We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Westwind Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Westwind Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 212: English reviews
Calgary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Lets start by saying this is more like a local museum loaded with folk art trinkets, paintings and antiques. Throw in a library and a few overnight guestrooms and there you have it.......the Westwind Inn. The property is large and we spent a good deal of our time outside enjoying the pool open area where boci, jam can, pitch and... More 

Helpful?
Thank kipperCalgary
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for one night and it was amazing. We were in the Chalet and loved the room. Private, lovely view of the lake and so romantic! We ate dinner and breakfast and were impressed with the quality of the food and the service. The dining room is beautiful with the lake view. Our only regret was we couldn't stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank seantrip88
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Inn is $300 per night so we expected beautiful accomodations. The room was small and old, toilet was broken, sink was stained. The beach was small and the lounge chairs by the beach were cheap and plastic, not comfortable at all to lie or sit on. The pool was small and right by the parking lot. I would never... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Fern L
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this review

Obviously we are not the destination for you and you are not for us. Our typical guests are lovely happy and content people. A pleasure to have here. They know what they want, do their research, select a room according to their budget, discuss meals, select a dinner time. They are happy when they arrive, fully expect to have a... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just spent three nights at this wonderful inn and it was well worth every penny!! I booked one of the new chalets and we were not disappointed the view was amazing and the scenery was spectacular the canoes and kayaks where fun also during the day we enjoyed the pool and at night the sounds of the wind blowing... More 

Helpful?
Thank gerryshelly
Point Edward
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What an absolutely amazing resort. Family owned & operated. All staff are friendly, courteous and care about your stay. Amazing 1st class dinners and breakfasts with an amazing view of Lake Buckhorn. We had a lake view room, highly recommend. You can listen to the loons from your room. It is certainly a quiet resort for adults. After 5 days... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
Ottawa
Level Contributor
167 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just stayed here one night and was blown away by the dinner we had. It was a big surprise. I had the rack of lamb and it melted it my mouth. The resort was very nice...a little old school but a very nice vibe. There was an evening campfire which we enjoyed meeting a few people at. We didn't fish... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jaboda
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this review

Stayed July 2016, travelled with friends Thank you for the lovely review and kind words. I hope you come and visit again! A longer stay than one night is more relaxing. Enjoy use of canoes, kayaks, pedal boat, water bikes, sail boat, golf putting green, nature trails. Beach, pool, hot tub. Quaint villages to explore. Way too much to do... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were able too get a last-minute, mid-week reservation. We chose a river-view room and I was glad we did. It's a little pricey, but that kept it quiet and available at the last minute. Most of the guests were retired folks, and we only saw them at meal time. We had the pool to ourselves; good thing, too since... More 

Helpful?
Thank AvidCanoeist
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review and kind words. Our guests are usually out enjoying fresh air canoeing, kayaking, sailing, row boating,water biking. Getting some exercise on our "road bikes", out for a game of golf or exploring quaint villages & shoppes. Appears you did not run into any of the "younger ones" but we get plenty of them. We... More 

Barrie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at this resort last summer for 5 days because we noticed that the majority of reviews are good. However, our experience was different. When we arrived we had to wait for our room to be "ready" for us and when we went in, the floor in the bathroom was full of hair and the bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank M9223NDMaria
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this review

Totally Absurd. Totally Untrue. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel as compared to other quaint hotels in our lovely cottage country in Ontario is like comparing a Ferrari to a Chevy. It offers room and board, delicious meals (even the gluten free bread is yummy), and a lake, just like other lake front properties, but the attention to detail is clearly a labour of love by the owners... More 

Helpful?
Thank Remi A
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a great weekend at Westwind Inn on Lower Buckhorn Lake... the larger Musky was actually Jodi's fish but she wasn't comfortable holding it, she caught it on a spinnerbait with no leader, fishing for Bass. It gave her a cracking fight on the light tackle. We caught a bunch of Smallies, all in the 1 to 2lb class though...... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rickshaumedia
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this review

Its always a pleasure to have you here! You are an expert at finding huge fish! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

209 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (197)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckhorn
9.9 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
10.8 mi away
Pine Vista Resort
Pine Vista Resort
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
9.0 mi away
Viamede Resort
Viamede Resort
#1 of 1 in North Kawartha
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Footprints Resort
Footprints Resort
#1 of 4 in Bancroft
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beachwood Resort
Beachwood Resort
#1 of 10 in Lakefield
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
23.6 mi away
Elmhirst's Resort
Elmhirst's Resort
#1 of 2 in Keene
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Westwind is a cozy cedar lodge nestled under tall pines on pink granite rock at the waters edge in a spectacular wilderness setting. About 90 minutes from Toronto & easily accessible. Casual, unpretentious, comfortable. Family owned & operated year round providing nature, tranquility & relaxation. The main lodge offers 31 cozy log cabin style bedsitting rooms with sofa, fireplace, balcony, antiques & original art - 6 with heart shaped jet tubs for two. Common living room. Our chalet has 4 larger suites with many extra touches such as pine floors and cedar ceilings 4 poster bed, overstuffed sofa, larger balcony with a view, large jet tub, fireplace, fridge. They are popular for honeymoons & special occasions or the executive here on a retreat or conference. We provide a welcoming atmosphere with complimentary activities for every season, friendly staff, outstanding surroundings & superb lakeside dining. Majority of our clientele are repeat or referral, we hope you will become one also! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Westwind Inn

Address: 37 Gallery on the Lake Road | County Rd 36, Fire Route 21, Buckhorn, Ontario K0L 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Buckhorn
Price Range: $205 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwind Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Westwind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwind Inn On The Lake Hotel Buckhorn
Westwind Hotel Buckhorn
Westwind Resort Buckhorn
Westwind Inn Buckhorn, Ontario, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay