We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Place Retreat and Cottage

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Discovery Place Retreat and Cottage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 9: English reviews
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are a foursome of friends, professionals in our 30's and 40's, who rented the Sand and Sea cottage for a long weekend. We had a nice time and spent quite a bit of time cleaning and tidying on the Sunday morning. Colin was just lovely. Carole asked us at check out what we did for dinner while there. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank LynnlovesParis
DiscoveryPlace, Owner at Discovery Place Retreat and Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. They are appreciated. Clearly that was not our best day. No charge for using the stove or oven. There can be a charge if kitchen, stove, oven, dishes, etc., are not left clean as found, or are damaged. This is standard practice. More attention to care would be appreciated. One of your business colleagues wiped... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

We chose to stay around Roberts Creek due to its proximity to both Sechelt and Gibsons but was not in the main city areas. What a great choice to stay with Carole and Colin, who were very gracious hosts who prepared amazing breakfasts and were great to talk with and to get to know. We came as a get away... More 

Helpful?
Thank ianwychan
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

Carole and Colin are very friendly and helpful hosts. They went out of their way to spoil me since I was their only guest and prepared a variety of delicious hot breakfasts for the 3 days I was there. We enjoyed many interesting conversations about a variety of topics at breakfast. They provided suggestions and directions for restaurants, parks, beaches,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue V
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Carole and Colin have exceeded and gone above and beyond our expectations. Their home is not only luxurious but comfortable and homelike. Carole's breakfast was delicious and we felt very well looked after. We look forward to our next visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon V
Vancouver
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and loved the view, atmosphere, conversation and definitely the breakfasts! Would certainly go back when there's a chance to get away to the Sunshine Coast - could be a good venue for a family reunion too.

Helpful?
Thank DaveAndJudith
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Beautiful hotel with fantastic surroundings. VERY poor breakfast (we ended up going to a local diner and had a lovely full breakfast at 11am). No bed making or room cleaning our entire stay of three days. Very poor service for a five star. Its part of my holiday to have the beds made and bathroom cleaned. If they improved the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lancashireButtons
DiscoveryPlace, Owner at Discovery Place Retreat and Cottage, responded to this review

Our guests have expectations and so do we. Be fair. We offer a deluxe continental breakfast with each suite. What we offer is posted on our website. However, some people are light eaters. This is why we clarify with our guests the night before, as we did with you. We were perplexed as to why you ate so little. We... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I had a perfect 2 night stay at Discovery Place and would definitely want to stay again. The location is great because you're close enough to Gibsons and Sechelt, you're near the beach, and if you want to stay in, the beautifully decorated and immaculate home provides you with a comfortable, cozy place to kick up your... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sdOpinion
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We wanted to like this place but the main home is not for children (yes we had our kids with us) and we were given huge hints by the owners constantly. The room and main areas were meticulous. We just felt uncomfortable the entire stay.

Helpful?
3 Thank KGKGs
Carole J, Owner at Discovery Place Retreat and Cottage, responded to this review

We appreciate all of our many guests. Discovery Place Retreat is adult oriented and is advertised as such. Occassionaly families with children request a booking and less often we accept. Adults vary in their mindfulness of children. Sand & Sea Cottage is more suitable to families, again with the same desire for mindfulness. More 

Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Together with another 3 families, my husband and I spent 3 nights at Carole’s and Collin’s Discovery Place Retreat in Roberts Creek. 3 families stayed in the main house, and enjoyed a wonderful stay. The family stayed in the cottage had mixed feelings though. Let’s start with the positive side first. The big house was built by the owner themselves... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank BCtravelerette
Carole J, Owner at Discovery Place Retreat and Cottage, responded to this review

Such an enjoyment having your fun loving party share your vacation experience. We really appreciated and have acted on your suggestions for our newly renovated Sand & Sea Cottage. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roberts Creek
7.1 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
20.2 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
8.5 mi away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rosemarie's Guest House B&B
9.1 mi away
InnSpire Resort & Spa
InnSpire Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Halfmoon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Artist and The Quiltmaker - Victorian B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
2 acres of forest and view of the Pacific Ocean, Discovery Place was designed as an Executive Retreat. Walk to the beach from your Private luxury suite, heated floors and green technology. Special Features: group meeting facility, ethernet, personal coach, and our Chef's gourmet breakfast. Whether fun with friends, loved ones, group celebration or business meeting, let beauty and the essence of being, surround you while served in the style and hospitality of Discovery Place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Place Retreat and Cottage

Address: 1556 Park Avenue, Roberts Creek, British Columbia V0N 2W2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Roberts Creek
Price Range: $133 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Discovery Place Retreat and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay