We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 252: English reviews
Start your review of Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
 Click to rate
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Highly recommended - we stayed in an old part of the Cape Dutch Quarter which was beautifully appointed and very private and had a lovely weekend in Tulbach. I should add that the CDQ also has a most impressive collection of antiques which are found throughout the establishment - it's awesome.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M141YFrichardh
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi there!! Thank you for reviewing our property with the best rating!! We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciate our antique collection!! we hope to welcome you back soon and give you an even better experience!! Kindest regards Karien

Plumstead, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

House was lovely, very clean and neat just too many items out for my minimalist lifestyle. Weather is very hot and there is no Air con but there is a nice garden and outside setting. Pool needs a revamp. Bedding and towels are nice and white which I love.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rochellehaggs
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi Rochelle!! Thank you for reviewing our property. We are pleased to let you know that after you left, we started working on the pool and we're actually still busy to make it perfect to avoid unhappy guests. There's no aircon in the house, but luckily all these old houses are cool naturally. :) We are planning to upgrade this...

Bellville, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed in loft room with lovely views and loved the big room with lovely romantic feel and look. Also liked the little kitchen. would have been nice to have tv though..... Braai/pool area is lovely and could spend all day there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y2Travel
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi There!! Thank you for reviewing our property!! We are so happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we'd like to welcome you back in the near future!! We only have two rooms without TV, the Honeymoon Loft and the Family Loft. These are both two fairly new units and we are getting TV's in these rooms...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the honeymoon suite , even though we have been married for many years.It had a very large four poster bed and was beautifully furnished and absolute luxury, The house itself was also beautiful with a large lounge and a dining room with amazing decor. It was like going back in time.Opening the front door in the morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AilsaLe
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi There Thank you for reviewing our property so perfectly!! We love it when guests see the house the same way we do!! We hope to welcome you back again very soon and give you the same experience!! Kindest regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We wanted to come and explore Tulbagh. Cape dutch quarter is perfect as it is in the middle of everything. Beautiful rooms air-conditioned and an amazing pool to cool down in. It is needed as it get nice and hot here in Tulbagh. Jason gave us the best advice where to go and what to do. We could not have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bethesda G
KarienBenson, Owner at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review Bathesdas. It can cook in Tulbagh in January, that's why we have three pools! Until next time. Jayson

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I were charmed by the pictures of this little historic town and booked last minute with Cape Dutch Quarters. I of course double booked myself through a booking company and Karien at Cape Dutch Quarters was extremely helpful by assisting me with this. We were greeted by her when arriving and already felt at home. The Wagon...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kereeshag
KarienBenson, Owner at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing Cape Dutch Quarters. Come for longer next time! best, jayson

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've stayed for one night at Cape Dutch Quarters and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was great having a pool to cool off in after a long hot day in the car. Love the atmosphere and character of the place. Maybe check your sewerage systems, a bit smelly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank corb114
KarienBenson, Owner at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Good afternoon and thanks for taking the time to send us feedback. We irrigate the garden with a grey water system and that is what you may have smelt. I am glad that you did not let that put you off loving Tulbagh and my hotel. Until next time. Jayson : )

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed January 12, 2017

Overnight break to visit Tulbagh and just get into the country. Well received by lovely Karin and shown around by Jayson. Gorgeous room. Very gracious staff serving breakfast. Efinitely a place to visit again. And Winter would be awesome when visiting the poor dry waterfalll which should look spectacular. The Reading Restaurant was just delightful and the good fresh and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janej175
KarienBenson, Owner at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Thanks for coming to stay Jane, it was lovely to meet you and we will endevour towards ever greater levels of comfort. Best, Jayson

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed January 10, 2017

Neat and Tidy accommodation. Jason was absolutely brilliant to sort out everything I needed. This was a central location and perfect for a solo trip. The Guest house is a living monument which is perfect for its location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank donovanb2017
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi Donovan!! We are so happy that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us!! Jayson is very passionate about the old houses of Church Street and he can tell anyone basically anything about the history of the town. Please come back soon!! Kindest regards Karien

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed January 6, 2017

Fantastic old house with lots of hearitage and great service. A must stop if you are near Tulbach.So much history in this old town.Visit the tourist information for great advice.Great food to enjoy in the town

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fauriechrista
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi Christa Thank you for your kind review!! We were very happy to have met you and we hope to welcome you back very soon!! Next time you must do the Historical Tour with Jayson! Kindest regards Karien

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
0.1 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wittedrift Manor House
Wittedrift Manor House
#5 of 18 in Tulbagh
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manley Wine Lodge
Manley Wine Lodge
#6 of 18 in Tulbagh
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A collection of ten historic properties, nestled between the restaurants, museums, sights and shops of Church Street. Cape Dutch Quarters, Tulbagh Country Guest House is the jewel in the crown of our heritage collection, where guests experience the authenticity of 18th century colonial architecture, original features and period/antique furnishings, while enjoying our traditional Cape hospitality. In addition, our seven self catering properties accommodate between two and twelve people each, so that groups of up to 60 can be accommodated. Enjoy our famous breakfast, lovely gardens, local reserve and other facilities. Tulbagh has a rich cultural history, unique wine farms, and wide open spaces and is well located for Route 62, West Coast and Cederberg.The Wagon Shed, Coach House and Barn are our executive self-catering units that each sleep two in a Double/Queen-sized bed. All units are unique, with open plan living room, kitchenette and en suite bath/shower room. The Coach house and Barn enjoys a private veranda/garden and the Wagon Shed has off street parking. Guests have full use of the Quarter’s pool and facilities. Breakfast is optional.Yellow wood, Toll House and Little Courtyards are all smart self catering houses dating from the 1700s. Each house sleeps between 4 and 6 people in 2-3 en suite bedrooms and feature large living areas, lounges and full kitchens. The houses all have lovely courtyard gardens, although Toll House and Courtyards also have private pools.Wittedrift Art Manor is a fully equipped self-catering mansion that was built to impress. Sleeps up to twelve in three double family suites. Each of the three wings consists of a large King room with a separate twin room and private bathroom. Large entertaining rooms and banqueting hall that seats twelve, make for a perfect party venue. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters

Address: 24 Church Street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Price Range: $40 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Honeymoon suite is excellent”
 of 5 bubbles fauriechrista, Jan 6, 2017 | Read review
“Executive room certainly my choice once again”
 of 5 bubbles JacquesB471, Dec 15, 2016 | Read review
“Honeymoon suite is preferred”
 of 5 bubbles A1236QCnickc, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“I would not recommend The Old Dutch Quarters”
 of 5 bubbles derekdaleenb, Aug 26, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this establishment altogether”
 of 5 bubbles craigm137, Jul 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question