We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 90: English reviews
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went for a track day at Bedford Autodrome so staid here for just one night. The hotel itself was fine but the meal we had was at best a 5/10 I would however stop here again but I would eat elsewhere

Helpful?
Thank Nigel T
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very poor level of cleanliness throughout. Rooms out dated / bathrooms a disgrace. Tip ... Spend some of the over priced room rate on updating the place... Oh ... Was it really worth the effort bolting this TV to the wall ?? Staff pleasant

Helpful?
Thank Fraser P
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely shocking. Wouldnt wish this place on my worst enemy. On arrival i had to clean my own toilet. The bed had already been slept in. Spider infested room. My workmate had the room next door his was not different apart from nobody had used his toilet. To be fair. The steak evening meal was delicious but thats where my... More 

Helpful?
Thank dezzidee
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

Would recommend this restaurant to everybody. Pre-ordered meals, good communication over the phone. Orders were checked when we arrived. Large table organised in a bright & sunny room. Doors & windows open for breeze. Food was tasty, plentiful & hot. Service from waiters & waitresses was A* lovely area to let children have a walk around outside. Would certainly return.... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsLHG
MillhouseSharnbrook, General Manager at Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review!! It's always great to hear how well we're doing or even where we're going wrong but we're delighted you enjoyed your visit with us! Hopefully you'll soon become a regular. More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016

As a group of 40 ladies we went for afternoon tea. The staff all seemed stressed and we were not greeted by the owner as promised, the conservatory was decorated beautifully however the drapes and the window sills were covered with dead flies. When the food came it was not what we expected, the sandwiches were cut into triangles and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank suegilson66
MillhouseSharnbrook, General Manager at Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, it's always great to get feedback whether its negative or positive and we take all comments on board, just like we did when you emailed your letter of complaint a couple of weeks ago. (Which you never replied to) We explained certain things you have complained about, even invited you back for complimentary afternoon tea to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

My friend and I visited for afternoon as a birthday treat, and what a treat it was! We were surprisingly the only people in the dining room, and we thought that we were going to have an awful time but oh how wrong we were. The setting is beautiful, on the banks of the river over looking a gorgeous garden.... More 

Helpful?
Thank trendyfoodie
MillhouseSharnbrook, General Manager at Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you so much for your review. It's always great to get feedback whether it's negative or positive as there is always room for improvement. However we are delighted you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us! So thank you for the lovely comments and we'll hopefully see you again soon. Thanks Millhouse Team More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

I have visited here a couple of times before and have always had a good meal, however, must admit I felt a bit let down on this visit. There was a good selection of foods on the menu but the wait between courses was far too long. The food when it did arrive was beautifully presented and was very tasty.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dawnecallender
MillhouseSharnbrook, General Manager at Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for your review. We always appreciate feedback whether its negative or positive as there is always room for improvement. This is the first negative comment we've had about our steaks, so I apologise that you are the first. We've taken your comments on board and hopefully next time you come back you'll be a lot happier. Thanks Millhouse... More 

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

A group of 15 enjoyed Sunday Lunch. Lovely restaurant setting overlooking the river. the food and presentation were excellent but it was disappointing that the main dish was served to everyone before the vegetables were served. It took some time to serve 15 people and would have been better if the first five people had the meat and vegetables served... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia W
MillhouseSharnbrook, General Manager at Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for you review. It's always great to hear feedback whether it's positive or negative as there is always room for improvement. We have taken your comments on board and adjusted how we serve Sunday Lunch. So we hope you come back soon and see for yourself. Thanks Millhouse Team More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

This is a real gem! We came here for the popular pudding night!!!!! And it was amazing, nice selection of main courses and an amazing assortment of puddings, something for everyone!!! And for only £16pp. It's fab location with amazing food at a good price with excellent service....I couldn't fault a thing! Must try!!

Helpful?
Thank SarahJohnson91
MillhouseSharnbrook, General Manager at Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review!! It's always to hear how well we're doing or even where we're going wrong but we're delighted you enjoyed pudding night. Hopefully you'll soon become a regular. More 

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

We were a group of 15 and took over the conservatory for Sunday lunch. Nice that we were all round one table, though as it was made up of several tables, some positions were a bit awkward where the table legs met. The starters were served promptly and all looked quite appetizing; my soup was hot but a bit thin... More 

Helpful?
Thank BirdingB
MillhouseSharnbrook, General Manager at Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it's always great to get feedback! We're delighted that you enjoyed your meal and we'll take your comments on board. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharnbrook
1.0 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
4.4 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#5 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
5.7 mi away
Verve Hotel
Verve Hotel
#16 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Knife & Cleaver
The Knife & Cleaver
#1 of 1 in Houghton Conquest
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We believe we have something special for everyone here; dining in the conservatories overlooking the river or our more formal dining room; a permanent marquee for up to 120 people for weddings and functions; 9 beautifully appointed bedrooms and informal business meeting facilities. The Millhouse Hotel has 9 en-suite bedrooms all furnished to a high standard. The hotel offers single, double, twin and disabled rooms all with free broadband access, telephone, TV (digital freeview available in superior rooms), trouser press, hairdryer, fluffy towels from the heated towel rail and a good selection of tea and coffee. Guests can also enjoy complimentary toiletries in all rooms. The hotel is in an idyllic location yet just off the A6, 7 miles north of Bedford and central to Northampton, Milton Keynes, Oxford and Cambridge. Click here for our contact details. All guests can be assured of the best in choice and quality for food and wine when dining at the Millhouse. All of our dishes are created by our Chef, Matt Henman and his team, using fresh locally sourced seasonal ingredients wherever possible. He comments below on his culinary ethos: ‘I pride myself on using local produce and you can’t really get fresher or more local than Abrahams Farm Shop next door, free range venison from Harrold and P.E Burley & Son in Turvey providing our prime beef, pork, lamb, chicken and duck. I have kept prices down without compromising on quality of produce and the fresh flavours used in my dishes.’ Chef Matt. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant

Address: Stoke Mill Mill Road, Sharnbrook, Bedford MK44 1NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford > Sharnbrook
Price Range: $94 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant Sharnbrook, Bedford, Bedfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay