Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort

Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort

Beit-El-Raas Street, Malawi Road, Zanzibar City Tanzania
Traveler (347)
Sea View Suite
Room & Suite (105)
Dhow Restaurant
Dining (44)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#29 of 60 hotels in Zanzibar City
Location
3.7
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.0
Value
4.1
The hotel has a total of 32 elegantly designed rooms accommodating its guests in well decorated spacious rooms and lounges with ocean view and city view. It is 11 km away from the airport, approximately 20 minutes. The Dhow Restaurant – serving all types of varieties from different cuisines located on the 5th floor of the building.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Business
218Reviews18Q+A46Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 94
  • 63
  • 25
  • 18
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sidonia M wrote a review Mar 2021
Greater London, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Situated close to Stone Town, Golden Tulip Resort offers a very high quality not only in the rooms and reception decoration but as well in the professional staff they have and the delicious food they serve, the cleanning and manteinance. We were offered free of charge a sea view room which made our Zanzibar experience unique. The outside pool ocean view is perfect for the days you just wanr to relax and enjoy the ocean at your door. Great for families or friends as well for business.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sudhir Kathait, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded Jun 11, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JohnW wrote a review Jun 2021
Manila, Philippines11 contributions
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Golden Tulip brand is well known worldwide, and I have stayed in a few of them without any issues. The Zanzibar rooms are spacious, well furnished and clean, and the reception and general staff are very pleasant and helpful when asked.
Covid protocols are being followed by staff which was reassuring.
The hotel is situated some 15/20 minutes outside of town, on a main road, so some noise intrusion is to be expected. There is nothing around the hotel, other than a few local shops. so be prepared to travel to reach anything interesting, including restaurants.
Travellers should note that this is absolutely not a resort in the traditional sense. Its a hotel, on the coast, with access to a rocky shoreline down a very steep set of steps. There are no resort activities within the hotel. The hotel pool area is of a good standard, though it can get busy at peak times (only 8 sunbeds!)
I only used the 5th floor restaurant for breakfast, and that was a rather bland repetitive fayre, only really offering a local menu. There is nothing international or continental about the breakfast offerings, however the staff did their best to please and were always cheerful and willing to help.
As a business traveller, internet access is an essential tool. The hotel internet access is terrible in almost all areas, and was unusable in the suite I occupied, and just about useable in the public areas. Best reception area was on the 5th Floor restaurant area. Its definitely NOT superfast as described on the hotel web listings. TV offerings are limited to a handful of channels, with only one English news station available, which you could listen to, but not watch due to the terrible picture. Definitely no international satellite channels!
Overall its acceptable for a few nights stay, but I wouldn't recommend it for international travellers looking for a business base for more than 1 or 2 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms are much quieter than land/road facing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sudhir Kathait, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded Jun 24, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for the review of our hotel. The feedback is taken positively and highlighted to the concern departments, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
T0sin wrote a review Sep 2023
Abuja, Nigeria54 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean hotel, helpful and polite staff. Veronica (or Caroline) at the restaurant went above and beyond to get fresh passion fruit for my sister from the kitchen. She deserves a medal. Hotel staff that cleaned out the breakfast buffet did a thorough job of cleaning the space, handles, dishes, and just sterilizing everything. Will come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: The hotel is very close to the airport. 5 dollars and a taxi will drop you off from the hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bony Varkey, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded Sep 12, 2023
Dear Tosin, Thank you so much for the delightful feedback. Your comment has given us valuable insight into the services that we provide, we do all we can to provide our customers with the best service, and it always makes our day when a customer appreciates it. We look forward to the next time we are able to serve you again. Regards GTZR TEAM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abhi0711 wrote a review Jan 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates515 contributions54 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel is located up north of Stone Town city, approx 6-7 kms. The property is beach facing towards the West Coast, so a perfect place to see the Sunset.
Rooms are spacious, with ample sunlight and you can enjoy the sunset right from your window in the living room provided you book the sea facing room.
Evening BBQ is really nice and worth the spend.
Staff hospitality is at its best , especially the lady at the reception and Hotel Manager - Sudhir.
Room amenities are good, have a small kitchen for self cooking too and beds are very comfortable.
Only concern is to have transportation for visiting nearby places, but that you can take number from local taxi drivers and bargain, never had any problem in getting taxi from and to the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If you are looking for reasonable hotel near Stone Town, this is the right place to be. But go...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sudhir Kathait, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded Jan 29, 2022
Dear Abhijit W, Thank you for your feedback. It is great and heart-warming to read about your experience with us and we are pleased we were able to make your stay enjoyable. It makes all our hard work and effort worthwhile. We take pride in taking care of our guests and are pleased. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Regards Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort Team,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hany S wrote a review Jun 2021
Venice, Italy11 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was travel alone . I checked in at this hotel at 04:00 pm . Hotel lack minimum safety . It open directly on the road . No security can help. I had an accident as soon as I got out of hotel . British Van crushed me and broke my bones. Hotel security knows nothing regarding my Iphone. Reception brought me 2 small bottles of water after accident to take pain killer and asked for 4$. Receptionist charged me for early check in at departure , when I objected , she said it is late check out because I extended without booking. Money was nothing as I have already a lot of broken bones . I cancelled my trip to back on the same day but why they try to profit instead of help. After all this fight with my arm hanged in arm sling , my body covered with bandages , receptionist approached me with smile and asked" How was your stay?"
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bony Varkey, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded Jun 11, 2021
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the accident you had which occurred late evening (10:30 pm) outside the hotel premises whereby you were asked by the security guards at the main gate and you answered "heading to the shops" while talking on the phone. You met with an accident after which our team called the police and you were taken to the hospital in the hotel's car together with the hotel staff. you refused any further treatment from the hospital instead you bought a hand bandage, some painkillers with a bottle of water then you were taken back to the hotel. Next morning the Hotel Manager came to see you and also offered you a late check out free of charge and asked if the hotel could assist more. The hotel has not charged you any extra money other than your accommodation for 1 night. At Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort our guest's safety is our first priority. Should you have any further concerns please do not hesitate to contact us. Regards Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
adewale s wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
From the day i checked in, i started experiencing issues... first the internet was not working, then the hot water was anything but hot, eventually the water stops. I reported the water issue, it seemed it was fixed but then it stopped again. My partner had to go to take her shower at another hotel where her family was lodged.I asked the manager for a refund equivalent to one day of the 3 days (we paid 180$+ per day) and he only offered a cab drive. There are way better hotels where you will have a better experience for the same amount spent. Best western is easily a better hotel in the same price range. My family stayed in that hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sudhir Kathait, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded Feb 9, 2022
Dear adewales, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience and we work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and in your case, you stayed with us for three nights without any complaints, and on your departure day due to an airlock in the water pump which was fixed immediately, you had an inconvenience for which the Manager has apologized and offered a drop-off (complimentary) and you departed after few hours in the same car to the airport. The Manager offered you the best possible compensation though you tried to threaten that if not given a refund you will write the worst possible review of the Hotel. Regards Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dinarzad Hassan wrote a review Dec 2021
Mombasa, Kenya8 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Not worth the price at all. I would say its overpriced for high rates. A 5 star hotel in Mombasa is way much in services and cheaper as well.
We asked for a Honeymoon Decorum for a day but were told to wait since the room is undergoing cleaning. Came back to a normal room.
The restaurant is just overpriced too, we ordered for a mojito but we got dried mint leaves inside it which was not even worthy to have.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sudhir Kathait, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded Mar 2, 2022
Dear dinarzadh, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience and we work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If given a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Regards Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WMH89 wrote a review Aug 2023
Accra, Ghana74 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
PROS:
Staff were excellent. Very professional and attentive.

The food was very good! Breakfast was okaaay, but their a La carte menu was really good.

I ordered different things from the menu and they all tasted very good and served hot.

Hotel surroundings and ‘beach’ was very quiet as its not very close to Stonetown. So no beach boys selling tours, etc.

To be improved:

I was on the 4th floor and the restaurant was above my room. It was noisy through the night (as it was being cleaned) and interrupted my sleep. Ask for a room on a lower floor.

As a solo traveller, having chain locks on hotel doors is essential. The room did not have this. Please add these. The hotel still felt generally secure.

Windows for city view needed to be cleaned.

It would be great if the hotel organized some in-house activities in the evenings, etc.

The beach is rocky and can’t be swum so please note that.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Try the food at the restaurant. 👌🏾 There’s not much to do around the hotel so please note...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bony Varkey, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded Aug 24, 2023
Dear WMH89, Thank you for your feedback. It is heart-warming to read about your experience with us and we were able to make your stay enjoyable. We take pride in taking care of our guests and are pleased. we thank you for the suggestion and will discuss it with the management. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Regards GTZR TEAM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pat B wrote a review May 2021
O'Fallon, Illinois28 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Two BR Oceanfront room was huge. This would be a superb location for family or a party. Three balconies, all oceanfront. Pretty awesome and very inexpensive, by shopping rates. A few issues which were not huge deals. The safe did not work initially but maintenance had that squared away in a few hours, with minor inconvenience at most. No soap holders in the bathroom showers; we had to balance the soap and shampoo/soap on the actual shower fixtures and half the time they fell on the floor. Another was the Master bed was two twin size mattresses pushed together while the 2nd bedroom bed was a single mattress, so half the days we stayed in the smaller bedroom because we did not like the divot you have to deal with between mattresses.

A potentially larger issue was transportation which overall worked out well but initially was hampered a bit. Lucy was gracious enough to provide personalized service and using WhatsApp we were able to avoid being stranded. If you are not familiar with Zanzibar or are a first time visitor looking to do day trips around the island, Lucy was (and will be) the Go-To person for me.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sudhir Kathait, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded Jun 11, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for the review of our hotel. The feedback is taken positively and highlighted to the concern departments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
T T wrote a review May 20
Bamenda, Cameroon2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
During our stayed at Gulden Tulip, the staffs members demonstrated exceptional kindness and hospitality, providing us with a top-class experience. Their warmth and attentiveness made our time enjoyable and memorable. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with genuine smiles and a welcoming atmosphere that immediately put us at ease.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bony Varkey, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear chanaelvis2014, Thank you so much for your wonderful review along with 5 star rating. It is our pleasure to provide the best possible service to our guests, and we are glad that this commitment was reflected in your visit. We look forward to the next time we are able to serve you again. Have a wonderful day! Regards GTZR TEAM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Sudhir K
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania29 contributions
Dear Value Guest, Thank you for your query unfortunately we do not have a spa but you may easily find it in town or if you wish we can arrange it for you. and the best beach i would recommend is Nungwi beach which is almost 1 hour drive from our hotel
Answer from Sudhir K
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania29 contributions
Dear Turkz The rooms are sprayed mosquito spray on a daily basis. Chances of mosquitoes are very minimal if any. Best Regards
Answer from Sudhir K
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania29 contributions
Dear Guest Greetings from Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort We are on seaside and we can very well facilitate your requirements. Kindly send your query on the hotel mail address. Best Regards Management
Barnabas R wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great place to stay. Very beautiful quiet environment nice for relaxing."
Read full review
Lynda R wrote a tip Jan 2024
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is lot the hotel you may expect it is lore a TRANSIT type of accommodation. However once you got fine with it, you have the best staff!"
Read full review
rebecca v wrote a tip Dec 2023
11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Excellent "
Read full review
Candy wrote a tip Nov 2023
Nairobi, Kenya16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would highly recommend you stay at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort since it's an amazing hotel close to stone town. "
Read full review
Nashy H wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No bar for hard or alcoholic beverages so pack some if user. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Zanzibar City area.
PRICE RANGE
$90 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandZanzibar City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GOLDEN TULIP ZANZIBAR RESORT $96 ($̶1̶1̶0̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Nearby attractions include Aromas of Zanzibar (3.7 miles), Cheetah's Rock (3.7 miles), and Old Slave Market/Anglican Cathedral (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Breadfruit Restaurant & Cafe, Tangawizi Bistro Zanzibar, and Puzzle Coffee Shop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mkunazini, Urban West, Zanzibar (3.8 miles), David Livingstone's place of rest (3.5 miles), and Tippu Tip's House (3.9 miles).
Does Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Zanzibar City HotelsZanzibar City Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Zanzibar CityHotels near Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars