We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Howards Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howards Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 344: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is as budget as you can get. The staff were super friendly and helpful and made up for the lack of amenity at the place. The heating is restricted from 8am to 12am and from 4pm-10pm. This should be mentioned in the hotel description!! So be prepared for cold nights and mornings!

Helpful?
Thank kenttran
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

We found the staff friendly and helpful. It was cold outside and the staff made sure our fire was regularly tended to day and night. The accommodation was cheap and functional with plenty of community space to spread out.

Helpful?
Thank Paula A
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

Good value for money, very friendly and helpful staff. Some minor drawbacks - power outage meant a cold first night and morning, dryer room not drying, spa jets not working and rooms a little tight with older style bunks. Nice and clean facilities, plenty of room to roam and the back packers kitchen good enough!!

Helpful?
Thank Karen C
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your review. Yes the power outages are a curse for us but thanks for understanding that there isn't much we can do about that. There are the fires in the lounges which are of the grid at least ! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

My partner and I stayed for two nights and had to listen to little kids running around being noisy late at night while trying to sleep. The heater in the room was barely working and we had expected much more than just a plain bed with a small bed table on the side. The company also advertised "free wifi" which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rose T
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Our rooms are kept to a temperature of 18-19 degrees at all times. You just weren't dressed properly for an alpine environment. No amount of heating was going to warm you if you wore jandals ??? The room you had was $75 per night. This is very good value for money for a simple, clean private room with shared facilities.... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Four of us arrived to take shelter from the rain after multiple days of hiking around the local area. We smelt terrible and looked just as bad, but were thankful to have a warm shower and roof over our heads. During the afternoon we laid out our wet tents under the enclosed entrance to the building we were staying in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sean P
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

I don't really recall your stay as it doesn't say when you were here (I assume summer due to the tents ???). We would not like the place festooned with tents especially when I place is specially provided under cover for that. The wifi is free but it is not and was never promised as unlimited. We are in a... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

It was a really BAD experience with Howard, we 12 people booked a house for three nights,, The book was done and i received the confirmation letter.I wondered whether i could bring my pets so i made comments at booking , also phone to the motel to ask the possibility, the lady replied that i should talk with the boss... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ronnie w
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

You are not giving a very balanced account of things. When you booked you said you WILL be bringing 3 dogs and "a little cat". You even asked us to provide bowls for them. This was not a casual request. Needless to say pets are not OK here, nor any other hotel I know of. Never mind that, other events... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016

It took me 3 visits before I struck struck great weather for the Tongariro crossing (fantastic experience btw). Howards Mountain Lodge has always been great. Its clean , tidy, well managed, good value and the staff are very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank aaaarrrrhhhhhhh
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

With the crossing, as in life, persistence pays. thaty said I am so glad 3rd time was the charm as you had been truly unlucky previously. TYhanks for your kind review about our lodge and even though you are now MISSION ACCOMPLISHED with the crossing we do hope to see you again skiing, mountain biking, or even the crossing in... More 

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

My husband and I, as well as our Swedish friends stayed at Howard's for two nights as a base while we did the Tongariro Crossing. Casey had plenty of advice for us doing a sunrise trek and referred us on to another company when she was a bit skeptical about our plan. She organised key pick up for our late... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrskask
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive review and your understanding about things just not working as planned sometimes. You are very understanding and that is much appreciated. More 

Lower Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

We had a lovely time at Howards Mountain Lodge, Was very comfortable and clean and would definitely stay again. There were 2 big lounges and a few kitchens and a pool table, which the kids enjoyed and a very friendly cat called Mittens who took a shining to one of the boys :)

Helpful?
1 Thank SharynSteff
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Our cat is one of most popular features but unfortunately she seems only too aware of the fact and is turning a bit premadonna on us. Is it time for a dog ? Perhaps someone played a trick on you though, the cats name is Queenie, not Mittens. A pleasure having you and the boys with us a good to... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

Although our room seemed clean at first glance, they had a lot of obvious short cuts to hide the cleanliness. Ex, any good motel/hotel would have light coloured towels so that all stains are cleaned and seen at all times. Their towels were a dark blue. The toilet brush also had black bristles. I found this disgusting. Again, it should... More 

Helpful?
Thank tanya s
Rita A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Let me apologise about the cleanliness issues you raised. There is no excuse for the litter in the room, I have bought this to the attention of house-keeping though of course I am ultimately responsible. I am not sure what your issue is with the toliet brushes. These are not black because they are dirty as you seem to insuate,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
7.9 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
8.0 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
15.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#2 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pipers Ski Lodge
Pipers Ski Lodge
#2 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the secrets of the volcanic plateau. Walk the legendary Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Bike the popular 42 Traverse track. Canoe the wilderness of the Whanganui River. Ski the slopes of Mt Ruapehu. Howard's Lodge is the ultimate start for all outdoor adventure in Tongariro National Park, Ruapehu Skifields and Whanganui National Park. The lodge offers a broad variety of accommodation ranging from budget rooms to en-suite rooms. Daily transport to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and the 42 Traverse Mountain bike track, Rental of ski equipment, tramping boots and walking poles and mountain bikes. Enjoy a fantastic summer experience or an exhilarating winter getaway; we have just what you need. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howards Mountain Lodge

Address: 43-45 Carroll Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Price Range: $53 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howards Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Howards Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay