We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Hadelandsveien 386, Honefoss 3514 Norway
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Trip.com
$223
View deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (91)
Dining (30)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 10/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Klaekken Hotell
Updated 10/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Honefoss
Location
3.5
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
3.9
Value
3.7
Klaekken Hotell is idyllically situated in a large park grounded 5 km from Honefoss and less than one hour drive from Oslo City and Oslo Airport. The hotel has 156 rooms, in- and outdoor swimming pool, sculpture park and a large collection of art. The kitchen at Klaekken is legendary. Our chef selects the best ingredients with a critical eye and the meal served on your plate is of no coincidence. Our own sommelier is more than happy to contribute making your meal a true pleasure. Try to keep room for dessert.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Hot tub
Swimming pool toys
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Tennis court
Bicycle tours
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Norwegian
180Reviews0Q+A10Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 43
  • 62
  • 45
  • 15
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Marina wrote a review Aug 2022
Oslo, Norway21 contributions9 helpful votes
Hotel is located in the middle of nowhere, but not far by car to Hønefoss centre. Hotel is huge with long corridors, plenty of space to chill. Breakfast is good and tasty, especially smoked salmon was delicious. Personal at reception is slow. Room js not so big, and unfortunately not clean, I saw dust everywhere. Swimming pool was closed, there is no playing room for kids, so its quite boring.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Eirik wrote a review Dec 2021
Eastern Norway, Norway46 contributions18 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We booked a table in the restaurant for a family dinner. A welcoming staff in comforting surroundings. Great service and an abundance of proper authentic and traditional Norwegian Christmas food and drink.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Suranga Wick wrote a review Aug 2020
Voss46 contributions59 helpful votes
I was staying here for one week with my son who was attending a course there. The room was basis but quite ok. Next time would book a better room. Restaurant was nice and very good food. Straff was friendly and helpfull. You shouldn’t forget to visit the Hadeland glass factory while staying here. A jem to visit. I would certainly come back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ole Gunnar Borlaug, Daglig leder at Klaekken Hotell
Responded Aug 29, 2020
Dear Surangawick! Thank You for taking the time to review Your visit at Klækken Hotell. It is truly rewarding to hear such positive comments about our staff, restaurant and food! We do agree, Hadeland glass factory and also Kistefos and the Twist are both really interesting and beautiful places to visit. We do hope to welcome You back very soon. Kind regards Ole Gunnar Borlaug Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Niklas A wrote a review Jul 2020
Barcelona, Spain5 contributions1 helpful vote
Does not look like the pictures. Very tired and smelly, should be avoided. Feels like a old scout cabin, but costs the same as a 4 stared hotel. Not recommendable. We had the chance of seeing 3 different rooms. All sucked
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Pippi s wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
I booked a room on the phone for two nights, I asked the receptionist to repeat this twice to be sure, but the next day another receptionist said that for this price we could only stay for one night and it was a shame we didn't ask for email confirmation. I ask; why the hotel does not have email verification procedures. The answer: Not after 4pm. We had to cancel, and my family was obviously disappointed, especially my daughter.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Service
Room Tip: the hotel is close to the road with quite a lot of noise
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ole Gunnar B, Manager at Klaekken Hotell
Responded Dec 4, 2019
Dear pippis2019, We are sorry, as already confirmed by mail, about the misunderstanding in the conversation when you made your booking. Your room was booked for one night, and the rate was confirmed for one night. When concating us day of arrival, we were told you should stay for two nights. You were then offered our best available rate for two nights. We are sorry that we could not offer you a 50 % discount. It is not a shame, not asking for email confirmation, we are sorry if you got that feeling. It is always possible to get a confirmation by mail or SMS, when making a reservation with us. Sincerely Ole Gunnar Borlaug Hotel manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Antonio Lemos wrote a review Dec 2018
Oslo, Norway550 contributions72 helpful votes
+1
Cosy hotel, ideal for a weekend. Not far from Oslo this hotel gives you the commodities you need to have a perfect weekend. Some rooms need an update but heard the some of them they have been modernised.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Ask for au upgraded room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sigmund L wrote a review Jun 2018
Oslo, Norway531 contributions127 helpful votes
To think how old this hotel is, and still going strong (stronger than ever? – almost looks like it)! We stayed in style, great breakfast buffet. Superb lunch service with dishes of all kinds; seafood, meats hot and cold, cheeses, desserts galore. No wonder we had a small problem getting a table at short notice; the place was crowded. But they received us in style with a friendly smile and discreet service throughout the buffet meal.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ole Gunnar B, Manager at Klaekken Hotell
Responded Jun 13, 2018
Dear Sigmund L, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit at Klækken Hotell. We were delighted to read your kind comments. You captured the true spirit of the hotel, and what we pride ourselves to deliver. We do hope to welcome you back very soon! Kind regards Ole Gunnar Borlaug Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carin C wrote a review Jan 2018
Aarhus, Denmark14 contributions1 helpful vote
Good location, the room was small but the beds very comfy. Loud noise from Christmas party going on downstairs in restaurant during the evening. The breakfast buffet was excellent and staff very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ole Gunnar B, Leder  at Klaekken Hotell
Responded Jan 5, 2018
Dear Carin C, Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us at Klækken Hotell! I have shared your kind comments with the rest of our staff. I am sorry that the Christmas party disturbed you. We hope in the future, we have the opportunity to welcome you back! Kind regards Ole Gunnar Borlaug Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Odd Kristian P wrote a review Oct 2017
Kristiansand, Norway225 contributions12 helpful votes
The hotel is old and this saturates the impressions of rooms and pool area. Very small rooms and bathrooms. But this is to be expected from at wooden building. The surroundings are great, the staff meet you with enthusiasm. We had a conference here for 2 days, everything works. Popular hotel for conference and meetings as it is not so far from Oslo or Gardermoen. It is recommended to change for the pool and fitness area in your room as there are no showers in the locker room. Sauna is small and hidden.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ole Gunnar B, Manager at Klaekken Hotell
Responded Nov 6, 2017
Kjære Odd Kristian P, Tusen takk for at du valgte å dele din opplevelse av Klækken Hotell på Tripadvisor. Vi setter stor pris på at du hadde det bra hos oss, og ble godt mottatt av det viktige Klækken-laget. Vi er glad du fikk benyttet deg av forskjellige fasiliteter og samtidig nyte av vakre omgivelser. Hotellet har rom i forskjellig størrelse, men flest dobbeltrom. Vi håper å snart kunne ønske deg velkommen tilbake! Vennlig hilsen Ole Gunnar Borlaug hotellsjef
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul R wrote a review Aug 2017
10 contributions2 helpful votes
A nice hotel overall with friendly staff and decent facilities. They have a lovely swimming pool which, is both indoors and outdoors, it looked heated, but as it was raining I did not venture in. The main parts of the hotel are traditional Norwegian fayre, with a Scandinavian feel to it. The hotel location is a little remote from the town, so if you think of walking, there is not much in the local vicinity. This does limit you to eating in the hotel, which whilst nice, was on the more expensive side. The room I was in, was, lets say, small. 2 single beds and a small bathroom. it is adequate and fine for a single night, ut I think if I had been there for more days I would have been claustrophobic.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Most rooms on floor 3 have great views out
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ole Gunnar B, Manager at Klaekken Hotell
Responded Sep 4, 2017
Dear Paul R, Thank You for the review at Tripadvisor. We have rooms of different sizes, so it is possible to request a bigger room, or upgrade. Temperature of the water in our swimmingpool holds 26 degrees celcius. We do hope to see You again! Kind regards Ole Gunnar Borlaug Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$172 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NorwayEastern NorwayBuskerudRingerike MunicipalityHonefoss
NUMBER OF ROOMS
156
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Klaekken Hotell
Which popular attractions are close to Klaekken Hotell?
Nearby attractions include Kistefos Museum (4.0 miles), Ringeriksbadet (4.8 miles), and Fengselet (2.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Klaekken Hotell?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Klaekken Hotell?
Top room amenities include a refrigerator, a desk, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Klaekken Hotell?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Klaekken Hotell?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Klaekken Hotell?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brasserie Fengselet, Rumi Restaurant, and Eger & Co.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Klaekken Hotell?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Klaekken Hotell?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Klaekken Hotell?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Klaekken Hotell offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Klaekken Hotell?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Norwegian.