We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Lol.travel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (97)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (16)

About

#12 of 31 in Remedios
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
3.8
Value
4.0

Finding an ideal quaint small hotel in Remedios does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Hotel Cubanacan Mascotte, a nice option for travelers like you.

Guest rooms offer air conditioning.

In addition, guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their visit.

If you are looking for a good spot to eat nearby, you may want to check out Restaurante La Estancia (0.1 mi), which is within walking distance of Hotel Cubanacan Mascotte.

Should time allow, Iglesia San Juan Bautista de Remedios is a popular attraction that is within walking distance.

Hotel Cubanacan Mascotte puts the best of Remedios at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Property amenities
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
89Reviews2Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 26
  • 32
  • 18
  • 7
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
NoeB1 wrote a review Aug 2019
Antwerp, Belgium1136 contributions367 helpful votes
We had lunch over here. We were the only guests. But the food was well prepared. We just took a small snack so I can't tell anything about the big dishes. I don't know anything about the rooms because I prefer to stay in a casa because they offer more value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Amartz E, Food and Beverage Manager at Hotel Mascotte
Responded Aug 19, 2019
Dear NoeB1: We are glad to know you are sharing your experience after receiving our services even when you were staying at a different place. Our restaurant serves a wide repertoire of dishes for any moment of the day and we are certain you would have also enjoyed trying all of them while having a view over the central square and its majestic church. It would make us more than happy to have another opportunity to serve you during your next vacation around the center of Cuba. Kindest regards, Public Relations.
Read more
JenEP wrote a review May 2017
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom161 contributions85 helpful votes
Spent one night in the small town of Remedios as part of Cuba tour. Certainly not a luxury hotel but full of character. High wooden ceilings in the rooms, very high doors for giants . No lift to first floor but staff will carry luggage up for a tip of 1 CUC per person( about 85p). Breakfast was served at the table- a plate of tropical fruit followed by a basket of bread, pastries and a doughnut. After we'd ploughed through this thinking that was it, we were suddenly asked how we would like our eggs! Could manage any more, but maybe a little menu on the table indicating what can be expected might help!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mascotte
Responded Jun 20, 2017
Dear JenEP: We very much appreciate your posting your opinions regarding our hotel. We are glad to acknowledge it was, overall, positive and we would certainly do something to improve communication with our customers at the restaurant. We hope you give us, some time in the near future, another opportunity to host you at Hotel Mascotte and provide you a more pleasant stay. Kindest regards, Public Relations
Read more
koritsi wrote a review Feb 2017
Europe4319 contributions59 helpful votes
Our group had a warm welcome from a charming lady who spoke good English and told us about the history of the hotel. There is no lift/elevator so the poor man whose job it was to get our suitcases upstairs had to be very strong. I loved my room which overlooked the Plaza but I wished I had one of the back rooms without windows as they got a good night's sleep. Unfortunately, a noisy party kept us all awake until 3.30am so we all came down to breakfast looking like death. The showers were hot and I liked the decor of the room I could not find the control to the air conditioning or the TV but this did not really matter as I was only there overnight. The breakfast was good and the staff very friendly. I don't know how the noise problem can be changed as there are many bars around the Plaza but it's the one opposite the hotel that was the problem. I would stay here again as long as I got a back room away from the noisy street. Remedios is a sweet little town.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Get a back room without windows away from the street.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mascotte
Responded Mar 27, 2017
Dear koritsi: We are sorry you have left our hotel with this bittersweet flavor. We are sorry you have not been able to enjoy some good sleep while under our care and, at the same time, we thank your nice comments portraying the positive aspects of your experience. We are glad to inform you that some important works have just been done in our rooms and one the most important issues covered with them has been making the front five rooms less vulnerable to outside noise. Some other details related to image and general maintenance have also been dealt with. We would really like to have another opportunity to host you in our hotel so you may enjoy these recent improvements. Best regards, Public Relations.
Read more
bjl70 wrote a review Feb 2017
Clitheroe, United Kingdom40 contributions51 helpful votes
We stayed here as part of a small tour group. Being in Cuba means that the 5 star hotels are really our 3 stars - this one would be lucky to get one star! First problem we encountered was no lift so every bag had to be carried up 38 steep steps. No glass in the windows and carousing in the town square until the early hours means sleep is impossible. Our balcony looked out at the back of a fifty foot illuminated display that had been left up since Christmas. Some of our party were in rooms with no windows - perhaps a blessing! Food was very average compared with other hotels we stayed at during our 3 weeks in Cuba. We were told that the other three hotels in town had all been renovated within the last couple of years - this one looked like it was renovated in 1915 not 2015! Definitely the worst experience of our whole trip.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amaury A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Mascotte
Responded Feb 8, 2017
Dear bjl70: We are very sorry your stay at our hotel did not quite meet your expectations. Hotel Mascotte, the oldest of the town, is located right across the square, just a few steps from most interesting places to visit. It is many visitors’ favorite in spite of its being vulnerable to the sound of the outside life. In accordance with this it has already been scheduled an important round of works, mostly in the rooms, in order to improve their appearance and comfort. As agreed with the relevant authorities, the stands from the parrandas are almost completely removed and will no longer remain on the street over time in the occasion of celebrating these traditional festivities. We would really appreciate to have another opportunity to serve you at our hotel and provide you a nicer experience. Best regards, Ana L. Castañeda Public Relations.
Read more
Bedford39 wrote a review Feb 2017
Bedford, United Kingdom118 contributions47 helpful votes
This hotel looked lovely downstairs. The bar, seating area and restaurant were good. The food was fine. But I never imagined our hotel bedroom would have only shutters and no glazed windows, facing onto the street with a bar across the road that played loud music until 3.30am. Colonial quaintness is fine but I bet when the hotel was built, the street was quieter in the middle of the night. We stayed in room 1, which was at the corner of the hotel. I seriously contemplated dragging my mattress off my bed and into the lobby area of our room so I could close the door of the bedroom which faced the street. Other guests were disappointed their room had no window, only some kind of air slot high up. The noise we experienced wasn't as bad for them, so they were grateful for the lack of windows in the end. The local festival decorations were still up in the town which blocked our view from the room. The festival itself looks as though it could be an interesting spectacle but I'd definitely not want to stay in this hotel when it's on. The noise would be unbearable. I've stayed in many hotels of varying quality but this had to be the worst night sleep in a very long time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amaury A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Mascotte
Responded Feb 8, 2017
Dear Bedford39: Much to our regret your experience at our hotel was not as good as expected mainly due to some interfering issues from the outside. We have claimed the relevant authorities’ attention regarding the accessibility and hygiene of our street and fortunately, the artifacts that were blocking it have been almost completely removed. We have already scheduled some repairing works to be accomplished in next few weeks in order to improve the comfort of our rooms. Installing some devices to minimize the impact of the outside common city sounds is one of the main objectives of this new round of works. We heartily hope these inconveniences do not discourage you from visiting our city once again. Looking forward to being your hosts in Remedios, Ana L. Castañeda Public Relations
Read more
blynda9 wrote a review Feb 2017
Ipswich, United Kingdom733 contributions84 helpful votes
The staff are trying their best but this hotel isn't great. We stayed here for one night as part of a Cuba Tour. The stands from the postponed 24th December celebration were still up in the square and we had a great view of the back of one of them from our balcony. The room was dark and the bathroom could be dangerous if you have mobility problems - no handrail and easy to flood as the shower is just in the corner of the room with a shower curtain and no shower tray. Food was ok - we had dinner and breakfast, but toast needs to be 1) toasted and 2) hot, if not warm. And we don't need jam with toast at dinner. Could have been worse - the lady next door to us had no toilet seat in her bathroom. When she told Reception they said "Oh some of the rooms are like that". One last thing - we had a room at the front and the noise from the bar opposite kept us awake until 4 am. You can't close it out as there are just shutters - no windows.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Amaury A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Mascotte
Responded Feb 8, 2017
Dear blynda9 We are so sorry you encountered certain difficulties during your stay at our hotel. Please, accept our humblest apologies. Our hotel happens to be the oldest of the town. It is located within the very center of the town, just a few steps from the main square; the core of social, cultural and commercial life of the city. Throughout the year 2016 we accomplished some major repairing in the upper floor of the building. For the present year we have already scheduled a second stage of repairing to complete all details regarding the room comfort and looks. Making them less vulnerable to outside noise would be one of the aims of this new set of works that will be accomplished in the next few months. The stands for the delayed “Parrandas” have already been removed. We will do our best to avoid their staying there over time after the next festivities. Looking forward to having another opportunity to serve you and provide a more pleasant stay, Ana L. Castañeda Public Relations.
Read more
jwhitehouse wrote a review Dec 2016
Oakland, California785 contributions172 helpful votes
+1
We five stayed here and found it comfortable with a nice restaurant. The rooms are not fancy, but nice for Cuba. There is a bar, also where you can get CNN. (here we watched the election) The plaza has other restaurants and is pleasant to walk in the evening.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mascotte
Responded Jan 3, 2017
Dear Whitehouse: We are glad to know you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and also, your visit to our old city. It’s great that you have shared your experience with the rest of the traveler community so they may know exactly how it feels to receive our services. We would be honored to welcome you back in Remedios. Kindest regards, Ana L. Castañeda Public Relations
Read more
186Steve wrote a review Dec 2016
Epsom, United Kingdom383 contributions146 helpful votes
No windows, just wooden shutters that did not fit properly. No wire gauze on windows or mosquito nets. Rooms antiquated. Noise from square ensured sleep was not possible. I have stayed in hotels all over the world and this is the worst I have stayed in. Food served very poor, did not eat.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mascotte
Responded Jan 3, 2017
Dear 186Steve: We are very sorry your stay at our hotel has not been in accordance with your expectations. Even though we do not usually receive comments showing such level of dissatisfaction, we will do our best to make our rooms more comfortable. Within the period of the preparation of our traditional ”Parrandas” our central square reaches its liveliest moments in the whole year. Noise becomes, indeed, very difficult to avoid inside any of the buildings near the churches and the main square. We hope you next visit to town is more pleasant to you. Best regards, Ana L. Castañeda Public Relations
Read more
Yozpalang wrote a review Dec 2016
Sliema, Malta145 contributions36 helpful votes
We did not stay here over night, but had a lovely lunch with fantastic service! The seafood spaghetti was delicious, the waiters absolutely lovely and very welcoming. To people who stayed here and complained later on that the hotel does not have wifi: Don't travel to Cuba.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mascotte
Responded Dec 15, 2016
Dear Yozpalang: We are delighted to have received your kind review describing your experience at our facilities. It feels very rewarding to acknowledge, through your words, that our customers have enjoyed our food and service. It would be great to have another opportunity to serve you, not only at our restaurant but also as a guest of our hotel. Looking forward to meeting you again at Hotel Mascotte, Ana L. Castañeda Public Relation
Read more
Doug C wrote a review Nov 2016
Devizes312 contributions61 helpful votes
Beautiful small hotel, if somewhat tired. Old style rooms, of which our first one flooded whilst using the shower!! However moved straight away to new room and hardly caused any disruption. The second room overlooked the town square and was somewhat noisy but only really added to the atmosphere. Some internal rooms have no external windows just shutters onto a corridor. Food was plentiful and well cooked, all waiter service which was efficient and cheerful. Don't expect internet, but who wants it in a location like this.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Rooms overlooking town square for the full Cuban experience.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mascotte
Responded Dec 15, 2016
Dear Doug C: Thank you so much for being able to appreciate the interesting features of our hotel eventhough your overall experience has not been exactly perfect. Be certain that we will take your comments into consideration in order to constantly improve our product. At the moment, there is 24 hour access to Internet available through WIFI, for which visitors would need to use a temporary user card. Looking forward to being your hosts again in the near future, Ana L. Castañeda Public Relations
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$76 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaVilla Clara ProvinceRemedios
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Mascotte
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Mascotte?
Nearby attractions include Iglesia San Juan Bautista de Remedios (0.06 miles), Museo de Agroindustria Azucarera (3.5 miles), and Golazo Sport Bar-Night Club (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Mascotte?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Mascotte?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Mascotte?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante La Estancia, El Louvre, and La Piramide.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Mascotte?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Iglesia San Juan Bautista de Remedios (0.06 miles).