We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages

Save
Capt. Ernest A. Dean Highway, Schooner Bay Great Abaco Island
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$200
View Deal
Hotels.com
$200
View Deal
Travelocity
$200
View Deal
CheapTickets$200
Orbitz.com$200
Hotwire.com$200
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (59)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (8)

About

Location
Service
Value
The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Schooner Bay, offering a luxury environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Guest rooms offer amenities such as air conditioning, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the inn. The property also boasts a pool and an on-site restaurant, to help make your stay more enjoyable. If you are driving to The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages, free parking is available. While staying in Schooner Bay, you can check out a popular pub like The Sandpiper Inn, which is serving up some great dishes. Enjoy your stay in Schooner Bay!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem

Location

Full view
Contact
Capt. Ernest A. Dean Highway, Schooner Bay Great Abaco Island
Getting there
Bimini Intl Airport135 miSee all flights
Marsh Harbour Intl Airport25 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
13Reviews3Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 12
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Little bit of a drive but worth the effort if you are looking for something a little different. Rooms were nice. Food was excellent. Beach to yourself. Check it out if you're in the area. Look on G00gle satellite maps for an overview.
Read more
Response from Keenan C, Owner at The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
Responded Aug 5, 2019
Hi Matt we thank you for taking the long drive to spend some time with us at our hideaway. We know that we have a little haven of peace and rest where you can unplug and reconnect. It was a pleasure to host you. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Sandpiper.
Read more
+1
We had a great time and experience staying here. There is no TV in the rooms but they do have internet. This allowed for intimate conversations and enjoying each other’s company without the distractions of normal life. The room was very nice, clean and comfy. The staff was always excellent, they were welcoming, friendly and did their best to accommodate your requests. The food in the restaurant was excellent as long as your not a picky eater and you just love food lol. The area was so laid back we walk/jog every morning before the sunset while we was there. Even though they indicate to be careful of bug bites, surprisingly I didn’t get bite. I will be recommending and coming here again once we visit Abaco, I love it.
Read more
Response from Keenan C, Owner at The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
Responded Jul 4, 2019
Dear guest we thank you for your recent review. We are happy that you enjoyed the laid back nature of the Sandpiper. We strive to have our guests get unplugged from the madness of this world and be able to reconnect with nature and themselves or other loved ones. All distractions from this end are removed so that you can completely refresh yourself. We look forward to your return visit so that we can once again show you better than we can tell you how wonderful the peace and relaxation is at.... The Sandpiper Inn.
Read more
+1
To celebrate my father's 70th birthday we surprised him with a trip to South Abaco. We picked Sandpiper on the recommendation of a family member who had stayed there before and I was not disappointed. We didn't want something in the heart of the tourist area, so if you need to be close to restaurants and grocery stores this is not the place for you. But if you want to experience the true beauty of the Bahamas and just spend quality time with your family, then Sandpiper is be the place for you. Not only did they help coordinate transportion, but chef and the staff accommodated my Dad's dietary needs during our week long stay. They didn't even blink on request for fresh coconut water from the trees on the property. The food was phenomenal, I think my mother is still dreaming about the Pepper Pot dinner. If you want a peaceful place to disconnect and really enjoy your family time, Sandpiper is it. The staff is so warm and helpful, Schooner bay itself is beautiful and it's really like having a home away from home. Marcus and Siren who provided the transportation also took us on two excursions: one to Hope Bay and another to explore the natural blue hole and bird watching. So if you want to leave schooner bay there are options. Dad is already asking when we will be back and we definitely will!
Read more
+1
It's very hard to put into words just how special The Sandpiper is. At first we were hesitant because it's in South Abaco, about 30 mins from Marsh Harbour, but we're so glad that we chose it. If you want to experience what makes Abaco special, stay at The Sandpiper. Marcus picked us up from the airport (arranged through the Inn). The Inn is in a lovely community on a harbour, both the community and the Inn have maintained the traditional Bahamian architecture. There are cruiser bicycles available and you can easily ride around the community, including to the beach and the beach cabana. Every morning before breakfast we went for a quick ride around the harbour and saw turtles, yellowfin tuna, and other small fish. There's also a yoga deck with views of the ocean. The staff were always so helpful and sweet. The food easily ranks up there with the best I've ever had anywhere. Highly recommend the Pepperpot with Jasmine Rice. Chef even took the time to come out and tell us about the ingredients and his inspiration behind the dishes. We went on two excursions with Marcus who took us into the national park to see the caves and swim in the Sawmill Blue Hole - This was indescribable! Marcus is a park warden with the Bahamas National Trust and knows his stuff! We also went on a day trip over to Hope Town. Sandpiper has an arrangement with Hope Town Harbour Lodge so we got to use their facilities. I could go on and on. We really had an amazing time and we're already planning to go back!
Read more
Response from Keenan C, General Manager at The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
Responded Aug 10, 2018
Hi Les-Ann, we are truly happy that your experience at the Sandpiper and Schooner Bay here in South Abaco was a memorable and pleasurable one. Our staff enjoyed having you and feel like you became a member of our family during your stay. We long to see you visit us again hopefully in the very near future so that we can continue to show you better than we can tell you about our little piece of heaven. Once again thank you for staying with us. See you soon; we will keep the bicycle oiled and ready for you.
Read more
+1
This hotel is superb! The staff is very welcoming, from the Manager Adgadell to her entire team they are accommodating, friendly and always willing to assist. My wife and I had the opportunity to stay in the Hibiscus Suite; the suite is awesome, very stylish, and spacious. While at this hotel you would relax, and be transformed by its beauty. The hotel is situated near an excellent beach, which is secluded, and you could relax without any disturbance. While at the hotel we also had the opportunity to dine at the hotel’s restaurant. WOW WOW WOW! They have a young talented chef, Chef Higgins. His food was delicious. It was different, fresh, and hot. We did not want to leave The Sandpiper Inn. You would not be disappointed at The Sandpiper Inn, it is worth every penny. We did not want to leave! THIS IS A MUST VISIT!
Read more
Response from Keenan C, Owner at The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
Responded Dec 10, 2017
It is always a pleasure to get confirmation that we are providing the service and accommodation that we strive to have define us. We thank you for the wonderful vote of confidence and appreciation. We hope to see you on your return to The Sandpiper where we will once again strive "to show you better that we can tell you" our little jewel in south Abaco.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$240 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanBahamasOut IslandsAbaco IslandsGreat Abaco IslandSchooner Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
What are some of the property amenities at The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.