We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castel Porrona Relais & Spa

Save
Share
Via della Fiera, 58044 Porrona, Cinigiano Italy
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Lol.travel
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (187)
Dining (23)
Room & Suite (8)

About

Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.2
Castel Porrona Relais & SPA represents one of the finest examples of a medieval Tuscan village. The “borgo” was built around the year 1100, and from 1361 to 1894 belonged to two of Siena’s largest patrician families, the Tolomei and the Piccolomini. Later, in 1894 it came into the possession of Pietro Emilio Targes de Rochefort, a member of the French aristocracy. The Borgo’s position is within easy reach of some of the most interesting tourist destinations, historical and cultural spots such as Siena, Florence, Montalcino, Saturnia, the Argentario coast, Punta Ala, and the Maremma National Park. Castel Porrona Relais is ideal for a countryside-beach holiday. The Relais comprises 25 units, divided between rooms, suites and apartments; it boasts two restaurants, large reception areas, a club house, several bars and an extensive spa. The facilities of Castel Porrona Relais are housed in various buildings within the Borgo, and are arranged around Piazza Tolomei and its garden, which is the hub of life in the Borgo and at the Relais. Painstaking renovation of the buildings and an interior design project have turned these medieval dwellings into a place of refined hospitality, for a clientele seeking a unique Tuscan experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Poolside bar
Spa
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
142Reviews10Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 121
  • 7
  • 9
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Antonio G wrote a review Aug 2019
44 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Castel Porrona is an amazing location, an ancient monestry re-adapted as distributed hotel and restaurant. The SPA is really impressive and the service in the SPA is excellent. The swimming pool is nice but unfortunately it’s all day in the shadow and as consequence the water was quite cold in my opinion. The service is overall good and the food is fantastic. Unfortunately we had the bad luck to sleep in a broken bad the first night. The day after when we have highlighted this issue they have tried to fix it and said “we tried to fix it please test tonight whether it has been fixed”. It was not and as consequence one more bad night. After the second compliant they moved us into another room (like an apartment). We unfortunately discovered that the shower was not working... We waited a bit before receiving the next and final destination. It seems that even though the employees are amazing the director was not up to the the expected standard. Apart from this it was a very nice stay thanks to the SPA and the great staff!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
VNORVI wrote a review Oct 2018
San Francisco, California272 contributions115 helpful votes
I travel hundreds of thousands of miles a year and this is one of the nicest places I’ve ever stayed. The restored castle is immaculate with all the amenities, but lots of 12th century character. Super nice staff. Gorgeous surroundings. This is a place to get away, not to have a bustling tourist villageS
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Janine M wrote a review Sep 2018
22 contributions9 helpful votes
My husband and I decided to have a couple of nights at this beautiful accomodation- turned out to be a lovely break on our Italy trip. We enjoyed the spa for an afternoon (unfortunately a very cold, windy two days impacted on our outdoor pool time!), wine tour of the Moltacino area and absolutely enjoyed thoroughly our meals at the restaurant there. We had a lunch and two dinners and the food was perfect! The service matched the perfection of the food. We both thought the food at the restaurant was the highlight of our trip so far. The room was spacious with a nice layout. Great view over the grounds in the castle. Loved it all!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
napoleonb916 wrote a review Apr 2018
Lac-Beauport, Canada20 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Castel Porrona is the perfect place to live the Tuscan hospitality. Aldo and his team are always over reaching our expectations. We traveled a lot around the word but this place definitely worth every penny!!!! Dont expect anything than the best!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Katherine M wrote a review Dec 2017
6 contributions22 helpful votes
This hotel was a huge disappointment, and I hope this review can help others avoid making the mistake of staying here. As many others have stated, the air conditioning was a huge problem. The AC units in each room just did not work, and as there are only tiny windows in each room (old castle) it is impossible to get any fresh air/breeze. We also had several other issues - our initial room reeked of smoke. The walls are covered in fabric, which must absorb smells and make this issue worse. When the problem was first brought to the staffs attention the solution was to "air out" the room, which did not work. After an unpleasant night we were moved to a different room which did not smell, but when trying to take a shower we discovered there was no hot water. The room they changed us to was an upgraded room which we didnt really care about - we just wanted a room that didnt smell and had working hot water/AC! They were able to fix the hot water issue within about 5 hours, but it was still a pretty big inconvenience for a '5 star' facility. Dinner was mediocre at best (and overpriced). The only thing I can compliment is the wonderful pastry chef. The breakfast pastries were excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
aldo1926 wrote a review Nov 2017
Rome, Italy14 contributions11 helpful votes
I have been in Castel Porrona with my wife for a lovely weekend, the place is very beautiful, you can feel the history everywhere around you. Rooms are very big and well decorated with modern amenities. We liked a lot the beautiful spa, spending all day between sauna, massages and the internal heated pool. Dining in the restaurant was a great experience, you can choose inside restaurant, more elegant, or the open air patio. You can find easier BIO preparation or gourmet food at the same time. Good wine list and excellent house wine. We look forward to retourn asap
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Great Spa and Food
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Barbara S wrote a review Sep 2017
34 contributions10 helpful votes
The unconventional layout of the hotel - dictated by the adaptation of the original borgo buildings - gave a lack of indoor lounge/communal areas which may not appeal to everyone. But the place is undoubtedly steeped in history and character. Our room was very comfortable but let down by a leaky shower. The attractive restaurant served very good food with excellent and friendly service throughout.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: the larger the better
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from CastelPorrona P, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa
Responded Oct 15, 2017
Dear Barbara S, good morning from Castel Porrona Relais & SPA. Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding the hotel with other travellers. Further to your review we would like to take the opportunity to inform that, as you correctly pointed out, the hotel is the result of an important renovation of a Medieval village from the XII century. The rooms, the apartments and the services are all obtained from the ancient walls of historical buildings and, in spite of this, the interior areas Castel Porrona offers are more than one .. the intime Tolomei Wine Bar, the Il Chiostro indoor dining room and the Club House and elegant and spacious living you probably did not notice but available for guests who wish to read, play billiard, pocker or simply relax. We apologize if we did not catch this lack of service .. Regarding the leaky shower you should have informed us about it .. our mainteinance staff is always available to intervene and fix immidiately most of the malfunctions to guarantee our guests all the comfort of a 5* hotel. In any case Barbara, thank you for your nice words regarding the quality of food and the staff; it is always a pleasure to hear nice comments regarding services we offer. Thank you again Barbara for your review and your visit at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa ! Have a very nice day Tania Guidarini Sales & Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard O wrote a review Sep 2017
Florence, South Carolina53 contributions17 helpful votes
When we checked in the staff was very polite and courteous. We were assigned a room that was black, dark, stuffy with only 1 window that was 30 in by 24 in. The a/c was not working. The manager came to explain there was a problem with the air conditioning and that it was turned off since it was later in September. The room was very uncomfortable. See other write ups about the a/c. We were finally switched to another rooms with cross ventilation which was quite satisfactory. The food was good but not 5 star. The beef carpaccio was average. The pasta was fair. My pork tenderloin was very good but my wife's beef was tough. Good but no were near 5 star
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Look for another place if you want a 5 star experience
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from CastelPorrona P, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa
Responded Oct 10, 2017
Dear Richard O, greetings from Castel Porrona Relais & Spa ! We thank you for your review and for sharing your opinion with other travellers. We apologize once again for the inconvenience you had with the A/C system; we decided to turn it off since we were approaching colder temperature, as our colleague explained. Regarding to your room it is a shame reading you did not like it and considered quite claustrophobic; it is clear your stay at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa did not meet your expectations and we apologize for this consideration; each guest has its own opinion and feeling and we accept each point of view. In case you would like to speak with us about your stay we invite you to send an email to direzione@castelporrona.it and we will be more than glad to discuss about it. Best regards Tania Guidarini Sales & Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
valeriesoccorsi wrote a review Sep 2017
Lyon, France1 contribution
We loved our stay. Everything is perfect. The restaurant is of an excellent standard, the rooms are splendid. The SPA is beautiful .... it feels so good, the staff is both discreet and extremely attentive. We are waiting for one thing, Return to castel Porona
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from CastelPorrona P, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa
Responded Sep 27, 2017
Dear Valeriesoccorsi, greetings from Castel Porrona Relais & Spa ! Thank you for your very nice feedback. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the property, the services we offer and the atmosphere of this quiet Medieval village. We hope to see you again at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa soon ! Best regards Tania Guidarini Sales & Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vacation48 wrote a review Sep 2017
Montreal, Canada6 contributions2 helpful votes
After numerous visits to this beautiful region of Tuscany, we were looking forward to bringing our family along with us on this trip. Prior to, and after Poronna, we stayed at two other wonderful 5 star properties in Florence and Rome (Portrait Firenze & Hassler) which both totally lived up to their billing. Unfortunately, Castel Porrona fell woefully short. To be fair, let me start by saying that the staff were all very pleasant, and seemed to truly try their best. We booked 2 deluxe rooms and 1 suite, for 3 nights at the end of August. After being taken to our uncomfortably warm rooms, we were shown how to adjust the air conditioning controls in order to have them operate most effectively. When we returned from dinner, only to find all 3 rooms even hotter than when we checked in, we called downstairs. Within a few minutes, a staff member scurried up to our 3 rooms, with 2 portable fans. We were only told then, that they had been having issues with their AC, since the beginning of the summer! When we asked for a 3rd fan, for our 3rd room, we were told that they had no others available. The next day they ushered in a couple of portable AC units for 2 of our rooms, (which really, were only marginally effective), while our 3rd room was left to make do with only a portable fan for the balance of the stay. When hotel guests have to continuously shuttle a portable fan between the bedroom and the doorway of the bathroom, in an effort to stay comfortable, something is wrong. At checkout, when I expressed our dissatisfaction and disappointment, I was given a laundry list of excuses. "It's been a very hot summer", "we realize now that our AC system needs to be changed" and "if you come back next summer, things will be much better." Sorry, I don't think so! My biggest issue here is that if you advertise yourself, and are charging rates as that of a 5 star property, wouldn't you think it fair to advise hotel guests in advance, that your AC is not functioning? So unsatisfactory were their excuses, that they only served to reinforce the feeling, of having been totally taken advantage of. Clearly, management places much greater value on the Euro, with total disregard for the comfort of their guests, as well as their own reputation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from CastelPorrona P, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa
Responded Sep 27, 2017
Dear Vacation48, thank you for sharing your opinion regarding your stay at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa on Tripadvisor. We are not going to apologize once again to disappoint you even more. We are well aware that during this season our main issue was the A/C system that caused us huge difficulties in guarantee our guests' comfort and demonstrate our full value. The worste reviews we received came from guests who stayed with us in that hot period during which the system broked down; we tried to keep the rooms fresh offering portable devices and fan but probably this gestures were not enough. As already pointed out, the management is truly planning a replacement of the entire A/C system during winter time in order to avoid these terrible feedbacks from our future guests that lower our brand reputation. We have your email address and we are going to send you a private email to demonstrate we are working hard in developing our services and facilities and, above all, have a proper A/C system as a 5* hotel must have. Thank you again for you feedback Best regards Tania Guidarini Sales & Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$275 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of GrossetoCinigianoPorrona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Castel Porrona Relais & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Castel Porrona Relais & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Castello Banfi - L' Enoteca (4.9 miles), Albus Alpacas (3.8 miles), and Casa Museo (3.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Castel Porrona Relais & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Trattoria in Campagna, Castello Banfi La Taverna, and Caffe Sant'Angelo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Is Castel Porrona Relais & Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.03 miles away from the center of Porrona.
Are any cleaning services offered at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Castel Porrona Relais & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Castel Porrona Relais & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Abbazia di Sant'Antimo (8.2 miles), Palazzo Nerucci (6.7 miles), and Cisterna Medicea (8.0 miles).