We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Solscape

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Solscape
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 175: English reviews
Oakland, California
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in the earth domes and had the best nights sleep. They have heaters in the domes and good blankets, so you don't need to worry about being cold. We loved sitting out on the main deck overlooking the ocean. We ate a delicious breakfast at the cafe as well and took surf lessons from Solscape. The vibe here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank isipcrew
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just experienced two nights at Solscape where we stayed in the four person Tipi in the forest. The Solscape website fairly describes what to expect so we had no suprises on our arrival. The forest is a magical place to escape to and you feel very disconnected (in a good way) from the main camp area. It’s a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank McElroy161
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed within the camping grounds and pitched a tent. The resort is very eco-minded and rustic, showers were mostly cold and the outdoor cooking facilities were fairly average. The main building was very nice and comfortable and could accommodate large groups. Fantastic views and chill

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlyTravel26
SolscapeNZ, Manager at Solscape, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. When we get several consecutive days of grey weather the solar heated showers in the Camping area struggle to get up to temperature. The solar heated showers in the caboose area facilities would have been hot as that system has electric backup. Unfortunately summer is a bit late to arrive this year.

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and my partner have spent the Christmas and New Year period at solscape in an unpowered van site. On first impressions Solscape seems quirky and relaxing with amazing views from reception. The view was definitely the highlight with a nice deck to sit on. As for the rest of this site, very crowded and over rated. The van and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lmblagg
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 26, 2016

A chilled out 'eco' lodge with decent showers, large kitchen and nice terrace overlooking the beautiful setting. Rooms are in old train carriages, fun experience but pretty crowded in our 6-bed dorm to fit bags etc in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
SolscapeNZ, Manager at Solscape, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed November 23, 2016

The room we stayed in was a train carriage which was great until we came back to our room after dark and it was crawling with bugs - cockroaches and such. It also had no plugs to charge phones/cameras and no heating or aircon. You also had to pay $10 for 24 hours of wifi, bit of a rip off....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trelawnyhand
SolscapeNZ, Manager at Solscape, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your time at Solscape. Some points that you make are fair enough but some are simply inaccurate. Wifi - There is free Wifi in our cafe/reception area with any purchase from the cafe and the Wifi that is available in the rooms is provided by a third...

Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

Huge thumbs up for the management at Solscape. Rated the coldest and wettest weekend of the NZ winter, we had a power cut in our unit. In the Cold, wet and dark, we contacted the night manager Phil. He was there within 10 min and even though the power cut was out of their control, due to the stormy weather,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisaboi
SolscapeNZ, Manager at Solscape, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. That was a wild night indeed! Hope to see you again soon!

Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Reviewed August 3, 2016

Well, it's minimalist, has eco-aims and quirky places to stay in. The downside is that it was damn freezing overnight in the old rail truck with a broken heater, the eco-sewage system reed beds outside the door created the sort of smell I'd rather flush away, and it's a damn long walk to the toilet in the middle of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Viragored
SolscapeNZ, Manager at Solscape, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. Sorry that your heater was out of order. Did you mention that or the smell issue to a staff member as they would have moved you to a warmer spot.

Campbell, California
Reviewed July 3, 2016

This was the 2nd time I stayed here and sadly, probably the last. Great location and a quick drive down to the wave which is the real attraction, but I forgot about the volunteers until I arrived again. There are a lot of volunteer around the place who clean kitchens and scrub toilets for free accommodations. Free labor for the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank coffeeandpeace
SolscapeNZ, Manager at Solscape, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and I'm sorry to hear that you had a negative time with Volunteers. You'll be pleased to know that we have all but stopped hosting volunteers primarily for this reason. While most are lovely and respectful people we would get some that fit the description you lay out in your review. Hope you'll give us another...

Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Quirky. Toilets wasted a lot of water for a "eco" friendly place, and guests did not follow recycling rules. Filled with happy, international 20-somethings. Staff not all that knowledgeable about earthbag buildings on property. Uncomfortable bed in cute rail car.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
SolscapeNZ, Manager at Solscape, responded to this review

Thanks for your review.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raglan
24.8 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 65 in Hamilton
210 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
3.2 mi away
Raglan Sunset Motel
Raglan Sunset Motel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
1.1 mi away
Waoku Lodge
Waoku Lodge
#1 of 11 in Raglan
222 reviews
2.5 mi away
Raglan Palm Beach Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Diverse eco accommodations from beautifully simplistic to luxurious with options to suit all budgets - each lightening our ecological footprint. Our self-contained options offer a comfortable stay with private facilities for couples, families or small groups. For those happy to share facilities take your pick from recycled railway cabooses and earth domes or experience glamping in our Tipi Forest Retreat set in native bush. The Te Ao Whanga Eco Camp provides a limited number of tent and van sites with solar heated showers and an indoor-outdoor kitchen. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Solscape

Address: 611 Wainui Road, Raglan 3297, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Price Range: $39 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Solscape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solscape Hotel Raglan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Solscape staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Solscape staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Lots of hippie types”
 of 5 bubbles FlyTravel26, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“If you are camping just go to a camp ground.”
 of 5 bubbles lmblagg, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Go somewhere else, unless you want a cold ex-railway wagon or bunk house”
 of 5 bubbles Viragored, Aug 3, 2016 | Read review
“Free wifi and other amenities at main area, 5 minutes walk away. Closed over winter.”
 of 5 bubbles RobinEsme, Feb 19, 2016 | Read review
“Go to the tepee forest.”
 of 5 bubbles Simon_B651, Jan 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay