We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
533 rue du Bois de Candie, 73000 Chambery France
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$456
Priceline$456
Travelocity$355
Hotels.com$355
Orbitz.com$355
Agoda.com$457
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (393)
360
Panoramas (65)
Room & Suite (354)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 05/19/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Chateau de Candie
Updated 05/19/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 22 in Chambery
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.2
Value
3.8
Built in the Middle Ages in Chambéry-le-Vieux, the Château de Candie is one of the most captivating places in Savoie. Perched on a hill, this château is surrounded by a hundred-year-old forest and the six hectare park is the perfect place to relax with trickling fountains, trees bursting with colour, a vineyard and an incredible panorama of Chambéry and the Chartreuse mountains. In addition to its rich history the Château de Candie is also a place of modernity.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool with view
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Massage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Housekeeping
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Sofa
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Sofa bed
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Full view
39Car recommended
Grade: 39 out of 100
23Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
580Reviews4Q+A34Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 282
  • 173
  • 76
  • 31
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Yifta wrote a review Apr 2022
Kfar Saba, Israel192 contributions43 helpful votes
+1
A magical castle with huge rooms, everything was perfect The dinner was excellent, the breakfast was very good. Huge rooms with Nespresso coffee machine, large bathroom. The bed is comfortable. We took the dinner and it was excellent. Breakfast was very good. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: It is recommended to book dinner in advance
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Ingy R wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
we had a staff meeting in november 2021 for 4 days at Chateau de Candie Chambery, here are my comments : 1) rooms were great 2) service and staff excellent 3) staff was speaking english as well which made it much easier for us 4) the food breakfast , lunch , dinner super good .. 5) staff / receptionist were very friendly and helpful 6) seminar room / catering during seminar very good 7) the view / pool /atmosphere at le chateau is just awesome .. 8) sales team : Lea Perrin , was very professional and helpful 9) the location is great 45 min from lyon airport 10) i would recommend it definitely for seminar , vacations or wedding celebration . Regards, E.Roshdi
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Ski France, Marketing at Chateau de Candie
Responded Feb 4, 2022
Dear Roshdi, Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review. We are very glad you found the chateau perfect for your business event, also equipped with a seminar room. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Ginny
Read more
Gretta Scacchi wrote a review Sep 2021
London, United Kingdom102 contributions170 helpful votes
We stayed in the annex - not the best of the chateaux accommodation but it was good. Spacious and excellent bed and very comfortable. It was o we sized so great for a good sleep. The area is lovely except for the traffic noice which is obvious and very audible. Staff very kind and chatty and all around fun to stay in. Breakfast excellent - even for hungry people like us.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ski France, Marketing at Chateau de Candie
Responded Feb 4, 2022
Dear Gretta, Many thanks for taking the time to review us. I am so pleased to hear you found the bedroom very comfortable, with amazing breakfast and great service from the team... The chateau is situated in Chambery, the central hub of the French Alps. It is excellently positioned for a trip onwards or back from skiing, it is true that it can be busy during the winter months and cars can be heard faintly from the roads in the chateau's gardens. However, according to other reviews this isn't too much of an issue. Kind regards, Ginny
Read more
JMN wrote a review Aug 2021
Switzerland400 contributions167 helpful votes
The chateau and its grounds look stunning. The “Luxury Room” were extremely warm with only a fan for some relief. Decor is very old, and the rooms have an old, musty smell. Bathroom plumbing is old. Breakfast is poor. We had the impression that the staff, although helpful, were insufficiently trained or managed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ski France, Marketing at Chateau de Candie
Responded Feb 4, 2022
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review us, although somewhat disappointing, feedback is always very helpful. I'm so glad you found the chateau grounds stunning, and I think most would say that is indisputable. The hotel is a thirteenth century chateau with a lot of history, this is why many guests visit us. I am sorry if you were not happy with the plumbing. We are saddened to read your comments on the staff - the vast majority of the reviews we receive speak very highly of our teams. Sorry you felt differently. Kind regards, Ginny
Read more
Keiron J wrote a review Jul 2021
Bozel, France10 contributions12 helpful votes
We stayed one night and ate in the Orangerie restaurant. Idyllic setting above Chambery, room very luxurious with great extra touches and super quiet. Amazing meal, the taster menu with 7 courses. The sommelier paired our wine with each course and was super knowledgeable. Will be back soon and can’t recommend the hotel enough.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Ski France, Marketing at Chateau de Candie
Responded Feb 4, 2022
Dear Keiron, Your review is a delight to read, many thanks for taking the time to review our chateau. Kind regards, Ginny
Read more
RonIngrid wrote a review Jun 2021
La Colle sur Loup, France53 contributions34 helpful votes
Our 'chambre prestige' in the main (original chateau) building, was spacious, with period furnishings, large comfortable bed and huge well-equipped bathroom . The excellent gastronomic restaurant 'l'Orangerie' and it's talented chef David Loisel really deserve a star. The pool was a delight and we used it every day. Set in its own extensive, wooded grounds, with its own vineyard (producing a fine viognier served in the restaurant) high above and distant from the bustle of Chambéry, yet within easy reach of the town and nearby Aix-les-Bains and the Lac du Bourget, we found it a haven of peace and comfort, ideally placed for exploring Chambéry, Annecy, and surrunding Savoie/Haute Savoie tourist sites, whilst feeling delightfully remote. Highly recommended. Our only criticism was that the breakfast was not at the same level as everything else - not much choice (especially for the international clientele that they clearly like to receive); scrambled eggs cold or luke-warm; coffee machine out-of-action (a pity because it detracted from an otherwise outstanding stay - and could be very easily remedied).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Skiingbear wrote a review Jun 2021
Bozel, France5 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here for 1 night. We couldn’t have wished for anything better. The staff were all very friendly and professional. They clearly take pride in their work. The hotel itself is stunning. We stayed in a family room. It was spotlessly clean and absolutely huge. It had everything you would need. A coffee machine, kettle, selection of teas and coffees, mini bar, safe etc. The pool area and grounds are beautiful. They even have a small vineyard which produces a lovely white wine. We ate in the gastronomic Orangerie restaurant which was superb. We have eaten in many Michelin stared restaurants over the years and our meal was definitely Michelin standard. I wouldn't be surprised if the young chef was awarded a star in the near future. His food was incredible. In short, I highly recommend this hotel. You will not be disappointed. It’s worth every penny.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ski France, Marketing at Chateau de Candie
Responded Feb 4, 2022
What a delightful review to read, thank you so much! We do hope you decide to visit us again in the near future. Kind regards, Ginny
Read more
Blue wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
Highly recommended. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Chateau de Candie. The staff are very welcoming, friendly and accommodating. Our rooms were comfortable with beautiful views, rooms are very clean and well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities and a mini bar fridge. The food in the more casual of the two restaurants is delicious. (We didn’t eat in the more formal restaurant, though it looks fabulous.) The Chateau, grounds and setting are stunning. We used the hotel as a base to visit nearby Chambery, Aix les Bains and Annecy.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Vienna Brown, Guest Services / Front Office at Chateau de Candie
Responded Apr 14, 2020
Dear BlueGeen, Many thanks for sharing your review on Le Chateau de Candie. Your comments on the staff are very kind, I am sure they will be delighted to read them. The majority of the rooms at the hotel have stunning views, and each has its own character. I am so pleased to hear you were very happy with yours. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed dining at Le Cantine. The food is produced with fresh, local produce by our chef's who are fabulous and work to hard. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Chateau de Candie soon. Kind regards, Vienna
Read more
Diptych wrote a review Aug 2019
Hampton, United Kingdom1138 contributions509 helpful votes
+1
A beautiful and venerable chateau/bastide on the outskirts of Chambéry. Unfortunately our stay was brief as we were en route further South. However, whilst here we could appreciate the quality of the operation and the beauty of the chateau itself and of its park-like grounds. The rooms were sumptuous and well equipped in every sense - not least with Elemis toiletries which is a nice touch Faced with the daunting choice of informal dining in La Cantina or the expensive and formal Orangerie we plumped for the former. Food was first rate as was the smiling service. Breakfast especially was amazingly comprehensive.. My experience of the pool was limited to the toe in the water temperature test ( passed with flying colours) but it was plain to see that the pool area was scrupulously clean and well maintained. The serene hotel cat is named Candie!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Vienna Brown, Guest Services / Front Office at Chateau de Candie
Responded Apr 14, 2020
Thank you for sharing your review on our hotel. From the restaurants to the beautiful gardens, the chateau is kept in tiptop condition by the staff and hotel management who do an excellent job. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the hotel's amenities. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards, Vienna
Read more
Mary64 wrote a review Aug 2019
Majorca, Spain150 contributions86 helpful votes
+1
We were so excited to be coming for a week to chateau de Candie and it was an expensive mistake. First it was the room. It was very poor quality with bleached, worn carpets, black scuffed 1990s furniture and a view of a wall with a wall of trees in the supposed lounge area. The wardrobe was a curtain (hanging off) over a wall alcove. In 36 degree heat there was no air con and we couldn’t open the window due to awful food smells wafting in from kitchen pipes. After 3 days we asked to change rooms. I had to go 3 times to reception to ask about progress because they didn’t come to tell me as promised. In the end we opted for one that looked beautiful but once I moved all our luggage myself (no help offered) we realised the jacuzzi, TVs, aircon didn’t work. By that point we were ready to leave but decided to stay on and see the week out. Other room for improvement - breakfast very average. Packet cheese (in France!) and no butter anywhere. Carton organge juice, not fresh. No soya milk. Buffet food not filled up unless you went and asked, which people did every day. Service correct but transactional. Re the restaurants we ate in the fine dining L’ orangerie once and the cantina brasserie once. The fine dining experience was good, if pricey, and the cantina very average. Both restaurants overcharged us on wine, putting a lot more expensive bottle on the bill instead so beware - this can’t be a coincidence on two different nights. Overall it was a week we couldn’t wait to end. Lots of room for improvement.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ServiceClientele, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau de Candie
Responded Sep 11, 2019
Dear Mary, It is sad to hear how much you were looking forward to your stay and that it seems in no way your holiday met your expectations. We did have a particularly hard week when you were here. Sandwiched between two large weddings, our staff were stretched and clearly,​ we did not manage to cover all areas properly. Not an excuse, just an explanation, and we're sorry about that. The room you were moved to did have some scheduled maintenance, but I'm nevertheless surprised that you were so disappointed with it - most of our guests adore that room. We are blessed with a great team at the Chateau and I can assure you that any "transactional" or uncaring service is highly unusual. We are of course, looking to see exactly who you were served by, and when, to see where we need to improve our training. Please do let me assure you that customer satisfaction comes miles before money in our firm. I can guarantee that at no point would anyone have attempted to make you pay more than the correct price for anything. Once again, we are sorry to have caused you such disappointment. Kind regards, Ginny
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$147 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceAuvergne-Rhône-AlpesSavoieChambery
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chateau de Candie
Which popular attractions are close to Chateau de Candie?
Nearby attractions include Break Out (0.7 miles), Centre Commercial Chamnord (0.6 miles), and Église de Saint-Ombre (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chateau de Candie?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Chateau de Candie?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Chateau de Candie?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Chateau de Candie?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chateau de Candie?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Côte et l'Arête, Restaurant L'Orangerie, and Le Bermude.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chateau de Candie?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chateau de Candie?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Chateau de Candie?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Chateau de Candie offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chateau de Candie?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.