We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mindresunde Camping

Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (31)
Room & Suite (3)

About

#3 of 10 Specialty lodging in Stryn
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Norwegian
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Snack bar
Beach
Canoeing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Laundry service
Hiking
Horseback riding
Skiing
Fishing
Table tennis
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Private beach
23Reviews
2Q+A
0Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 10
  • 8
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We spend 5 days in this beautiful camping!!! There is a beautiful lake view with alot of green trees and grass. The owner was realy kind and nice and help us with few problems we had. It was a great time!
Read more
Camping is amazing, I stayed at hytta with 3 of my friends and we loved it. Hytta had everything what we need :) Was cool to have a big bbq and lot of space outside. View is amazing! Very quite during day/night (no big noisy waterfall :D). Perfect spot for fishing! Very close to all attractions. Totally recommend it!
Read more
We took the large appartment. It is located just on the lake. The cabin is well equipped with heating, enough place to seat, TV, and wifi which has its ups & downs. The kitchen is equipped with everything you need to cook, it even has a dish washer. The rooms are large and the beds are comfortable. Shower always had hot water. You can take a boat for free and tour the lake. When we needed anything, the service that we got at the front desk was really friendly.
Read more
+1
We chose Mindresunde camping for it's location by the lake. We are not campers "by trade", but have visited quite a few campingsites and chalets for rent over the years, but this was a very strange and uncomfortable experience. The immediate smell of cows manure is probable seasonal, but it stings a bit at first. A lady (owner) velcomed us and gave us the key and referred us to the information board outside. The camping hut/cottage/ chalet was worn down, probably in it's original state from the 80's (early 90's?). Small livingroom with open kitchen, a 6 pax dining table and a dated sofa.. One bedroom with 4 single beds. I asked particularly about the kitchen before arrival and was informed that it was fully equipped. But there was no Chopping board Spatulas Wine glasses Coffee mugs Kitchen towelpaper Cooking spoons. I called the owned and asked to get the above pluss handsoap for the bathroom. He said " Handsoap is not something we usually offer". I said okay, I could use my shampoo. He said he would bring the other items but commented " I'm not used to people complaining and whining about these things" . Very strange customer service unlike anything I've heard before. It almost made me laugh because it was so out of place..... But we got the items within 30 minutes, so good comeback! ( including handsoap). The next day ( we were supposed to stay 2 nights) we told them we needed to go back to Bergen early. We were, of course, prepared to pay for the second night as well but never got the chance to offer. We called and said that we needed to go. At the same time we wanted to rent a boat and go out on the lake for an hour before we left because I had really been looking forward to that and wanted to take the time to do it. The owner started laughing very inappropriaty, indicating that he obviously did not believe that we needed to go home since we wanted to get a boat first ( which we in the end didn't, too much hussle). Very passive- agressive behaviour, he could just have been calm and said" of course, I' m sorry to see you go, of course you get a boat, but unfortunately you must pay for 2 nights. We would've been fine with that...! I don't know how to tell the short version. The lady owner came down, angrily and fractically yelled at us that we had to hurry, hurry, hurry and get out fast if we didn' t want to be charged for an extra day. At that point I found her to be so rude that I no longer wanted to pay for an extra day, although I had been prepared to do so in the beginning. Accidentally my dog was in the sofa ( a 5 kg Italian Greyhound)when she came because I had already packed the dogbed and this seemed to anger her even more. She was agitated, redfaced and talked to us unprofessionally, like the way you might talk to a familymember if you are really pissed of. I started cleaning immedeately, her voice ringing in my head(" hurry, hurry, hurry"). It was quite obvious to me that they thought we were lying about the situation to sneak our way out of paying, which is insulting. When my boyfriend went to pay for the stay she had practically yelled at him " you have to hurry, hurry, you need to leave NOW". My boyfriend got quite annoyed with her to the point that he actually yelled back at her, lost his temper, called her insane (sorry about that...) and threatened to tweet about it all. This seemed to concern her, she called someone on the phone and practically demanded that we couldn't leave until the threat of bad publicity was sorted out. I said I wanted to leave, she said I couldn't go. I felt like a child being repremanded by an angry mother😂😂 At last I just calmly informed her that we were leaving while she asked for a guarantee that we wouldn' tweet about our stay. I assured her we wouldn't (and we haven't)😉 So....what just happened? I'm still not sure. Bad communication and no training in customer service is my best guess. This was a very, very strange day... Go there if you dare!🤔🤔
Read more
Response from Lars Henrik S, Eier at Mindresunde Camping
Responded Jul 1, 2016
Hello, We sincerely wish you had a better experience in our camping. That guest enjoy their time here is very important to us. Regarding the standard: We have cabins of higher standard, and also cabins fully renovated this year. But the cabin you stayed in was the only available, with the facilities you asked for, this day. We explained the cabin facilities on the phone before arrival. This cabin is also one of the few cabins where we allow you to bring dogs, with consideration to people with allergy. Maybe we forgot to mention that soap is not offered in our cabins. We are sorry if we didn't inform you about that. This is a very busy time of year for us, so maybe we are not as accurate in the information as we would want to be. We are also sorry about the kitchen equipment that was missing, but we would like to add that we fixed that as soon as you made us aware of it. We did not ask you to pay for two days, even if the booking was made for three days. The reasons you gave for leaving was dramatic, so therefore we were surprised that you had time to go on a boat trip, but it was completely wrong to comment on that. We apologize. Regarding the “farming smell”: Our camping site is located in the middle of a typical Norwegian agricultural area, and we are also farmers ourselves. But farming does not stop during the summer season. This is the time when the grass is harvested, and to get even more grass for animals during winter, we use manure on the fields. This is only done a few days a year, so the timing for you was unfortunate. A story always has two sides, and in this case we feel that our perception of what happened is different from yours. We believe this is a story about lack of good communication, and we will try to understand and learn from this. We only wish we could have a good talk before you left. We wish you a good summer. Best regards.
Read more
The owner Lars was extremely rude and offensive to us. I will not be returning to this campings site again! This is a shame because the location is beautiful. The cabins are ok. I will recommend to stay in another camping site around the area, but not here. He really ruined the experience for us.
Read more
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
$153 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NorwayWestern NorwayStryn MunicipalityStryn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing