We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort

Traveler (212)
Room & Suite (62)
Video (2)

About

#26 of 40 hotels in Zanzibar Island
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The hotel has a total of 32 elegantly designed rooms accommodating its guests in well decorated spacious rooms and lounges with ocean view and city view. It is 11 km away from the airport, approximately 20 minutes. The Dhow Restaurant – serving all types of varieties from different cuisines located on the 5th floor of the building.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Room service
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
143Reviews
16Q+A
31Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 57
  • 48
  • 19
  • 8
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Firstly the location is very poor, there is a noisy road and mosque next door. Next the staff and genuinely unpleasant people, the waiters are rude and the manager clearly does not care when you come to her with a complain. Also while I was using the very small gym, two
Read more
Response from Bony V, Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback! First and foremost I would like to apologize for any inconvenience may have caused you during your stay, Our staff are highly trained and qualified, I am discouraged to hear of your negative experience, above all else providing excellent customer service is our main goal. As per your statement that our manager (She) did not care on your complain, I would like to know who was she? We do have a manager on duty on daily basis to whom you could have addressed to, yet he did not receive any kind of such complain This does not come anywhere near our standard of services, we will definitely have a mentoring session with our host and share your feedback with them
Read more
Lovely hotel, friendly staff and venue. It was clean and comfortable. Food very tasty from room service. Short distance from stone town centre but easy and cheap to get a taxi. Pool had sun from 11am, great views! Would recommend for a short stop over!
Read more
Response from Bony V, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded Apr 5, 2019
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for the great review, We are so happy your visit at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort went so smoothly. come back and see us soon. cheers! Regards GTZR
Read more
Our Stay in Zanzibar was great, real enjoyed and we had good memories, People are welcoming so everything was good except Bathroom space is bit small at the city view. Otherwise, Customer service was GOOD!!! and i will recommend this to my Friends / Family.
Read more
Response from Bony V, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded Mar 20, 2019
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the great review and perfect rating! We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us We work really hard to meet expectations of our guests We look forward to welcome you again in the future Regards GTZR
Read more
Would give this minus review if I could. As a frequent flier I have never given any reviews until now. People need to know about these guys. We booked for 7 nights however we had to fly back to UK After 1night as my partners dad past away. Firstly we spoke to management (Mr
Read more
Response from Bony V, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded Mar 20, 2019
Dear J D We are a hotel that greatly values guest feedback but we feel it goes without saying that anyone who reads the review you have posted, can clearly see that it is totally out of character in relation to all the fantastic feedback which is the norm for our resort. It is completely unnecessary for us to go into details defending our service and management and do not feel that this warrants our staff or managers being verbally abused and mistreated. I hope you can agree that cancellations at such late notice are not refundable, as we are not able to resell the rooms last minute. This had to be communicated through the online booking site you chose and not by the hotel itself. We did not lie to you and confirm that you would be refunded but explained that this had to go through the booking engine. Therefore it is not that you paid for a room you never saw, but rather, for one that you duly booked. We are proud that our resort has such a fantastic untarnished reputation but would just like to say that we found your behavior at the resort completely unacceptable and offensive to the management . I find your review to spoil our reputation unethical and in complete contradiction to the policy of Tripadvisor. Our entire team is dedicated to customer satisfaction but we do realize and can accept that unfortunately some people are just not possible to please. Bony Varkey
Read more
Cute hotel but not so close from the turquoise water like paradise. :) People are really nice, the restaurant of the hotel has a really good food and the breakfast was good as well with fresh juices and tropical fruits. Rooms are clean and spacious. We had a good stay. December
Read more
Response from Bony V, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded Feb 26, 2019
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the great review and perfect rating! We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us We work really hard to meet expectations of our guests We look forward to welcome you again in the future Regards GTZR
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$54 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandZanzibar City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing