We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel Alert: U.S. Travel Licensing Restrictions Apply for Travel to Cuba. For details, click here

Hotel Mascotte

Save
Share
Maximo Gomez 114, Remedios 52700 Cuba
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Lol.travel
Hurb
CheapTickets
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (97)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (16)

About

#13 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Remedios
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal quaint small hotel in Remedios does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Hotel Cubanacan Mascotte, a nice option for travelers like you.

Guest rooms offer air conditioning.

In addition, guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their visit.

If you are looking for a good spot to eat nearby, you may want to check out Restaurante La Estancia (0.1 mi), which is within walking distance of Hotel Cubanacan Mascotte.

Should time allow, Iglesia San Juan Bautista de Remedios is a popular attraction that is within walking distance.

Hotel Cubanacan Mascotte puts the best of Remedios at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Property amenities
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
89Reviews2Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 26
  • 32
  • 18
  • 7
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
NoeB1 wrote a review Aug 2019
Antwerp, Belgium1113 contributions340 helpful votes
We had lunch over here. We were the only guests. But the food was well prepared. We just took a small snack so I can't tell anything about the big dishes. I don't know anything about the rooms because I prefer to stay in a casa because they offer more value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Amartz E, Food and Beverage Manager at Hotel Mascotte
Responded Aug 19, 2019
Dear NoeB1: We are glad to know you are sharing your experience after receiving our services even when you were staying at a different place. Our restaurant serves a wide repertoire of dishes for any moment of the day and we are certain you would have also enjoyed trying all of them while having a view over the central square and its majestic church. It would make us more than happy to have another opportunity to serve you during your next vacation around the center of Cuba. Kindest regards, Public Relations.
Read more
JenEP wrote a review May 2017
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom161 contributions85 helpful votes
Spent one night in the small town of Remedios as part of Cuba tour. Certainly not a luxury hotel but full of character. High wooden ceilings in the rooms, very high doors for giants . No lift to first floor but staff will carry luggage up for a tip of 1 CUC per person( about 85p). Breakfast was served at the table- a plate of tropical fruit followed by a basket of bread, pastries and a doughnut. After we'd ploughed through this thinking that was it, we were suddenly asked how we would like our eggs! Could manage any more, but maybe a little menu on the table indicating what can be expected might help!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mascotte
Responded Jun 20, 2017
Dear JenEP: We very much appreciate your posting your opinions regarding our hotel. We are glad to acknowledge it was, overall, positive and we would certainly do something to improve communication with our customers at the restaurant. We hope you give us, some time in the near future, another opportunity to host you at Hotel Mascotte and provide you a more pleasant stay. Kindest regards, Public Relations
Read more
koritsi wrote a review Feb 2017
Europe3836 contributions59 helpful votes
Our group had a warm welcome from a charming lady who spoke good English and told us about the history of the hotel. There is no lift/elevator so the poor man whose job it was to get our suitcases upstairs had to be very strong. I loved my room which overlooked the Plaza but I wished I had one of the back rooms without windows as they got a good night's sleep. Unfortunately, a noisy party kept us all awake until 3.30am so we all came down to breakfast looking like death. The showers were hot and I liked the decor of the room I could not find the control to the air conditioning or the TV but this did not really matter as I was only there overnight. The breakfast was good and the staff very friendly. I don't know how the noise problem can be changed as there are many bars around the Plaza but it's the one opposite the hotel that was the problem. I would stay here again as long as I got a back room away from the noisy street. Remedios is a sweet little town.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Get a back room without windows away from the street.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mascotte
Responded Mar 27, 2017
Dear koritsi: We are sorry you have left our hotel with this bittersweet flavor. We are sorry you have not been able to enjoy some good sleep while under our care and, at the same time, we thank your nice comments portraying the positive aspects of your experience. We are glad to inform you that some important works have just been done in our rooms and one the most important issues covered with them has been making the front five rooms less vulnerable to outside noise. Some other details related to image and general maintenance have also been dealt with. We would really like to have another opportunity to host you in our hotel so you may enjoy these recent improvements. Best regards, Public Relations.
Read more
bjl70 wrote a review Feb 2017
Clitheroe, United Kingdom39 contributions30 helpful votes
We stayed here as part of a small tour group. Being in Cuba means that the 5 star hotels are really our 3 stars - this one would be lucky to get one star! First problem we encountered was no lift so every bag had to be carried up 38 steep steps. No glass in the windows and carousing in the town square until the early hours means sleep is impossible. Our balcony looked out at the back of a fifty foot illuminated display that had been left up since Christmas. Some of our party were in rooms with no windows - perhaps a blessing! Food was very average compared with other hotels we stayed at during our 3 weeks in Cuba. We were told that the other three hotels in town had all been renovated within the last couple of years - this one looked like it was renovated in 1915 not 2015! Definitely the worst experience of our whole trip.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Amaury A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Mascotte
Responded Feb 8, 2017
Dear bjl70: We are very sorry your stay at our hotel did not quite meet your expectations. Hotel Mascotte, the oldest of the town, is located right across the square, just a few steps from most interesting places to visit. It is many visitors’ favorite in spite of its being vulnerable to the sound of the outside life. In accordance with this it has already been scheduled an important round of works, mostly in the rooms, in order to improve their appearance and comfort. As agreed with the relevant authorities, the stands from the parrandas are almost completely removed and will no longer remain on the street over time in the occasion of celebrating these traditional festivities. We would really appreciate to have another opportunity to serve you at our hotel and provide you a nicer experience. Best regards, Ana L. Castañeda Public Relations.
Read more
Bedford39 wrote a review Feb 2017
Bedford, United Kingdom117 contributions47 helpful votes
This hotel looked lovely downstairs. The bar, seating area and restaurant were good. The food was fine. But I never imagined our hotel bedroom would have only shutters and no glazed windows, facing onto the street with a bar across the road that played loud music until 3.30am. Colonial quaintness is fine but I bet when the hotel was built, the street was quieter in the middle of the night. We stayed in room 1, which was at the corner of the hotel. I seriously contemplated dragging my mattress off my bed and into the lobby area of our room so I could close the door of the bedroom which faced the street. Other guests were disappointed their room had no window, only some kind of air slot high up. The noise we experienced wasn't as bad for them, so they were grateful for the lack of windows in the end. The local festival decorations were still up in the town which blocked our view from the room. The festival itself looks as though it could be an interesting spectacle but I'd definitely not want to stay in this hotel when it's on. The noise would be unbearable. I've stayed in many hotels of varying quality but this had to be the worst night sleep in a very long time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amaury A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Mascotte
Responded Feb 8, 2017
Dear Bedford39: Much to our regret your experience at our hotel was not as good as expected mainly due to some interfering issues from the outside. We have claimed the relevant authorities’ attention regarding the accessibility and hygiene of our street and fortunately, the artifacts that were blocking it have been almost completely removed. We have already scheduled some repairing works to be accomplished in next few weeks in order to improve the comfort of our rooms. Installing some devices to minimize the impact of the outside common city sounds is one of the main objectives of this new round of works. We heartily hope these inconveniences do not discourage you from visiting our city once again. Looking forward to being your hosts in Remedios, Ana L. Castañeda Public Relations
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$67 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaVilla Clara ProvinceRemedios
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Mascotte
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Mascotte?
Nearby attractions include Iglesia San Juan Bautista de Remedios (0.06 miles), Museo de Agroindustria Azucarera (3.5 miles), and Golazo Sport Bar-Night Club (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Mascotte?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Mascotte?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Mascotte?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante La Estancia, La Piramide, and Portales a la Plaza.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Mascotte?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Iglesia San Juan Bautista de Remedios (0.06 miles).