming Pool, direct beach access, AA Highly recommended, and walking distance to restaurants and shops. Attractions of the area include: Oribi Gorge, whale and dolphin watching, 7 world class golf courses, many beautiful beaches, nature walks and hiking trails, and crocodile farm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Emerald Cove

Address: 1286 Marine Drive | Shelly Beach, Shelly Beach 4265, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Shelly Beach
Price Range: $39 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Emerald Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Emerald Cove staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Unit 7, access to beach, sound of the sea, no cars a plus.”
 of 5 bubbles 691annd, May 24, 2016 | Read review
“There is a wifi hotspot”
 of 5 bubbles Divejb, Jan 31, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the room with wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles thomasbG5638QY, Nov 22, 2015 | Read review
“Cottage 7 is nearest the sea”
 of 5 bubbles Diane23Gauteng, Sep 28, 2015 | Read review
“We always stay in number 7, which is overlooking the sea. The other rooms are superbly placed around the pool and are more for families with children or more than 2 adults.”
 of 5 bubbles BarOnes_13, Jun 18, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay