We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Orava

Traveler (12)
Room & Suite (9)
Family and Play Areas (6)

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Dolny Kubin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel ORAVA - Srnacie is located in a popular tourist area, which provides a wide range of recreation, tourism and sports. Cozy rooms in beautiful surrounding of Choc Mountains, just 2 km from Dolny Kubin offer quality services in accommodation, gastronomy, leisure and sport. Hotel Orava offer a wide range of services, the possibility of active rest in the interior and exterior of the hotel, and will satisfy even the most demanding visitor, in this beautiful area of Slovakia. Holiday Park Orava is a rezort which include: Hotel, Apartmans, Bungalows Srnacie. It is located in a popular tourist area, which provides recreation, tourism and sport. You can find us in the middle of way from Bratislava to High Tatras. Nice place for overnight, or to spent even two weeks of yours holiday in cozy rooms with beautiful surrounding of Choc Mountains, just 3 km from downtown Dolny Kubin. HPO offers a wide range of services,restaurant with panaramatic view on Choč,the possibility of active rest in the interior or exterior of the rezort (tennis, voleyball, basketball,football playground, gym, fitness). Our new modern wellness provide you 5 saunas, indoor pool with salt wather, jacuzzi where you can relax after busy day. We will satisfy even the most demanding visitor, in this beautiful area of Slovakia.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference Facilities
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Ski-In / Ski-Out
Tennis Court
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
25Reviews
0Q+A
6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 10
  • 10
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nice hotel in the middle of a huge park/reserve. Good choice when visiting the castle, although is a 15 -20 minutes drive. We also had dinner at their restaurant and the waiter was really helpful and kind. Shame I don’t recall his name – only that he was slovak. Suzanna, at the front desk, was also very helpful and nice and gave us some tips on the surroundings and the castle.
Read more
We have some conflicting feelings about this hotel so this review is difficult. First of all, Dolny Kubin is in a really picturesque landscape. It should attract more tourists. This hotel is about 6 K out of town, up into the hills. It is really pretty and peaceful. There was only one or two other couples at the hotel for the first few days and we felt isolated at first. However, the restaurant on the site was surprisingly good, great even. We had no problem spending all our meals at this restaurant. It was always open when we needed anything. The staff of the hotel were exceptional. As far off the tourist track as we were, it was really surprising that so many of the staff had excellent English. Also, Europe does not require customer service professionals to appear cheerful like they do in the US, so when you encounter people that act like helping is a pleasure, it probably is. This staff was top notch. The hotel is tired and in need of renovations, no doubt. But everything worked all right. And as old as the carpet and furniture is, it was pretty clean. No musty smell that is often present in older places. Our rooms were not cleaned during our 3 night stay. We have not figured out what is normal in Eastern European hotels yet; that may be completely normal. No in room coffee. Wifi was terrible, the worst we have encountered in Europe so far. And further, our mobile phones had no service. But really quickly, the off the grid reality became part of the peacefulness. Then a company retreat showed up. At least 80 people. Gone was the peace and quiet. Our room was directly above the bar and there was no chance of avoiding the noise and the smoke. The rooms with views of the valley are all close to the bar and I would not have wanted to have a room in the back, so we were torn. The hotel staff were putting on a very nice retreat for this company. It is an excellent venue for this type of corporate event. But other guests could not mix well in this venue with this set up. At best we felt like wedding crashers, at worst we felt betrayed. Really the only thing this place provided was the peacefulness, and that was completely stripped away with 80 raucous adults partying. We were drawn to this hotel specifically for the wellness facilities: steam room, jacuzzi, pool. From the description and pictures, it looked perfect. However, it was closed when we were there. From what we understood, they would only open it for a minimum of 4 people. However, we heard another couple checking out the next day complaining that they came for the wellness. Why it was not opened for us and them, together equaling 4, I don’t know. I know if it was available, it would have cost extra. We would not expect a pool advertised as part of the hotel to come with an hourly charge in the US, but maybe that is normal here.
Read more
Response from Hotelorava, Manažér recepcie at Hotel Orava
Responded Sep 22, 2018
Dear guest, first of all thank you for your time spent writing the rewue. We are happy that you liked the nature where is hotel situated. Thanks for appreciating our staff and the kitchen. On the other hand we are really sorry about the noise. The end of teambulding was later than we expected. we had a bar open until midnight when we all sent to rooms, suites and a bungalow to ensure peace and quiet. Due to increased noise during the last night of your stay. That was the reason why the last night was not charged. The furtniture in the hotel room is two years old. The entire hotel was renovated two years ago. Thank you for your visit and we hope that you decide for our service in the future and you will appreciate our improvement.
Read more
We spend 3 nights in the hotel and were very pleased with the warm and friendly staff of the hotel. They made us feel welcome. The location is beautiful with nice sceneries and out of the business of the city. Prices are very affordable. You have to pay a little extra to be able to use the hotel's spa. The half board food was budget. We are a family of 4 and the room was bit small for us. The extra bed for kids was basically a small, extendable couch. It was very hard and kids felt uncomfortable sleeping on it. Other than that it was a nice stay and definitely a place great for families with children.
Read more
The hotel itself is reconstructed and very clean. There's a perfect new wellness and fitness. From some rooms you have a very nice view on the Choc mountain. The dominant mountain in surrounding. There some small things that deserve improvement. Dining is not bad but for the standards it could be much better. In these days trends you can make not very expensive decent meal, but here it is little bit outdated. There's perfect grilling place but need to pay extra for that and it's not that cheap, on the other side they clean the grill and place for you so you don't have take care of anything. Wellness is also payed extra. The placement of the hotel is great, far enough from town, but close enough to make a lot of trips. There is lot of stuff to do even in bad weather, kids has plenty room to play (indoor and outdoor). Overall hotel is good for large group of friends and for families.
Read more
Response from Hotelorava, Manažér at Hotel Orava
Responded Jul 10, 2017
Dear Mr. Richard. Thank you for your time to send us Your opinion. I am truly happy You enjoyed the nature potential of the hotel with the all possibilities. We are trying to prepare the best of local kitchen. Every week something else for half board to find out what our guests prefer. So I hope you will definitely enjoy the hotel's kitchen next time and truly taste the difference. We look forward to your next visit. Libor Záborský, hotel manager.
Read more
Stayed here 2 nights for a friends wedding. The reception was also held here! The rooms were lovely, very comfortable, ours ha an amazing balcony with a fantastic view of the local countryside. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the spa looked lovely, sadly we didn't have enough time to use it, but I did have a relaxing massage, which was exactly as described. The breakfast was excellent value at 5 € with plenty of choice and local goodies to sample! The scenery was a stunning backdrop to the room the reception was held in, the food was excellent and the staff did a marvellous job working until 4.30 in the morning when the reception finished. Would love to visit again!
Read more
Response from Hotelorava, Marketing manager at Hotel Orava
Responded Nov 2, 2016
Dear Blondannie. At first, thank You for Your time to write us the opinion. It is great to know You are really enjoyed the stay in our hotel. I hope You had good flight and arrive save home. We will be truly glad when You visit us again. Best regards Libor Záborský, marketing manager.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$66 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SlovakiaZilina RegionDolny Kubin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing