We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Bannatyne Health Club & Spa - York
    1.0 mi
  • 4 star hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviewed 2 days ago
Fairfield Manor Fell Below on the Breakfast Stakes
We arrived on the 17th and check-in was handled professionally... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

996 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 973: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We arrived on the 17th and check-in was handled professionally and efficiently by Lesley and we were recognised as Accor members. We were allocated room 414. The room heating was turned off but, after speaking to Lesley, we managed to get the room warm, but not as warm as the corridor outside, nor the rest of the hotel. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank masterecho
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear masterecho, thank you for your detailed review and whilst I have responded to you directly, I wish to re-iterate my apologies for the room temperature and for not meeting your expectations at breakfast. Kind regards Gordon Stewart

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff were polite and friendly. Bedrooms were adequate another socket on the other side of the bed would have been helpful. The toilet roll holder in the bathroom was in the wrong place very difficult to get at whilst sitting on loo. We had breakfast and evening meal there which, was included in our package coach trip. The quality of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sweettraveller2013
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sweettraveller2013, thank you for your feedback and hope to be able to welocme you back again in the future. Kind regards Gordon Stewart

Pincher Creek, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Maybe the manager was working short handed, and I will admit it was unseasonably hot, but she was very short and terse with us when we need assistance with the elevator. This facility is rather old and the public areas are dated. The rooms are small and are not air-conditioned. The only elevator in the facility was not working properly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian M, thank you for adding your comments and I am sorry that your experience was tarnished by the perception of the attitude of our staff; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I have spoken directly with the member of our team, who wishes to be associated with my apologies, this is not typical of her interactions...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was a repeat visit of the previous year so we expected a similarly good experience. Unfortunately this was not the case. Our food & wine was pre ordered & paid for when booking. On arrival we were taken through to the dining room by the barman. The commi waiter he delivered us to was sending us to a buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PMDMDR
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PMDMDR, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, we have received alot of positive feedback from our Christmas service but it's apparent in this case that...

Malton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived mid-afternoon to one of the warmest welcomes we have received in any hotel. There was plenty of parking and the grounds surrounding the hotel were immaculate. We were offered help with our luggage and given clear directions to the room. Within 5 minutes of arriving, we had locked our key in the room. Embarrassed? ... no need to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greensleeves5862
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Greensleeves5862, it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will...

Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a family of six adults, we enjoyed a three night Christmas package here. It proved to be a very good choice. The ground floor rooms were comfortable, well equipped and clean. So suitable for my disabled sister and the rest of us oldies! The food was great and service efficient. All the staff were so welcoming and obliging. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris C, thank you for taking the time to add your positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Kind regards Gordon Stewart

Bandung, Indonesia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for its good review and historical past. The service was good, location was great. The room is comfortable and spacious. I like the history of the building. It's an 18th century manor that used to belong to an English dignitary. Many royalties were stayed here, including the abdicated King Edward VIII when he was still Prince of Wales...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VikaMumpuni
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear VikaMumpuni, thank you for adding your feedback and glad you enjoyed the history of our hotel. Kind regards Gordon Stewart

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice clean hotel, friendly staff & a very nice room Bed was really comfortable Hotel was really close to work so was very happy with its location Only problem was the room was cold hence rating it very good not excellent Would stay again however

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan H, thank you for adding your feedback, sorry that you found the hotel cold, our Maintenance team is investigating further. Very pleased to read your comments on our team and cleanliness. Kind regards Gordon Stewart

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here last night for our 10th wedding anniversary. When booking I cheekily told them it was our anniversary and that we had stayed there previously. On arrival we were wished a happy anniversary, and then when we entered our room we realised that our room had been upgraded to a privilege room. Thought this was such a lovely gesture...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djsmammy
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear djsmammy, thank you for adding your feedback and for choosing us for your celebratory stay. We do always read all pre-stay comments and requests and whilst we cannot always complete due to availability constraints, I am pleased that we could on this occasion to add to your celebration. Kind regards Gordon Stewart

Carnforth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night. Bed was large and comfortable and no external noise so slept well. However, the room and bathroom are in need of some TLC. The floorboards in one area were so loose and spongy that you felt you might descend into the room below. The bathroom needs updating and the plugs replacing with ones that work....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank exYorkie148
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear exYorkie148, thank you for adding your feedback and pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay with us. Kind regards Gordon Stewart

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

290 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (178)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (83)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (80)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Standard Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
939 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#37 of 46 in York
1,195 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Price Range: $66 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel England/Skelton, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel staff and other travelers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“higher floors - the old wing rooms are much quieter”
 of 5 bubbles masterecho, 2 days ago | Read review
“If it is hot get a lower floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles 212brianm212, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“We booked a double room on-line and weren't disappointed.”
 of 5 bubbles Greensleeves5862, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ground floor rooms close to the reception are great if you have mobility problems but there is a lift too.”
 of 5 bubbles 269ChrisC269, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“All the rooms seem to be of a high standard.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnD549, Dec 18, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question