We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Raglan Sunset Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Raglan Sunset Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 105: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first time in Raglan, hadnt booked anywhere, went into Sunset Motel, lady in reception showed us two unite on ground floor....we took the one with king bed and disability shower. Room was very cosy , modern, clean and no problems at all. Bed was quite firm, but we slept well.......only suggestion, could you supply small individual cakes soap for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Youngjude65
perryfamily2015
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

Nothing offensive about this motel, just pretty average and bland. The kind of place you forget as soon as you leave. Has free internet and sky. Showers are amazing (hot and powerful). Tea and coffee in rooms is cheap rubbish, and long life milk (yuck). Was told they don't do breakfast but the guest handbook the room suggests they offer... More 

Helpful?
Thank perryfamily2015
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

I was not to happy to find the room I booked was not that of what I expected we were traveling with me my husband and my farther in law and we find out it is 3 beds all in one room and one of the beds were a double bed so me and my husband took that bed but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tack U
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

This was our first visit to Raglan and it happened to be on a weekend when there was a lot going on in the little seaside town - which we were unaware of when we decided to have a weekend away. Accomodation was in short supply so we were delighted when we arrived and found we had struck the jackpot!... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki B
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016 via mobile

This is a newish motel in the heart of Raglan. Literally just a block from the shops and cafes. The building and grounds are tidy with a lovely courtyard in the centre. Where things fall over are the rooms. We had unit with a small kitchen with a queen and single bed. The queen bed was tired and sagging and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey B
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

Nice motel, good beds, clean, great management. Ground floor units noisy if above are occupied. Cleaner threw out our food and didn't clean the toilet - but dealt with by manager. Would recommend. Raglan good to visit - for 2 days.

Helpful?
Thank jandal42
Clamecy, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016

We arrived at the motel without a booking and were offered the Tahi room. Luckily it had just become off season rates, which made the room a reasonable price. This unit is stand alone and has a lovely private outside area, which for us was sunny and warm. It was clean, roomy and had all the cooking facilities we required.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katie7772015
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2016

The Unit we stayed in was just perfect and was just what you would wish for in a getaway, The unit had a private outdoor area and a modern interior. Service at the motel was really good also. Location is nice for a walk down town or to the beach.

Helpful?
Thank MelissaBou16
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately there was a large group gathered all afternoon & evening in the barbecue area which has all rooms facing it and they sang along with their guitar till late on the Sunday night we stayed, the managers failed to act until we insisted they shut it down otherwise we would have to pack up and go home. The motel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank joannereade1
Andrew W, Owner at Raglan Sunset Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not get a good nights sleep, however some guests enjoyed the singing, we received an unsolicited email from another guest who stayed that night in the same block " Our stay at your motel was great,great room, friendly, best of all was the fantastic music that lulled us to sleep that night, it made the... More 

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2016

Great motel, close to town, very clean, modern, spacious. Free laundry, central patio. The staff were helpful on arrival giving us a map and a rundown of the amenities. Some cooking facilities available which we did not use as only stayed one night, but there is a communal kitchen which we could have used. Free parking on site.

Helpful?
Thank weloveholidays95
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raglan
21.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#6 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
22.5 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#13 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Scott's Place
Scott's Place
#7 of 11 in Raglan
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
4.2 mi away
Waoku Lodge
Waoku Lodge
#1 of 11 in Raglan
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Raglan Sunset Motel

Address: 7 Bankart Street, Raglan 3225, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Price Range: $107 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raglan Sunset Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Raglan Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay