We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Cape Dutch Quarters

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cape Dutch Quarters
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 217: English reviews
Wilderness
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Manager and Kitchen Staff were most obliging and pleasant however, the family cottage which we were given is tired and in desperate need of an upgrade. We thought that this would be on the cards for the season and would recommend that should you decide to stay there, to make enquiries that all the rooms and cottages have been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great accommodation, great location and so interesting to learn about Tulbagh from Jayson. Plenty to do in the area - a trip to Oakhurst Olives is a must. Sipping champagne at Twee Yong Gezellen not to be missed. Great weekend all round.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank debbiebV378LE
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi Debbie and Steve We are so happy you had fun in our beautiful valley!! It's always nice to read how much people enjoy Jayson and his company. We hope to welcome you back soon? Kind regards Karien More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room, it's decor and size was very nice. Perfect for a weekend away to relax. The breakfast options were a little bit to be desired so some improvement could be made there. Not really a place for children and more for a couples retreat.

Helpful?
Thank A1236QCnickc
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi There Thank you for reviewing our property. I will have a look at the breakfast problem. We do welcome children, but you are right as we have antique furniture and we like the guests to have a real Cape Dutch feeling when they get here. I hope to welcome you back soon! Kindest regards Karien More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

- Room is huge outdated. (Doors do not close off properly, shower was difficult adjustable ....) - During our stay of 4 days weren't provided any new towels, there isn't been cleaned and were not even new toilet rolls. Even when we've asked for. + Central positioned in Tulbagh.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steff N
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi Steff Thank you for reviewing our property. I will have someone look at the shower, and the door. Although sometimes the doors just have to be pushed gently like I showed you during the winter as they swell up. I apologize for not having new towels and toilet paper, I will address the matter and have a talk to... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I took my mom to Tulbagh as a birthday treat and we stayed in the Honeymoon Loft at the Cape Dutch Quarters. We were told to check in at 2pm however on arrival they asked us to come back in an hour as the cleaning staff were still busy. We were not fussed and headed out to lunch and returned... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FayeCT
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi Faye Thank you for taking the time to review our property so thoroughly, we appreciate the honesty. Firstly I want to apologize fore the late check in as our staff were having their hands full getting all the rooms ready for the days' check ins. I am glad that you were fine with it and went to have lunch... More 

Strand, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband treated me to a Sunday night stay on my 50th birthday. Wonderful stay in Loft 1. HUGE bedroom with vintage furniture and very comfortable bed. It was raining in Tulbach and it was so beautiful with the wet streets and barren oak trees. One of the local cats joined us for our stay so we felt right at... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ceciled223
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi Cecile Thank you for reviewing our property! I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Cape Dutch Quarters. Thank you for the honest opinion on the art, this is a first time complaint and I will see if we can maybe change that. The whole idea of our property is for it to be vintage... More 

Knysna
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2016

We have visited Tulbagh before on several occasions, this time, we chose the Dutch Quarters having read their website details. The accommodation was comfortable, however, some of the facilities and services were non-existant or of a poor standard. The full DSTV Hotel Boquet was unavailable in fact there was no TV at all, the room was not made up despite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Derek & Daleen B
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Good Day Derek Thank you for reviewing our property. We apologize for the bad experience, we hope to rectify this matter to you in the near future. We did offer the Hotel Bouquet, but like I explained to you, this changed about a month ago. I noticed that you made the booking with us before this was done, and therefore... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2016

What a surprise!!! This one-night stay exceeded all expectation. On arrival we were greeted by a young lady who made us feel right at home. The accommodation was absolutely perfect and the historic setting only added to our experience. We loved every minute, and will be back sooner than later.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 436arthura
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi Arthur!! It gave me great pleasure reading your review - THANK YOU! I hope that we see you again very soon and that you have an even better experience with us!! Warm regards Karien More 

Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2016

We stayed at the Hotel for our first 3 nights in South Africa. We came straight from the airport and the staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful. The hotel is beautiful and has a lot of history and character. I would definitely recommend a visit!

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi Peter Thank you for reviewing our property. We appreciate the good review and we hope to welcome you back again soon and make you smile again!! Karien :) More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

I stayed at this truly charming Guest House while in Tulbagh for meetings. The Guest House is, as stated on the website, conveniently located in Tulbagh Main Road. There are minor improvements required but none directly affected our stay. I was in an Executive Suite which was large and comfortable, with decor that gives the space an authentic Dutch feel.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank staceydaniele
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi Stacey1 Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay!! The breakfast our ladies make is something special. We will give attention so the minor improvements. We hope to welcome you back soon Karien More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
0.1 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
3.0 mi away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wittedrift Manor House
Wittedrift Manor House
#5 of 18 in Tulbagh
5.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Tarentaal
Villa Tarentaal
#2 of 17 in Tulbagh
5.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.3 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#4 of 18 in Tulbagh
5.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A collection of ten historic properties, nestled between the restaurants, museums, sights and shops of Church Street. Cape Dutch Quarters, Tulbagh Country Guest House is the jewel in the crown of our heritage collection, where guests experience the authenticity of 18th century colonial architecture, original features and period/antique furnishings, while enjoying our traditional Cape hospitality. In addition, our seven self catering properties accommodate between two and twelve people each, so that groups of up to 60 can be accommodated. Enjoy our famous breakfast, lovely gardens, local reserve and other facilities. Tulbagh has a rich cultural history, unique wine farms, and wide open spaces and is well located for Route 62, West Coast and Cederberg.The Wagon Shed, Coach House and Barn are our executive self-catering units that each sleep two in a Double/Queen-sized bed. All units are unique, with open plan living room, kitchenette and en suite bath/shower room. The Coach house and Barn enjoys a private veranda/garden and the Wagon Shed has off street parking. Guests have full use of the Quarter’s pool and facilities. Breakfast is optional.Yellow wood, Toll House and Little Courtyards are all smart self catering houses dating from the 1700s. Each house sleeps between 4 and 6 people in 2-3 en suite bedrooms and feature large living areas, lounges and full kitchens. The houses all have lovely courtyard gardens, although Toll House and Courtyards also have private pools.Wittedrift Art Manor is a fully equipped self-catering mansion that was built to impress. Sleeps up to twelve in three double family suites. Each of the three wings consists of a large King room with a separate twin room and private bathroom. Large entertaining rooms and banqueting hall that seats twelve, make for a perfect party venue. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cape Dutch Quarters

Address: 24 Church Street, Tulbagh 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Tulbagh
Price Range: $31 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cape Dutch Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cape Dutch Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay