We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Manley Wine Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Manley Wine Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 128: English reviews
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Unfortunately we arrived late on Sunday night. On arrival we were met by someone who was not very friendly, when we asked about the wine tasting and breakfast for the following day we were told that everything was closed on Mondays and Tuesdays. When I made the booking I was not told this. There were also no guest towels in... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank miekeb477
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had an excellent wedding and reception. The chappel and venue were wonderful and all the guests commented on the great view and setting. The rooms were clean and well serviced, the food was well prepared and served hot even though plated and the staff went out of their way to help wherever they could.

Helpful?
Thank Ant0ny123
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Beautiful location with outstanding views of the mountains. More than comfortable accommodation and real value for money.Great restaurant and lovely food with generous servings.You made to feel very welcome from the minute you arrive and the service and friendliness off all the staff is a big bonus.

Helpful?
Thank K2829EJkeiths
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very nice location and beautiful surrounds. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms could be cleaner, found some fleas on the carpet in our room, but overall very nice visit. would recommend this location to travelers.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 497pierrer
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent one night at the Lodge, the room was lovely with a very comfortable bed and wonderful linen. The fireplace kept us warm as it was a very cold night so we had a very nice sleep. The breakfast being basic was fine but staff struggled to make a fried egg as I don't eat meat. The coffee was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle N
cape town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

beautiful location. peaceful and quiet. a place where you wake to the sound of birds and ducks. friendly reception. accommodation neat and clean and tidy, very comfortable. well worth the little road trip to tulbagh!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank shekara_kotze
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The beautiful setting of this lodge is not enough to save the day unfortunately. Upon arrival on Sunday at 16:00 we were told that the restaurant would not be open as the staff were too tired because of a wedding held the previous day. The receptionist had no idea of where we should eat as she "doesn't eat in town"... More 

Helpful?
Thank 685leannew
Management response:

Oh my gosh we are absolutely shocked at this review as all the other guests were very happy. All guests were informed that the restaurant is not open on a Sunday evening but breakfast will be served and we would do a lunch on Monday by request. We also informed guests that they can arrange with us for something for... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately not good ! Our room was smoked out by the fire place, we had to move to another room. We could not get hold of anyone after hours as your after hours number just rang, my husband had to get help from a lady at Rykes Cellar to call for assistance someone who got hold of your manager. This... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 380reneew
Manley-Daphne, Manager at Manley Wine Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We did checked the fireplace the next day and also made a fire to make sure that it worked and could find nothing wrong. It might be that the wood was a bit wet or even just very hard. We have experienced... More 

Stellenbosch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went to Manley's by myself for a 'me-time' weekend. And that is exactly what I got:-). Beautiful setting for runs, walks or just to sit outside and read and enjoy nature. And the rooms was absolutely lovely to spend time indoors as well when it was to cold to be outdoors. I had an absolutely rejuvenating weekend. Thanks!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Christa U
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

Manley Wine Lodge offered a great time in the countryside and the fire place in the room was absolutely great. They could give a bit more attention to detail pertaining to the breakfast service and the atmosphere created for dinner (table cloths, etc). The service during breakfast was not up to standard.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charlene N
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
3.5 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
5.3 mi away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
4.5 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Villa Tarentaal
Villa Tarentaal
#1 of 17 in Tulbagh
5.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cape Dutch Quarters
Cape Dutch Quarters
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
3.4 mi away
De Oude Herberg
De Oude Herberg
#15 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Manley Winelodge – A little special. Just outside the historic and unspoilt town of Tulbagh, about one hour’s drive from Cape Town, lies Manley Wine Lodge, a wine farm, hotel, wedding and conference venue with a unique character. Manley is a working, award-winning wine farm offering guests the opportunity to stay, enjoy fine wines, eat well and relax all year round in some of the most beautiful scenery in the Western Cape. There is plenty to do and see. Come wine tasting - the Tulbagh valley has some of the best red wine in South Africa. Explore the surrounding mountains and abundant bird life on foot or on mountain bike. Or simply put your feet up with a good book. For weddings and conferences we offer a superb Cape mountain valley location, great facilities and a team of people who are exceptional at planning and management (they really can take care of just about everything). Manley is all about warmth, quality and good old-fashioned value. Come and visit us and discover how Manley Wine Lodge can make a weekend break, a wedding or your next conference just ‘a little special.’ ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manley Wine Lodge

Address: Main Road, Tulbagh 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Tulbagh
Price Range: $64 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manley Wine Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manley Wine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay