We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Dunes Hotel & Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 264: English reviews
East London, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for three night .the staff where very helpful and polity . would stay there again.food in Hotel out of this would . the dune is a very good location and you can use it as a base from were you can can see the rest of the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 553el
XaveW1234, Manager at The Dunes Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Good day 553el Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us at The Dunes Hotel & Resort. Your comments and feedback are very important to us. We are looking forward having you back in the near future and making your stay even more enjoyable. Please do not hesitate... More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The entire experience was very good and I would definitely recommend the place to someone else. However, the downside for me is definitely the channels on DSTV and also there's no option to connect your own decoder.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank joseph_tobi
XaveW1234, Manager at The Dunes Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Good day joseph_tobi Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us at The Dunes Hotel & Resort. Your comments and feedback are very important to us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused regarding the limited selection of DSTV channels. We hope to have you back in the... More 

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I visit The Dunes in winter time and what a pleasant stay i took my family with on a business trip and the staff assisted us to the best of their ability the breakfast was not that good it was normal and nothing to look forward too.i find it ordinary and over price but the rooms was pleasing and fresh.thanks... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Natasha S
XaveW1234, Manager at The Dunes Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Good day Natasha S Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us at The Dunes Hotel & Resort. Your comments and feedback are very important to us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and that breakfast was not up to your standards. Please do not hesitate to... More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The bedroom floors should have had carpets as the tiled floors were cold, and the shower MUST be cleaned with Domestos to remove the mould from the tiles. The service of all the staff was outstanding. Maybe a spare blanket or an electric blanket would be good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank brendanD7709HS
XaveW1234, Manager at The Dunes Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Good day brendanD7709HS Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us at The Dunes Hotel & Resort. Your comments and feedback are important to us. Please be so kind as to let me know in which room you were staying? Please also accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The scenery is really fantastic and we enjoyed the private beach and walk to the beach. We also found the staff very helpful. Thank you very much for a lovely much needed week.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank L3612XXsb
XaveW1234, Manager at The Dunes Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Good day L3612XXsb Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us at The Dunes Hotel & Resort. Your comments and feedback are very important to us. We hope to have you back in the near future so you can enjoy it even more. Please do not hesitate to... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 4 nights over a long weekend in August with a groupon Voucher. We got a great deal which included dinner and breakfast. The Hotel was quite busy and possibly they were understaffed for the volumes which could explain the slow service or lack there of in the restaurant. The food was excellent and good value with decent size... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucinda T
XaveW1234, Manager at The Dunes Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Good day Lucinda T. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us at The Dunes Hotel & Resort. Your comments and feedback are very important to us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and we are definitely looking into solving these problems. Please do not hesitate to... More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a fantastic time, service and food was great. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. Our only complaint is that we could hear the other people next to us. The walls did not block out the sounds. We could hear everything from furniture moving, to the toilet flushing to the people snoring and even arguing, unfortunately made for... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank christokimh
XaveW1234, Manager at The Dunes Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Good day christokimh Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us at The Dunes Hotel & Resort. Your comments and feedback are very important to us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the noise and inconvenience caused. We hope to have you back in the near future. Please do not... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having a great time. Very quaint very warm, very homely. Loved that it was also central enough to move around throughout the garden route. My only complaint is the cleaning staff could do better... but this has been an awesome experience

Helpful?
Thank Mabahlakoana K
XaveW1234, Manager at The Dunes Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Good day Mabahlakoana K Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us at The Dunes Hotel & Resort. Your comments and feedback are very important to us. Kindly let me know in which room number you were staying. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Please do not... More 

Rustenburg
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We could hear our neighbours next door, when we go to bed/ mostly upstairs. And the door connecting the two chalets wasn't locked and it made us uncomfortable. Otherwise we had an amazing time. We recommend it to our friends and family and we are definitely coming again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sanets2016
XaveW1234, Manager at The Dunes Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Good day sanets2016 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us at The Dunes Hotel & Resort. Your comments and feedback are very important to us. Please be so kind as to let me know in which unit you were staying? Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

On honeymoon here for one night, amazing room, superb food and excellent service! Fashlin at reception you were fantastic!!! Thank you, definately want to return on a anniversary in the future😊 Come and visit The Dunes, you will not regret it.

Helpful?
Thank Ryan V
XaveW1234, Manager at The Dunes Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Good day Ryan V Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us at The Dunes Hotel & Resort. Your feedback and comments are very important to us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you back on many more... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keurboomstrand
4.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
1.8 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#10 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
2.3 mi away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#3 of 63 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
5.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Devoted to the pursuit of elegance and service, The Dunes Hotel is an impeccable blend of luxury and style offering a unique stay for business and leisure travellers alike. We can cater for both the individual and group traveller and we are also very family friendly. We have two sparkling swimming pools, the Beach, a children's playground, a stunning Bar and Restaurant, a fully equipped games room and conference facilities available, a little something to suit any need which you may have. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dunes Hotel & Resort

Address: Keurboomstrand Road, Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > Keurboomstrand
Price Range: $55 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunes Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Dunes Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay