We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Mascotte

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Hotel Mascotte
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 31: English reviews
Oakland, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We five stayed here and found it comfortable with a nice restaurant. The rooms are not fancy, but nice for Cuba. There is a bar, also where you can get CNN. (here we watched the election) The plaza has other restaurants and is pleasant to walk in the evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwhitehouse
Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mascotte, responded to this review

Dear Whitehouse: We are glad to know you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and also, your visit to our old city. It’s great that you have shared your experience with the rest of the traveler community so they may know exactly how it feels to receive our services. We would be honored to welcome you back in Remedios....

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No windows, just wooden shutters that did not fit properly. No wire gauze on windows or mosquito nets. Rooms antiquated. Noise from square ensured sleep was not possible. I have stayed in hotels all over the world and this is the worst I have stayed in. Food served very poor, did not eat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 186Steve
Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mascotte, responded to this review

Dear 186Steve: We are very sorry your stay at our hotel has not been in accordance with your expectations. Even though we do not usually receive comments showing such level of dissatisfaction, we will do our best to make our rooms more comfortable. Within the period of the preparation of our traditional ”Parrandas” our central square reaches its liveliest moments...

Sliema, Malta
Reviewed December 7, 2016

We did not stay here over night, but had a lovely lunch with fantastic service! The seafood spaghetti was delicious, the waiters absolutely lovely and very welcoming. To people who stayed here and complained later on that the hotel does not have wifi: Don't travel to Cuba.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yozpalang
Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mascotte, responded to this review

Dear Yozpalang: We are delighted to have received your kind review describing your experience at our facilities. It feels very rewarding to acknowledge, through your words, that our customers have enjoyed our food and service. It would be great to have another opportunity to serve you, not only at our restaurant but also as a guest of our hotel. Looking...

Devizes
Reviewed November 27, 2016

Beautiful small hotel, if somewhat tired. Old style rooms, of which our first one flooded whilst using the shower!! However moved straight away to new room and hardly caused any disruption. The second room overlooked the town square and was somewhat noisy but only really added to the atmosphere. Some internal rooms have no external windows just shutters onto a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug C
Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mascotte, responded to this review

Dear Doug C: Thank you so much for being able to appreciate the interesting features of our hotel eventhough your overall experience has not been exactly perfect. Be certain that we will take your comments into consideration in order to constantly improve our product. At the moment, there is 24 hour access to Internet available through WIFI, for which visitors...

Truro, Massachusetts
Reviewed November 26, 2016 via mobile

We were on a #roadscholar program and this was one of our favorite hotels. Located right in the center of this town our balcony looked over the square and offered a wonderful sunset on the rooftop lounge. Great service and a comfortable room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christie H
Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mascotte, responded to this review

Dear Christie H: We heartily appreciate your kind review on our hotel, most specially, its rooftop terrace where we have recently opened a bar. We hope your experience may inspire some other members of the traveler community to visit this newly-opened facility where they may enjoy a charming view over the central square and the neighboring colonial roof tops. We...

london
Reviewed September 6, 2016

We arrived at this hotel for 1 night it is bang in the middle of a the square, it's a lovely old building there is no lift at this hotel, stairs are very steep but the hotel is full of character our room was on the top floor it was a wake up call the room was very traditional the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bags52
Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mascotte, responded to this review

Dear bags52: Thank you for sharing your experience. We are right now making some importat repairing in our hotel with the hope of having some much more comfortable facilities and consequently, more stiafied guests. It will be a pleasure to be your hosts again in your next visit to Remedios. Best regards, Ana L. Castañeda Public Relations

County Cork, Ireland
Reviewed May 22, 2016

Spent two nights in this hotel. Hotel Mascotte very disappointing. Rooms allocated to our group had no windows. We were unable to access our room as key would not open lock. Two "mechanics" were summoned, they were unable to solve problem, thus we were moved to another room . Here the safe did not function, this transpired to be the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mascotte, responded to this review

Dear Charles W: We heartily appreciate your letting us know about your experience in our premises. We are very sorry not to have been able to meet your expectations. Be certain that our customers opinions are a valuable guide for us to focus our efforts in order to attain a better performance as a hotel. It is a fact that...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 3, 2016

Stopped here Easter Sunday night. Check in was quick at the sister hotel Barcelona. The square was vibrant with people celebrating the holiday. Most Westerners might be underwhelmed with the basic Cuban style rooms which have shutters rather than windows and lack natural daylight. We had room 9 which was very large, had very good air con, a TV and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TriciaBishop
Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mascotte, responded to this review

Dear TrishaBishop: We heartily thank your nice and honest comments about our hotel. We loved the way how you conveyed the essence of our services so potential travelers know exactly what to expect when visiting our old colonial and cultural city and stay in our premises. At the moment, we are planning to make some renovations in our rooms which...

Stockton on Tees
Reviewed March 13, 2016

The faults are basic but this could easily be an acceptable 3 star boutique hotel in a pleasant small town. There are about 10 rooms. We were in number 9 which was built inside the building so had no natural light. There is a long steep flight of stairs -35 in all- to the rooms. Helpers on hand with luggage-...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank theflyingdoctor
Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mascotte, responded to this review

Dear Theflyingdoctor: Much to our regret we confirm, through your review, that your experience at our hotel has not met your expectations. We heartily thank your sincere opinions which will definitely help our management to correct the present faults. At the moment, a thorough repairing of our rooms has been scheduled to be executed within the current year. We hope...

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 8, 2016

Stayed here for 1 night in February. The hotel is an old colonial style building which was probably lovely in its day but is now a rather small, tired hotel, a bit too rustic and certainly not 3*. A big contrast after staying the 4* Iberostar in Havana. We were with a party of 13 on a tour of Cuba...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annathetraveller
Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mascotte, responded to this review

Dear Annathetraveller: We are very sorry to know your stay at our hotel was not a pleasant experience. Be certain that all your comments will be taken into consideration and some actions will be taken in order to avoid future customers may encounter the same difficulties. A considerable renovation of our rooms has already been scheduled. We hope this will...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Remedios
55.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
50.3 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#6 of 11 in Trinidad
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Oyster Pond
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
187.5 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 77 in Havana
3,357 reviews
189.5 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 77 in Havana
3,058 reviews
186.3 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 77 in Havana
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning

Additional Information about Hotel Mascotte

Address: Maximo Gomez 114, Remedios, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Remedios
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mascotte 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Mascotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Mascotte staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 186Steve, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms overlooking town square for the full Cuban experience.”
 of 5 bubbles 996dougc, Nov 27, 2016 | Read review
“ensure that you have a room with a window.”
 of 5 bubbles G2588CQcharlesw, May 22, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the square can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles theflyingdoctor, Mar 13, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room upstairs at the front so you can look out over the square and enjoy the entertainment.”
 of 5 bubbles emrystravel, Jun 15, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay