We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Rua Sao Jose Faro, Estoi 8005-465 Portugal
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$219
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/02/22
Expedia.com
$220
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/03/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
$163
View deal
Pestana$219
Priceline$219
Travelocity$220
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1213)
Room & Suite (182)
Dining (116)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 01/03/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Pousada Palacio Estoi
Updated 01/03/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 2 in Estoi
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.1
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
The only “palace hotel” in the Algarve, and part of the select club of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is now revealed in all its splendour, providing a unique experience in the south of the Portugal. Characterised by the rich and decorative architecture resulting from the restoration of a 19th century palace, while preserving its original features, the Pousada Palácio de Estoi has 63 rooms, French-style gardens, an outdoor swimming pool with a view of the sea and the mountains, as well as all the amenities of the 21st century. The Reception area is located in the old Chapel, which, with its Luís XV style, is dedicated to the Sagrada Família. In collaboration with the Faro Municipal Museum, the old reception area will now host a new space for exhibitions forming part of a museum collection dedicated to the history of the region and its various : Roman, Islamic and classic influences. The mix of Neoclassical, Neorococó and Art Nouveau styles continues to be visible in every corner of this Pousada, including its salons, which now feature more classic furniture, a new colour palette that harmonises with the frescoes and two distinct languages in the two restaurant areas, serving lunch and dinner in a variety of themes, in addition to a new outdoor deck.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Car hire
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Diving
Water park offsite
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Massage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Portuguese
1336Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 630
  • 454
  • 156
  • 63
  • 33
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
revitalise wrote a review May 14
London, United Kingdom174 contributions143 helpful votes
This lovely pousada occupies a superb site on the edge of the village of Estoi, with Faro and the sea in the distant foreground. Accommodation is in a low modern wing which doesn’t detract from the impressive former palace. Our room was large and neutrally furnished, with a generous bathroom and small terrace overlooking the garden. Beds were comfortable and it was blissfully quiet. The hotel has a large pool area with views over the formal gardens towards the sea. The pool is generous in size and there is also a small indoor pool and gym . Breakfasts were excellent and for once hotel coffee (self service from good machines) was really enjoyable. In fine weather breakfast can be taken on the terrace. We had dinner on one evening and were very satisfied although the addition of a few daily specials would be welcome for guests staying longer. We enjoyed the palatial lounges which have been expertly restored. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would gladly stay at this pousada again if revisiting the area.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Nuno Pires, General Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mrs. revitalise, On behalf of our entire team at Pousada Palácio de Estoi, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pousada Palácio de Estoi. Best regards, The Team at Pousada Palácio de Estoi
Read more
Sandydog37 wrote a review May 9
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
We went to visit the garden areas open to the public. After being charged 2 euros each, which we happily paid, we were told that one room was shut due to a fashion shoot on site. That was fine as we were only really interested in the gardens. When we tried to access the gardens we were turned back and told that the gates are usually locked and were only open for the fashion shoot. We have been many times before and this was never the case even though access was always free before. The whole area was strewn with props anyway, and various outside rooms being used to change in. The stairs down to the gardens were blocked both sides where the poor models were being photographed in strange drag queen type outfits. We were also told we couldn't even buy a coffee even though we are members of the Pestana group loyalty scheme. We left as quickly as we could but were refused a refund.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Nuno Pires, General Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr.. Sandydog37, We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy your expectations. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused however the gardens that you are mentioning are not managed by the Pousada (it´s a public garden) so that´s the reason the for the gate being closed assuring the safety procedures of the property. We appreciate that you chose Pousada Palácio de Estoi for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit. Kind regards, Team Pousada Palácio de Estoi
Read more
Claire S wrote a review Apr 2022
41 contributions46 helpful votes
We had an amazing stay. Staff are courteous, very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are impressive and the Palace is beautiful. Elements of faded decadence in the gardens but this is entirely understandable as they cover a huge area. The pool area is a perfect sun trap with stunning views, and we were lucky to visit during low season so the small spa area with sauna, steam and indoor heated pool was not too busy. Watching the sunset from the terrace was a highlight, followed by a delicious meal. And breakfast was a delight too, plenty of choice and an outdoor area to enjoy the morning sunshine. We shall definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Nuno Pires, General Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. claire52smith, On behalf of our entire team at Pousada Palácio de Estoi, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pousada Palácio de Estoi. Best regards, The Team at Pousada Palácio de Estoi
Read more
Alyson H wrote a review Apr 2022
Brisbane, Australia40 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
This accommodation is wonderful, the staff were great, however they were maybe a little under staffed in the restaurant. The lunch we had in the restaurant was exceptional. Rooms are modern, very clean and comfortable. Parking is available at the property. The grounds are lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Nuno Pires, General Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. Alyson H, On behalf of our entire team at Pousada Palácio de Estoi, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pousada Palácio de Estoi. Best regards, The Team at Pousada Palácio de Estoi
Read more
VillageLady234 wrote a review Apr 2022
Berkshire, United Kingdom204 contributions55 helpful votes
This is a really lovely Pousada, the rooms are excellent - clean and comfortable very large beds, if a little on the firm side. We were on the lower floor so no view but the views from the public areas and terraces are stunning. On arrival the service from front desk was excellent and our cases were taken to our room. We both had a massage and they were really excellent, the Spa and pool area very modern and clean as a whistle. We had dinner and breakfast both were very good. The breakfast buffet wonderful but we found one member of staff slightly grumpy. Unfortunately the service at dinner lacked skill, more training is required. Overall though these glitches did not affect our stay it really is a lovely hotel and the building is stunning it is also excellent value.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The rooms on the lower room have no view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nuno Pires, General Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi
Responded Apr 5, 2022
Dear Mrs. VillageLady234 On behalf of our entire team at Pousada Palácio de Estoi, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continuously improve in anticipating our Guests' needs, preferences, and expectations. We were glad to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay at Pousada Palácio de Estoi. At the same time, we would like to apologize for not fully meeting your expectations in some instances. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused. We have shared your comments with our teams to ensure that improvements will be made. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcoming you again at Pousada Palácio de Estoi and regain your trust during your next visit. Warm regards, The Team at Pousada Palácio de Estoi
Read more
Marlayna67 wrote a review Apr 2022
Santa Fe, New Mexico183 contributions111 helpful votes
+1
Had a great time at this cute place. We enjoyed drinks in the salon. What a great place for a quiet night’s sleep on super fabulous bedding! We enjoyed the delicious and diverse spread for breakfast. So many different foods to choose from! Recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Nuno Pires, General Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi
Responded Apr 5, 2022
Dear Mrs. Marlayna67, On behalf of our entire team at Pousada Palácio de Estoi, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pousada Palácio de Estoi. Best regards, The Team at Pousada Palácio de Estoi
Read more
Sylvia L wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions
Fabulous and charming hotel with exquisite accommodations. We loved our stay and enjoyed the tranquility and beautiful views. Great breakfast buffet with a selection of hot dishes every day and superb dinner. Thank you Eusebio and Victoria for your extraordinaire service! We will be back for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Great free indoor parking!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nuno Pires, General Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi
Responded Apr 14, 2022
Dear Mrs. Sylvia L, On behalf of our entire team at Pousada Palácio de Estoi, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pousada Palácio de Estoi. Best regards, The Team at Pousada Palácio de Estoi
Read more
casamoir wrote a review Mar 2022
San Francisco, California173 contributions134 helpful votes
Good. Rooms are large, clean, and well-appointed. The hotel itself is beautiful. Large pool and beautiful gardens. The location and views are stunning. Bad Understaffed. I ordered room service and they didn't offer soup or items on the menu because the kitchen didn't open until 7:30. The ham and cheese toast came cold. I sent it back and it took over 2 hours to get a soup and sandwich. Breakfast is a basic buffet. No good expresso. No offer for cooked eggs or service. Basically they are running on limited staff and it seems the accountants are running the show. This was a one night staycation for me. I wanted the whole experience and got 1/2 the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor have a little open deck to the outside
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nuno Pires, General Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. casamoir, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on your stay at Pousada Palácio de Estoi. We highly appreciate the feedback provided by our Guests as it helps us improve our daily performance and perfect our service and overall quality. We are sincerely sorry that you were disappointed with your dining experience. We have shared your comments with our Food and Beverage Manager, and we are taking the necessary measures to improve our offer. Once again, we thank you for staying at Pousada Palácio de Estoi, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Pousada Palácio de Estoi
Read more
916dirkd wrote a review Mar 2022
Genk, Belgium321 contributions76 helpful votes
Positief zijn de rustige ligging op een tiental kilometer van Faro, het mooie hoofdgebouw, de gratis parkeergarage voor de gasten, de kwaliteit van de WiFi en het rijkelijk ontbijtbuffet. De bedden zijn erg breed. Het zwembad en het bijhorende zonneterras ogen luxueus en bieden een mooi uitzicht op Faro. De hygiëne en de netheid zijn werkpunten: de vloer van de kamer is niet gereinigd bij check in, de dag nadien zijn de bedden niet opgemaakt en werden de handdoeken niet ververst. Wie een uitzicht wil mag geen standaardkamer boeken! Een auto is een absolute noodzaak, op wandelafstand valt NIETS te beleven. In de buurt is geen restaurant of café, geen centrum, geen bezienswaardigheid, met uitzondering van het hoofdgebouw en het bijhorende park van de Pousada zelf. Drie à vier sterren waard. Positive are the quiet location about ten kilometers from Faro, the beautiful main building, the free parking garage for guests, the quality of the WiFi and the rich breakfast buffet. The beds are very wide. The swimming pool and accompanying sun terrace look luxurious and offer a beautiful view of Faro. Hygiene and cleanliness are issues: the floor of the room was not cleaned upon check in, the beds were not made the next day and the towels were not changed. If you want a view, don't book a standard room! A car is an absolute necessity, there is NOTHING to do within walking distance. There is no restaurant or cafe in the area, no center, no point of interest, with the exception of the main building and the accompanying park of the Pousada itself. Worth three or four stars.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Nuno Pires, General Manager at Pousada Palacio Estoi
Responded Apr 14, 2022
Dear Mr.916dirkd, On behalf of our entire team at Pousada Palácio de Estoi, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continuously improve in anticipating our Guests' needs, preferences, and expectations. We were glad to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay at Pousada Palácio de Estoi. At the same time, we would like to apologize for not fully meeting your expectations in some instances. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused. We have shared your comments with our teams to ensure that improvements will be made. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcoming you again at Pousada Palácio de Estoi and regain your trust during your next visit. Warm regards, The Team at Pousada Palácio de Estoi
Read more
Lora M wrote a review Mar 2022
Amsterdam, The Netherlands43 contributions24 helpful votes
Stepping into the reception area, I was immediately in awe of of the beauty. I feel like the website doesn't show as much as there actually is. The receptionists were very nice. One of them, who's name I unfortunately didn't catch, took the time to give me a brief tour and tell me some history. I arrived very early, but they were able to prepare my room earlier. In the meantime, I enjoyed a great breakfast! All of the receptionists and people in the restaurant and bar were very nice and welcoming. I thought the food service was really good and normal. I also loved Ines's massage. Can't fault the service at all. I would say the rooms part of the hotel looked a little on the tired side, but it was very clean. It's very close to the airport and easy enough to get Ubers into town. All in all, though, it was really great value for money, and I'd recommend for anyone to stay there as a beautiful retreat in the Algarve in the Spring.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from paulo silva, Owner at Pousada Palacio Estoi
Responded Mar 15, 2022
Dear Mrs. Lora M, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Pousada Palácio de Estoi. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and our team's dedicated, attentive, and professional service. Your comments make us proud and serve as an incentive for continuously improving our service and striving for excellence. It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you as our Guest. We would like to thank you for staying at Pousada Palácio de Estoi, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards, The Team at Pousada Palácio de Estoi
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$139 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Pousada de Faro - Estoi Palace Hotel
LOCATION
PortugalAlgarveFaro DistrictEstoi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
63
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pousada Palacio Estoi
Which popular attractions are close to Pousada Palacio Estoi?
Nearby attractions include Canastra (0.07 miles), Palácio de Estoi (0.03 miles), and Nucleo Museologico da Villa Romana de Milreu (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pousada Palacio Estoi?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Pousada Palacio Estoi?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Pousada Palacio Estoi?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Pousada Palacio Estoi?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pousada Palacio Estoi?
Conveniently located restaurants include Velha Casa, Palacio de Estoi Hotel, and Snack Bar Com Tradicoes.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pousada Palacio Estoi?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Pousada Palacio Estoi located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Estoi.
Are any cleaning services offered at Pousada Palacio Estoi?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Pousada Palacio Estoi offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pousada Palacio Estoi?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Portuguese.