We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos

Save
Share
Pappilantie 1, Ranua 97700 Finland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$89
Priceline$95
Travelocity$82
Hotels.com$82
FindHotel$82
Agoda.com$97
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (80)
Room & Suite (64)
Dining (19)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ranua
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.6
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos is a B&B guesthouse that mixes traditional guesthouse accommodation with more modern igloo option. In the guesthouse, there are 18 rooms with 51 beds in total available in different sized, which makes it highly suitable for multi-sized traveling parties. From the middle of November, there will also be 10 AuroraHut-igloos available for travelers. In the yard of the guesthouse, there is also a private beach and a traditional sauna with wood-stove which was built already in 1940s. There is also a caravan area and hut with a fireplace available. Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos is located close to the centre of Ranua, which makes it easy to reach the main services of the town by walking. The walk to the village center is only about five minutes long.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hiking
Canoeing offsite
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Ski In / Ski Out
Outdoor fireplace
Shops
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Sofa
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Finnish, Swedish
79Reviews0Q+A7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 35
  • 38
  • 4
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nikke wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We were looking for affordable one night accommodation and we got exactly that. In addition we had a great breakfast, nice view to the lake and delightful staff. Guesthouse is located nearby the main road so it is easy to find.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Pisano B wrote a review Mar 2022
Geneva, Switzerland2 contributions
Very warm welcome with big smile at first when we step in.we had a great stay during 4 days and really enjoyed our time with Arctic guesthouse.Staffs are adorable and helpful that make us really feel like home. Highly recommended!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tina wrote a review Mar 2022
Mariestad, Sweden1 contribution
We had a great stay at Arctic Guesthouse, amazing scenery, a very good room and friendly staff that made us feel very welcome. Basic good breakfast in the morning. Restaurant for lunch and dinner if you like. Nice sauna aviable for guests.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
emmanuelt153 wrote a review Feb 2022
Island of Malta, Malta248 contributions37 helpful votes
+1
Stayed in a Glass igloo and it was a very nice experience. Breakfast very good. Staff where very helpful in every way. View from the Igloo was very nice and the atmosphere very relaxing. I highly recommend this place as it is a very nice. Keep it up 😉.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Parking spaces available
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Merlijn Smits wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
We really enjoyed our time in the Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos in Ranua during the winter. Nice, cosy and warm room with a beautiful view on the frozen lake. Breakfast was included and was good. They also offered various good dinner options. The staff was very friendly and helpful. When we needed a ride to the Ranua zoo, they were always open to bring us directly. It was also nice to book the sauna after a cold winter day.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Outi Leppänen, Owner at Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos
Responded Jan 12, 2022
Thank you for the positive feedback and review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hanna wrote a review Dec 2021
Kurikka, Finland1 contribution
Building is old, but very warm and cozy. Staff was helpful and friendly. Every guest can book sauna, that is located on the property. There is also plenty of paid activities that this place provides. Walking distance to super market and pharmacy. Breakfast was good.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: I recommend that you have own or rental car.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Outi Leppänen, Owner at Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos
Responded Jan 12, 2022
Thank you for the positive review and welcome again to stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andre V wrote a review Nov 2021
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Great location, wake up on freezing lake and surrounded by snow and beautiful landscape. Too pity that we wouldn't be able to cook water for tea since the gas for the cooking plate was empty and in our children's iglo there were no cups, so they couldn't drink tea either. I wasn't sure whether we can drink water from the tap and the restaurant/reception was already close. So we were a bit thirsty that night when we went to bed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Outi Leppänen, Owner at Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos
Responded Nov 23, 2021
Thank you for the review and sorry for all the doubts that you had during your stay. The gas stoves are not in use, because we had lot of trouble with them during our first winter season. The water inside the tank is drinkable though and we should have given you more clear instructions about that.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Boss wrote a review Oct 2021
Finland110 contributions45 helpful votes
Nice and quiet family owned hotel at Ranua. Hotel location is very near the village. Our stay was only overnight and our two bedroom suite was enought large for us. Breakfast was Gold, but it was open only one hour. If we are traveling thrue Ranua, we are coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Free Parkinsonin
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Outi Leppänen, Owner at Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos
Responded Oct 13, 2021
Thank you for the positive feedback. We would like to wish you warmly welcome to visit us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacopo wrote a review Sep 2021
Gragnano Trebbiense, Italy2 contributions
We have been there for just one night. The room was small but cozy. Unfortunately there was some noise from above room caused by children. The breakfast was full of good things. The view on the lake and the garden are beautiful. Really close to the zoo.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Outi Leppänen, Owner at Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos
Responded Oct 13, 2021
Thank you for the review. The age of the building sets its own limitations and really sad to hear that you had trouble with noise. We would like to wish you welcome again though and with better luck that time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Riikka M wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Nice little accommodation near the Ranua Zoo. We stayed in a four-bed-budget room with a shared toilet. It was ok, but the noise from the toilet doors bothered a bit at night. Breakfast was really tasty.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms not located near shared toilets are likely to be quieter
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Outi Leppänen, Owner at Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos
Responded Sep 20, 2021
Thank you for the review Mirima. :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$84 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Guesthouse Ranua
LOCATION
FinlandLaplandRanua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos
Which popular attractions are close to Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos?
Nearby attractions include Ranua Zoo (2.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos?
Top room amenities include a refrigerator, a dining area, and a sofa.
What food & drink options are available at Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wild Arctic restaurant, Kiireen Raja Leipomo-Kahvila, and The Northern lights Hotel restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Does Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos have airport transportation?
Yes, Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Ranua.
Does Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a banquet room and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Arctic Guesthouse & Igloos?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Swedish, and Finnish.