We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The New Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The New Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

352 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 351: English reviews
Start your review of The New Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were warmly greeted and ordered drinks at bar before being shown to table. Very good selection of beers I really enjoyed the blackout. Sunday lunch was excellent as was service see the pics for food!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aidan C
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi Aidan C Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your visit to us. As you have seen we love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to. We hope to see you back again soon.

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

As a family of five we returned here for the third time. We came twice last year and it was absolutely lovely. On this evenings visit we have been left disappointed and frustrated by the food and menu. This is in no way a complaint about the staff who were professional and helpful and on discussing the issues actually happened...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paddy S
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hello Paddy S We read all reviews as we take what our customers have to say seriously. Having considered your comments we cannot agree with what you say or the 1 star review which we view as being unfair - as our previous reviews are testament to. Our pies have always been very well received, as they continue to be....

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I did an overnighter and brewery tour. Brilliant! There are really 2 main things to say here. Firstly the brewery tour was really interesting and, not unimportantly, they brew great beers. Secondly, we had dinner in the restaurant, and I chose a steak and ale pie. Now, if you're a pie lover like me, you'll be a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim C
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jim C Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your visit to us. We take great pride in showing off our new brewery and how we make our beers, of course the best proof is in the tasting! As you have seen we also love our food and beer so we...

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is what a local pub should be. Great beer brewed on the premises (and exported widely) and food which is a notch or two above your standard "good" pub food: fairly limited number of dishes on the menu but all very tasty and quite different. Well priced too. Had a very generous Sunday lunch while on holiday, and felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi Michael W Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your visit to us. As you have seen we love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to. We hope to see you back again soon.

Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Met some family for lunch. It was very quiet & laid out slightly unusually. A small menu to chose from. Food took a while to arrive despite how quiet it was but it was all hot & fresh. Would possibly come back for the brewery aspect but wouldn't go out of my way to dine again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LinsH83
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi LinsH83 Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your visit to us. As you have seen we love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to. We hope to see you back again soon.

Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A return trip to the New Inn where we were treated to excellent bed/ breakfast and dinner, in warm cosy surroundings and friendly, helpful staff.We especially liked Bob helping at breakfast.Where else does the chef offer to cook something special for you because you are stopping for a whole week. The usual tasty local brew on tap. Our border collie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jean M Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you have seen we love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to. We hope to see you back again soon.

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very popular as you can imagine. Many types of beer on offer, I tried the Lodge neon porter & Black out a exceedingly chocolaty beer. The food was great and staff friendly. Very enjoyable visit, well worth finding!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martin h
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi martin h Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your visit to us. As you have seen we love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to. We hope to see you back again soon.

Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice pub. Family room big enough. Comfy bed. Woken by dawn chorus of birds. Only downfall of room was sloping roof in bathroom if you are tall and the gap between top of bath and bottom of shower screen resulting in a wet floor. Ate in the restaurant, menu is limited which is fine but not much I could eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alison322002
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi alison322002 Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your visit to us. As you have seen we love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to. We hope to see you back again soon.

Durham
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We regularly visit Cropton to eat and drink and have stayed bed and breakfast on several occasions. We have never been disappointed and have recommended it to many friends. However on our recent visit the beer was up to its usual excellent standard - hand- pulled Blackout Porter was superb but the meals had changed - my favourite steak and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bridgetandken
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi bridgetandken Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your visit to us. As you have seen we love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to. We hope to see you back again soon.

Immingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a Travel zoo experience bought for us to have a tour of the brewery attached to the pub so decided to make a weekend of it. We received a warm welcome by Lorna who showed us to our room, it was lovely an bright and clean apart from a couple of bits which I mentioned and was soon put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi Mandy P Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in showing off our new brewery and how we make our beers, of course the best proof is in the tasting! As you have seen we also love our food and beer so we...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cropton
10.9 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
478 reviews
4.0 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
648 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,469 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moors Inn
The Moors Inn
#1 of 1 in Appleton le Moors
195 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#16 of 49 in Pickering
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Inn is a traditional, relaxed, family run pub based in the heart of the North Yorkshire Moors. We pride ourselves on offering quality food, drink and accommodation, with an atmosphere you can escape to and thoroughly enjoy. We offer a delicious, varied menu, which is made with mouth-wateringly good, home-cooked food from the best local ingredients. You can be sure of good pub grub whether you fancy a bite to eat at lunch or an evening meal in our bar or restaurant. If you would like to extend your stay and enjoy our relaxing atmosphere for longer we offer both B&B and self-catering accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The New Inn

Address: The New Inn Main Street, Cropton YO18 8HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Cropton
Price Range: $104 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Pickering
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The New Inn staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The New Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“dogs in the cottage”
939jeanm, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“has holiday cottages outside”
lolgal, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“We shared a twin room - it was nice, clean and tidy but problems with mobile”
Best-of-Tel, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Top floor less noise from creaking floor boards”
U2053SKalanm, Feb 12, 2017 | Read review
“Didn't stay. Probably OK though.”
D7385SCjohnn, Jan 12, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question