We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Headland Tropicana Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Headland Tropicana Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Headland Tropicana Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 74: English reviews
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

A quick 2 day stop over before Christmas, we were surprised how clean and tidy and well kept the units and facilities are. We had a top floor ocean view room, no air conditioning but not needed due to wonderful ocean breezes and also ceiling fans in all rooms. Defiantly will be staying there again for much longer!

Helpful?
Thank AndyEasts
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

We stayed with my 2 grandchildren for 2 weeks in October. Our 2 bed apartment was spacious and clean with a more than adequate kitchen area and 2 bathrooms. The facilities were good for a small resort with both indoor and outdoor pools, 2 BBQs, a games room and half size tennis court. All were in very useable condition and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 19Emslie44
Gin Gin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

We have stayed here each summer for four years. Our three children (now teenagers) still love the holiday. The rooms are spacious, contain all the necessary comforts and this place has a real community atmosphere. We have met other families who come at the same time each year and it is wonderful to meet up again. Doug and Mandy are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz W
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015 via mobile

We just spent 4 of the most relaxing days at this little family oasis. Friendly staff & a spacious BBQ/pool area made this the perfect place for our family get together. Our 2 bedroom unit had great ocean views & the games room kept us all entertained during the rain. We simply loved it!

Helpful?
Thank Adam C
Cleveland, Brisbane
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015 via mobile

We recently stayed here for a netball carnival and there were about 40 of us. As the building is U shaped all rooms had a view of the pool and BBQ area from the balcony. It was great to watch the kids from. The rooms themselves were probably 3 and a half star but the location was unbeatable. Only ocean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

We were desperately in need of some serious R & R and we found it here. So relaxed and friendly. Mandy is just wonderful, she really made our stay perfect! We stayed in Room 35 on third floor - absolutely gorgeous, everything you could imagine needing was in the apartment. Not to many young children around and quite often my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paula D
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

My family and I stayed here in February 2014. But I wanted to come back and review it because we loved it! We stayed as a family of 5 adults and two young children. (1 and 3 years old) - Just incase travelers are wondering about ages this resort is suitable for, my partner and I are in our early... More 

Helpful?
Thank KaitlinMay
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

Just back a week from this fantastic, relaxing holiday. We have stayed at Headland Tropicana annually for the last 8 or 9 years and obviously have never been disappointed. The apartments are all a little different and we do have our favourite, but the ones I've seen are all well equipped, clean and easy to live in. We make good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee C
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

I understand that it is only a 3.5* resort but as i arrived there on the 1st day i was unimpressed with the resort. The photos on the internet do not resemble how and what this place is. Overall my room was rundown and filthy, The bed was one of the worst beds we have en-counted, the portacot we requested... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Skoti
dandmOz, Manager at Headland Tropicana Resort, responded to this review

Aren’t you a tough customer Skoti. We thought the free night (normally $235) and a full refund of your $200 deposit had resolved the issue. Not long after checking in you requested a more renovated apartment like your mother in laws next door (see Susans review below) which you preferred because in your opinion it was more modern and had... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

Resort is in ideal location with great views and short stroll to Mooloolaba. On first impression facilities are great and the apartment clean and of reasonable standard for 3.5 star. Unfortunately, after dropping an item on the floor, my first impressions changed. Under the couch was filthy which made me shudder as didn't want to retrieve the item so left... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SunseekerBoy
dandmOz, Manager at Headland Tropicana Resort, responded to this review

Hi Susan, we completely agree – ‘it is just laziness’, and we offer no excuses as to why our cleaners have not made the effort even though they are hard to get at spots. It’s just a shame you felt you had to advise us via Trip Advisor rather than during your stay, particularly as you a repeat guest of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
0.6 mi away
Alex Seaside Resort
Alex Seaside Resort
#4 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alexandra on the Pacific
Alexandra on the Pacific
#5 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
#3 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#1 of 14 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Headland Tropicana Resort

Address: Tropicana 274 Alexandra Pde, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Price Range: $90 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Headland Tropicana Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Headland Tropicana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Tropicana Resort Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay