We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Howards Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howards Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 369: English reviews
Start your review of Howards Mountain Lodge
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beds were really uncomfortable, I had a bunk which felt like sleeping on plywood, which was what was holding it up. The shared showers were not good - just a dribble and they leaked from the ceiling above. No breakfast included and the walls were very thin so everything was loud. We had stayed in the adventure motel for 2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma T
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Sad to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Beds are a tricky one with individuals definitely having their preferences. By conscious choice our beds tend to the firm end of the spectrum as this is what most people seem to like, not unfortunately in your case. The mattresses on the bunks are inner sprung, not just foam. They...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really friendly staff and good concept but some investment needed. The shuttle for Alpine crossing efficient and arranged with the Lodge? Unfortunately bed was completely shot to pieces certainly not what is needed after 20km hike. There is no air con or heating. The bathroom fittings fall off wall above sink and in shower if used.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie W
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry to hear we didn't come up to scratch during your stay. I do wish you had let us know these concerns at the time and something could have been done. Each room has a heater but during the summer they aren't on automatically. You would have to turn it on your self. It is kept at about 20 degrees...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Howard's Lodge is excellent value for money. My partner and I stayed in a double room with shared bathroom as part of the Tongariro Crossing package. Rooms were comfortable & clean and the bathroom facilities were good with high pressure showers. Continental breakfast and lunch provided were of a good standard and made things a breeze. There is also a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coffeelover684
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks fort hat and glad we could squeeze in a not-too-bad day on the crossing. Bit rare so far this summer but fingers crossed going forward.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

During my 3-week trip in NZ I don't recall any place with nicer staff than here. The receptionist was very friendly and seemed interested in our needs, ensuring we had transportation arranged and helped us come up with activities due to a cancelled Tongariro Crossing trip (cancelled because of bad weather).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antti R
Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Howards Lodge is a perfect base for the Tongariro Crossing. My husband and I had a room with en suite facilities which was spotless. The bed was comfortable and the room was warm. The staff were friendly and informative and gave us tips on where to eat out and for the crossing itself. We set off with a good breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nats777309
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for sending the extra business our way, always appreciated.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed two nights at Howards Mountain Lodge solely for the purpose of hiking the Tongariro Crossing. We were pleasantly surprised by the high standard of this lodge, which felt like an upmarket hostel. Our room (with ensuite) was quite simple, but very comfortable and spacious. The shared kitchen in our block was equipped with plentiful supplies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess N
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

For us, this place was the perfect base for he Tongariro crossing. Staff were lovely and helpful. We ordered a continental breakfast and lunch packets both of which were generous and gave us lots of energy on our hike. The kitchen facilities, lounge and hot tub were all amazing. The showers and toilets were a little on the basic side,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MakaniValur
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed January 7, 2017

A very basic old uncomfortable hostel. We booked a Standard Double Room through Expedia, which only mentions that the bathroom facilities are shared if you click on the extra info icon. The other hostels usually detail it in bold alongside the room description. We didn't check the extra info, so it came as a surprise to find a tiny room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuckyMonky
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry you had a negative experience with us but I assure you there is no benefit for us in people have a false expectation of what they are booking, quite the opposite in fact. The expedia listing clearly states the shared bathroom situation for the room you booked (standard rooms) and the private bathroom in the other (ensuite) rooms. The...

London UK
Reviewed January 6, 2017

As soon as we arrived here there was no feeling of being at all welcome, and by the time we left I couldn't help but wonder why the manager (the only member of staff I encountered during my stay) works in the hospitality industry - I found him unfriendly, unhelpful and pretty rude. The room was comfortable enough but didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TeamCervinia
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

From your review we can't identify who you are, when you stayed or in what room so I can't comment on any of the specific problems you mention. Suffice to say it is regretable you had a negative experience with us. I am going to have to question your claim our lodge isn't clean. There are many variables we do...

Reviewed January 3, 2017

Awesome host and great facilities, breakfast was just what we needed before the crossing and the kitchen facilities were good too. Transport to/from the corssing was top class as well and both bus driver (Steve) and Lodge were helpful with information etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
7.9 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,411 reviews
8.0 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
400 reviews
15.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the secrets of the volcanic plateau. Walk the legendary Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Bike the popular 42 Traverse track. Canoe the wilderness of the Whanganui River. Ski the slopes of Mt Ruapehu. Howard's Lodge is the ultimate start for all outdoor adventure in Tongariro National Park, Ruapehu Skifields and Whanganui National Park. The lodge offers a broad variety of accommodation ranging from budget rooms to en-suite rooms. Daily transport to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and the 42 Traverse Mountain bike track, Rental of ski equipment, tramping boots and walking poles and mountain bikes. Enjoy a fantastic summer experience or an exhilarating winter getaway; we have just what you need. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howards Mountain Lodge

Address: 43-45 Carroll Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Price Range: $52 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howards Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Howards Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howards Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Loft rooms are great for bigger groups own a budget”
 of 5 bubbles PhiliJSoul, Nov 30, 2016 | Read review
“Second floor in main building, mountain view!”
 of 5 bubbles marcusJ965, Nov 20, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed over a quiet period, I would bring ear plugs during busy season as the outside doors were hard to shut quietly :)”
 of 5 bubbles mrskask, May 1, 2016 | Read review
“find another location”
 of 5 bubbles ttlavender2014, Mar 27, 2016 | Read review
“Quad had 2 bunk beds, perfect for friends to share”
 of 5 bubbles 294courtneyf, Mar 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question