We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scenic Hotel Tonga

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Scenic Hotel Tonga
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We used this hotel as a stopover whilst on a trip to Mounu Island, Vava'u. We took up the option of staying in the hotel lobby area on our outbound journey to Vava'u as we were only going to be there for a few hours and it didn't warrant booking a room. For TOP$25 we got a transfer to/from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keith M
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed recently at Scenic Hotel. It is a great place to stay in between International and Domestic flights as its literally 5 minutes from the airport. Accomodation is clean and nice with tv and coffee etc. Staff were lovely and really helpful. The food is really good to. The staff even organised last minute a driver to take us... More 

Helpful?
Thank heeler1976
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Scenic Hotel in Tongatapu has to be the WORST hotel room I've ever spent a night in. My wife and I stayed 1 night on August 14th on our way from Ha'apai to Sydney. - There was only very HOT water available in the shower and sink. Since cold water was not available in room 104, you couldn't take... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndySanDiego
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopover hotel to/from Vava'u, very close to airport but no airport noise. Clean hotel, hearty breakfasts (all day restaurant) available and they even let people camp in their lobby at no cost if only staying for a few hours before their flights (organise this through your handler). Transport to airport available 24/7. Outstanding service from Eveline Manager Front Office -... More 

Helpful?
Thank VickiD1958
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Close to the Airport for those pesky stop overs between flights. Well presented, clean, and comfortable. Good Swimming Pool for relaxing. Huge play areas for kids, putt putt, zip line, play equipment. Driving range for the keen golfers. Restaurant was good, food service was slow after ordering, but quality was good. Wifi available however very limited

Helpful?
Thank AndrewH161
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were friendly and helpful and the decor lovely. But the marble tiles in the hallways echoed and amplified every voice, footstep and closing door. On the other side of our room was the car park, with vehicles arriving and leaving and car doors opening and closing right outside the window. The mattress was hard and I could feel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
Brisbane
Level Contributor
216 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great stop over option in Tongatapu. We stayed in the lobby for a few hours in between flights to Vavau and then again for a night before our flight home. It is a few minutes from the airport so ideal if you are catching an early flight. They also offer free transfers to and from the airport.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Libby D
Manurewa, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016

The hotel rooms were nice and clean but needs an upgrade for the price charged out to customers. My first room had no hot water. This is trivial but for the price I paid, I should have at least had hot water. After a cold shower, I informed reception about the problem which they rectified immediately giving me another room.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tanz P
GraemeH582, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Tonga, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to make comments after your recent stay. We apologise for the hot water situation but am pleased that the staff were able to quickly make alternative arrangements and get you a fully functioning room. As for the TV programmes - unfortunately we have to put up with what the TV company provides - imagine having... More 

Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

Handy location for the airport. The room was very comfortable and the hotel has a good play area for kids with a great zip line and mini putt putt golf. The restaurant has great service and the meals are excellent.

Review collected in partnership with Scenic Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Glenn N
GraemeH582, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Tonga, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that your stay was to your satisfaction. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

After arriving in Tonga late at night we were glad this hotel was so close to the airport, only a few minutes away. The alternative was to drive to Nuku'alofa, around 40 minutes drive time. Hotel is well appointed, the room very clean, and comfortable bed. Staff very pleasant and helpful. We had to catch a domestic flight the next... More 

Helpful?
Thank TaiMarilyn
GraemeH582, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Tonga, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that your stay was to your satisfaction and we could offer accommodation after your late night arrival. Regards Graeme Horsley, General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fua'amotu
9.4 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
9.1 mi away
Little Italy Hotel & Restaurant
8.8 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Loumaile Lodge
Loumaile Lodge
#6 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Black Pearl Suites
The Black Pearl Suites
#5 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
17.4 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Tonga

Address: Airport Rd 1, Fua'amotu, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Fua'amotu
Price Range: $122 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scenic Hotel Tonga 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Scenic Hotel Tonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay