We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Caballo Resort

3349 Great Eastern Highway, Wooroloo, Western Australia 6558, Australia
Hotel amenities
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
El Caballo Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 84: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed here for two nights, and we did enjoy it. The staff were very friendly and sorted out our "no hot water" situation on the first night very efficiently and compensated us with a nice bottle of wine at dinner on the second night. The rooms have not updated since reopening, however, they are very comfortable and warm.... More 

Helpful?
Thank kylosm
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Spent two nights here and it was lovely. The dinner on Friday night was excellent creamy garlic prawns for entree and a very big sirloin steak for main course. Staff where very friendly and the serves very big. The tapas and music afternoon on Saturday was so relaxing and very enjoyable. The rooms and the resort is old but very... More 

Helpful?
Thank kathryn w
Bunbury
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

omg worst hotel I have ever stayed at freezing cold room bed was very old and lumpy smelt like mould could not believe we payed to stay there never again very disappointed restaurant was just as bad food was terrible had the garlic prawns 30 dollars for 12 small prawns and bread yuk

Helpful?
Thank Sue M

Travelers are raving about these Wooroloo hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

I attended the Mother's day lunch and show at the resort and felt exactly the same way as Julant55 below. The large room was very bare with not even one picture on the wall. It had zero ambience. The food was very ordinary - and sitting at one of the last tables to be called up to the buffet didn't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ansettgirl
Matthew P, Manager at El Caballo Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write feedback about your recent experience. We are disappointed and very sorry to hear about your negative experience. Please rest assured we have taken note of your concerns regarding the service measurements to address all the above matters will be in place. We are very sorry for any inconvenience. El Caballo Resort... More 

Wanneroo, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016 via mobile

We planned a lovely Mother's Day lunch with show at El Caballo. Unfortunately it was very disappointing - the function room was not warm enough for a cold day. The rolls were not fresh, the soup was served cold and the buffet main course was just okay. Sweets consisted of an apple crumble and custard and frozen bought slices of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julant55
Matthew P, Front Office Manager at El Caballo Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience, we really appreciate your feedback We would like to take this opportunity to explain the Mother’s Day Special Event which consisted of a Lunch followed by a show with a top entertainment group from eastern estates. Tickets for the Sunday show was $75.00 per person including the buffet lunch. We are... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

After reading the reviews on here I was a little worried about staying our over-night stay. However I was very pleasantly surprised! Our room was spacious, clean and warm. We went to a show in the Flamenco Room which included dinner. The dinner was a delicious buffet, with steak, fish and gammon, with fresh salads and perfectly cooked vegetables. Dessert... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna W
Matthew P, General Manager at El Caballo Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write feedback about your recent experience. We are glad that your overall stay was comfortable and you enjoyed your stay. I will definitely share your feedback with the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again for another stay More 

Kalgoorlie, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016 via mobile

After reading all the negative reviews I hesitantly booked an overnight stay at El Caballo (to break up a long car trip I had with my family). On arrival, you appreciate how glorious the place was in its hey day - at night the resort looks amazing. The room was clean but it did feel as though I was in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Desiree P
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Although the staff were friendly - when we did see them, the whole experience was tarnished by the incredibly shabby rooms, very stained carpets - curtains falling off the rails, no wardrobe in upstairs rooms, not very clean, especially bathroom window sills, and furniture that looks like it was reclaimed from a dump site. Regardless of what this resort offers... More 

Helpful?
Thank niclux
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

The architecture is lovely, the layout is good, the price was very reasonable. I so wanted to give this place a better mark. On the positive side the rooms were a good size, clean, had a nice bar for a relaxing drink, the golf course is great complete with kangaroos.. What held it back was the spa was very cold... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve R
Matthew P, Manager at El Caballo Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience We really appreciate your feedback and hope you do give us the chance to make it right. I would also like to take this chance to explain the waiting period in our Restaurant that weekend. We were hosting a movie night for the local kids and we were not expecting their... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2016 via mobile

I am a senior reviewer. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels, motels and resorts. I feel i am a good judge of quality. This is the new best of the worst. Dated accommodation. Poor service. Food that we could not and did not pay for. The chef would not come to talk to us even though it was end... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank michealbryant
Matthew P, General Manager at El Caballo Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write feedback about your recent experience. We are disappointed and very sorry to hear about your negative experience. We will have a meeting with the Housekeeping, Kitchen & Maintenance department to point all the issues listed on your complaint. Please rest assured we have taken note of your concerns regarding the service... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wooroloo
20.1 mi away
Hidden Valley Eco Lodges
Hidden Valley Eco Lodges
#1 of 1 in Pickering Brook
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
22.6 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Guildford
3.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Chalets on Stoneville
Chalets on Stoneville
#1 of 1 in Stoneville
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Good Life B&B
The Good Life B&B
#1 of 5 in Lesmurdie
5.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
13.2 mi away
Lavenderpatch
Lavenderpatch
#2 of 3 in Mundaring
4.0 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
El Caballo Resort in Wooroloo is proud to be offering corporate function packages as well as a range of short term accommodation suites. With over 40 years or rich history El Caballo Resort offers a great function alternative to the traditional city based function center. Nestled in the heart of the Avon Valley and only 30 minutes from the Airports the El Caballo Resort is surrounded by Australian bush and wildlife and is a great escape from the CBD, perfect for your next function. We offer three function rooms all with modern facilities and available with catering and service packages. Only a short 30 minute drive from Midland, El Caballo Resort offers the perfect overnight or weekend getaway. Immerse yourself in one of our two luxury suites and enjoy all the modern features of our resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Caballo Resort

Address: 3349 Great Eastern Highway, Wooroloo, Western Australia 6558, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth Hills > Wooroloo
Price Range: $99 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Caballo Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your El Caballo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Caballo Hotel Wooroloo
El Caballo Resort Wooroloo, Perth Hills
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay