We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort

Save
Share
Beit al Ras, Zanzibar City 4087 Tanzania
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (261)
Room & Suite (75)
Dining (25)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 01/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Updated 01/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#29 of 62 hotels in Zanzibar City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The hotel has a total of 32 elegantly designed rooms accommodating its guests in well decorated spacious rooms and lounges with ocean view and city view. It is 11 km away from the airport, approximately 20 minutes. The Dhow Restaurant – serving all types of varieties from different cuisines located on the 5th floor of the building.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
177Reviews17Q+A32Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 64
  • 56
  • 25
  • 16
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JohnW wrote a review Jun 14
7 contributions
+1
The Golden Tulip brand is well known worldwide, and I have stayed in a few of them without any issues. The Zanzibar rooms are spacious, well furnished and clean, and the reception and general staff are very pleasant and helpful when asked. Covid protocols are being followed by staff which was reassuring. The hotel is situated some 15/20 minutes outside of town, on a main road, so some noise intrusion is to be expected. There is nothing around the hotel, other than a few local shops. so be prepared to travel to reach anything interesting, including restaurants. Travellers should note that this is absolutely not a resort in the traditional sense. Its a hotel, on the coast, with access to a rocky shoreline down a very steep set of steps. There are no resort activities within the hotel. The hotel pool area is of a good standard, though it can get busy at peak times (only 8 sunbeds!) I only used the 5th floor restaurant for breakfast, and that was a rather bland repetitive fayre, only really offering a local menu. There is nothing international or continental about the breakfast offerings, however the staff did their best to please and were always cheerful and willing to help. As a business traveller, internet access is an essential tool. The hotel internet access is terrible in almost all areas, and was unusable in the suite I occupied, and just about useable in the public areas. Best reception area was on the 5th Floor restaurant area. Its definitely NOT superfast as described on the hotel web listings. TV offerings are limited to a handful of channels, with only one English news station available, which you could listen to, but not watch due to the terrible picture. Definitely no international satellite channels! Overall its acceptable for a few nights stay, but I wouldn't recommend it for international travellers looking for a business base for more than 1 or 2 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms are much quieter than land/road facing
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Hany S wrote a review Jun 8
Venice, Italy11 contributions2 helpful votes
I was travel alone . I checked in at this hotel at 04:00 pm . Hotel lack minimum safety . It open directly on the road . No security can help. I had an accident as soon as I got out of hotel . British Van crushed me and broke my bones. Hotel security knows nothing regarding my Iphone. Reception brought me 2 small bottles of water after accident to take pain killer and asked for 4$. Receptionist charged me for early check in at departure , when I objected , she said it is late check out because I extended without booking. Money was nothing as I have already a lot of broken bones . I cancelled my trip to back on the same day but why they try to profit instead of help. After all this fight with my arm hanged in arm sling , my body covered with bandages , receptionist approached me with smile and asked" How was your stay?"
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Bony Varkey, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the accident you had which occurred late evening (10:30 pm) outside the hotel premises whereby you were asked by the security guards at the main gate and you answered "heading to the shops" while talking on the phone. You met with an accident after which our team called the police and you were taken to the hospital in the hotel's car together with the hotel staff. you refused any further treatment from the hospital instead you bought a hand bandage, some painkillers with a bottle of water then you were taken back to the hotel. Next morning the Hotel Manager came to see you and also offered you a late check out free of charge and asked if the hotel could assist more. The hotel has not charged you any extra money other than your accommodation for 1 night. At Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort our guest's safety is our first priority. Should you have any further concerns please do not hesitate to contact us. Regards Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort Team
Read more
Pat B wrote a review May 2021
O'Fallon, Illinois11 contributions10 helpful votes
Two BR Oceanfront room was huge. This would be a superb location for family or a party. Three balconies, all oceanfront. Pretty awesome and very inexpensive, by shopping rates. A few issues which were not huge deals. The safe did not work initially but maintenance had that squared away in a few hours, with minor inconvenience at most. No soap holders in the bathroom showers; we had to balance the soap and shampoo/soap on the actual shower fixtures and half the time they fell on the floor. Another was the Master bed was two twin size mattresses pushed together while the 2nd bedroom bed was a single mattress, so half the days we stayed in the smaller bedroom because we did not like the divot you have to deal with between mattresses. A potentially larger issue was transportation which overall worked out well but initially was hampered a bit. Lucy was gracious enough to provide personalized service and using WhatsApp we were able to avoid being stranded. If you are not familiar with Zanzibar or are a first time visitor looking to do day trips around the island, Lucy was (and will be) the Go-To person for me.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudhir Kathait, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for the review of our hotel. The feedback is taken positively and highlighted to the concern departments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Read more
Tiks.Md wrote a review Mar 2021
Tarkwa, Ghana13 contributions
They had an ok restaurant but an amazing view , elevators are a bit old , rooms were very spacious especially the suites ,staff were friendly but the bed wasn’t comfortable for me ,I think they can do better
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudhir Kathait, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for the review of our hotel. We will be more then happy if you can visit us again and we promise your experience will be better then this. Hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Read more
Sidonia M wrote a review Mar 2021
Greater London, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
Situated close to Stone Town, Golden Tulip Resort offers a very high quality not only in the rooms and reception decoration but as well in the professional staff they have and the delicious food they serve, the cleanning and manteinance. We were offered free of charge a sea view room which made our Zanzibar experience unique. The outside pool ocean view is perfect for the days you just wanr to relax and enjoy the ocean at your door. Great for families or friends as well for business.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudhir Kathait, General Manager at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$59 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandZanzibar City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Nearby attractions include Cheetah's Rock (3.7 miles), Aromas of Zanzibar (3.7 miles), and Old Slave Market/Anglican Cathedral (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Puzzle Coffee Shop, Taarab Restaurant, and Tea House Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Christ Church Cathedral (3.7 miles) and House of Wonders (Beit-el-Ajaib) (3.6 miles).
Does Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.