We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cape Dutch Quarters

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cape Dutch Quarters
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 212: English reviews
Strand, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband treated me to a Sunday night stay on my 50th birthday. Wonderful stay in Loft 1. HUGE bedroom with vintage furniture and very comfortable bed. It was raining in Tulbach and it was so beautiful with the wet streets and barren oak trees. One of the local cats joined us for our stay so we felt right at... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ceciled223
Knysna
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have visited Tulbagh before on several occasions, this time, we chose the Dutch Quarters having read their website details. The accommodation was comfortable, however, some of the facilities and services were non-existant or of a poor standard. The full DSTV Hotel Boquet was unavailable in fact there was no TV at all, the room was not made up despite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Derek & Daleen B
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Good Day Derek Thank you for reviewing our property. We apologize for the bad experience, we hope to rectify this matter to you in the near future. We did offer the Hotel Bouquet, but like I explained to you, this changed about a month ago. I noticed that you made the booking with us before this was done, and therefore... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What a surprise!!! This one-night stay exceeded all expectation. On arrival we were greeted by a young lady who made us feel right at home. The accommodation was absolutely perfect and the historic setting only added to our experience. We loved every minute, and will be back sooner than later.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 436arthura
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi Arthur!! It gave me great pleasure reading your review - THANK YOU! I hope that we see you again very soon and that you have an even better experience with us!! Warm regards Karien More 

Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Hotel for our first 3 nights in South Africa. We came straight from the airport and the staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful. The hotel is beautiful and has a lot of history and character. I would definitely recommend a visit!

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi Peter Thank you for reviewing our property. We appreciate the good review and we hope to welcome you back again soon and make you smile again!! Karien :) More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed at this truly charming Guest House while in Tulbagh for meetings. The Guest House is, as stated on the website, conveniently located in Tulbagh Main Road. There are minor improvements required but none directly affected our stay. I was in an Executive Suite which was large and comfortable, with decor that gives the space an authentic Dutch feel.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank staceydaniele
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi Stacey1 Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay!! The breakfast our ladies make is something special. We will give attention so the minor improvements. We hope to welcome you back soon Karien More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent the weekend at Cape Dutch Quarters a few weeks ago. We booked the self catering unit Wagon Shed. It was quite cute, very neat. Jayson was super helpful on arrival and mapped out all the places we should go see during our stay. Although we did not eat at Cape Dutch Quarters, there are many restaurants and wine estates... More 

Helpful?
Thank LittleMiss1405
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi There! Thank you for reviewing our property! We are glad you enjoyed our stay with us, next time, you should definitely book a tour with Jayson through Church Street. He is the best tour guide you'll ever meet!! We hope to welcome you back soon! Kid regards Karien More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Vintage look and feel. 200 year old home with antique art throughout the home. Family get away. Beyond amazing...!! Naturism at it's best... Staff are adorable. If you ever passing through head to CDQ you won't be disappointed..

Helpful?
Thank MissZee E
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

WOW! Thank you for taking the time to review our property. My heart gets warm and I smile from ear to ear when I read reviews like these. I hope to welcome you back in the near future, then Jayson can take you on a tour through Church Street. See you soon Karien More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took a last minute gamble - value for money and a nice weekend away. Accommodation not bad, we turned on our heater before going for dinner - electric blankets nice touch and a central social area with an outside fire for after dinner chats with fellow guests. Staff friendly, all in all good value.

Helpful?
Thank CPT2015G
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were warm and toasty. We aim to please. Please come again! Karien More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The venue has great ambience and character but the plumbing in my room (shower and basin) did not work and there was no one available to fix it on the morning (Saturday) as I was trying to prepare for my wedding later that day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wernerg2001
cpt
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was really pleasant, tidy and cozy. Apart from a few things that require minor attention this was overall very nice. 3 heaters in room was broken or didn't have gas left, mortar and cement is still in cupboards, cupboards aren't cleaned out(full of dust), bees making nest in front door, cant use bedlamps with electric blankets plugged in and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 245georgen
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi George! Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced. We will see to it that it gets fixed and cleaned up. I hope that you will enjoy your stay next time. Best regards Karien More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
0.1 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
3.0 mi away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wittedrift Manor House
Wittedrift Manor House
#5 of 18 in Tulbagh
5.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
0.3 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#4 of 18 in Tulbagh
5.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
4.1 mi away
Epistay
Epistay
#9 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A collection of ten historic properties, nestled between the restaurants, museums, sights and shops of Church Street. Cape Dutch Quarters, Tulbagh Country Guest House is the jewel in the crown of our heritage collection, where guests experience the authenticity of 18th century colonial architecture, original features and period/antique furnishings, while enjoying our traditional Cape hospitality. In addition, our seven self catering properties accommodate between two and twelve people each, so that groups of up to 60 can be accommodated. Enjoy our famous breakfast, lovely gardens, local reserve and other facilities. Tulbagh has a rich cultural history, unique wine farms, and wide open spaces and is well located for Route 62, West Coast and Cederberg.The Wagon Shed, Coach House and Barn are our executive self-catering units that each sleep two in a Double/Queen-sized bed. All units are unique, with open plan living room, kitchenette and en suite bath/shower room. The Coach house and Barn enjoys a private veranda/garden and the Wagon Shed has off street parking. Guests have full use of the Quarter’s pool and facilities. Breakfast is optional.Yellow wood, Toll House and Little Courtyards are all smart self catering houses dating from the 1700s. Each house sleeps between 4 and 6 people in 2-3 en suite bedrooms and feature large living areas, lounges and full kitchens. The houses all have lovely courtyard gardens, although Toll House and Courtyards also have private pools.Wittedrift Art Manor is a fully equipped self-catering mansion that was built to impress. Sleeps up to twelve in three double family suites. Each of the three wings consists of a large King room with a separate twin room and private bathroom. Large entertaining rooms and banqueting hall that seats twelve, make for a perfect party venue. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cape Dutch Quarters

Address: 24 Church Street, Tulbagh 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Tulbagh
Price Range: $28 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cape Dutch Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay