We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle Huascar s/n Mz. E Lote 3-6 Sol De Sacsayhuaman, Chivay Peru
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
StayForLong
eDreams
Priceline
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (392)
Room & Suite (138)
Dining (56)

About

#2 of 9 in Chivay
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
3.9
Value
3.7

Pozo del Cielo is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Chivay, offering a quaint environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, and you can stay connected during your stay as Pozo Del Cielo Hotel offers guests free internet access.

The hotel features baggage storage. Plus, Pozo Del Cielo Hotel offers free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

While in Chivay be sure to experience nearby pubs such as Resto Bar El Colonial.

If you are interested in exploring Chivay, check out one of the hot springs, such as La Calera Thermal Waters and La Calera.

Enjoy your stay in Chivay!

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Public wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
497Reviews1Q+A23Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 145
  • 200
  • 99
  • 38
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kylie S wrote a review May 12
Chichester, United Kingdom313 contributions163 helpful votes
What a gorgeous quirky original hotel. Very authentic, comfy and clean we a beautiful view of the town across the bridge and of the stars at night. Staff are helpful but don’t speak a lot of English and I think they may still be recovering from covid, I.3 no beer at the bar and very confused when pouring a rum and coke or a glass of wine! That said, food was yummy, good portion size and good price. Overall a good hotel but don’t expect 5 star. There is Wi-Fi but it doesn’t really work.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
acorna wrote a review Nov 2019
Vilnius, Lithuania4372 contributions398 helpful votes
The hotel is in a nice location, part of the rooms has stunning views to the canyon. Ambience of the hotel itself is also very pleasant. Additional bonus – it is very quiet, it was one of the quietest nights when in Peru. Rooms are convenient, beds are comfortable, contrary to many hotels in Peru, there are pairs of all towels in the double rooms, not only bath towels. It is not very warm at night, but there is a heater in the room and electric blanket (though it did not work in my room). WiFi is quite tolerable, with some hitches though. Breakfast was not so great – food selection very limited and some products could have been better.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If it is important for you, choose the roomswith canyon view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from POZODELCIELO, Director Comercial at Pozo del Cielo
Responded Dec 4, 2019
Dear guest Thank you very much for writing and sharing your experience. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities during your stay. As you mentioned, the hotel is characterized by providing a sense of tranquility and we are glad you enjoyed it. We apologize for the inconvenience that presented in your room with the stove and electric blanket, both are checked every day to make us sure they work properly; about the food at breakfast, we are taking into account your observations, as it will allow us to take the necessary measures to continue seeking excellence in our services. We look forward to your kind visit again. Best regards Pozo del Cielo
Read more
colinclement wrote a review Oct 2019
Surrey116 contributions72 helpful votes
We stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting the coca canyon. The bed was very comfortable and the view was a great view of the canyon. The food was not nice in the restaurant but perhaps I chose wrong. I would not say don’t stay here but it was my least favourite hotel in Peru.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from POZODELCIELO, Director Comercial at Pozo del Cielo
Responded Nov 4, 2019
Dear Guest Thank you very much for the time you set aside to share your comment about your stayed in Pozo del Cielo. As you mentioned our hotel has an extraordinary views of Colca river and Chivay, motive that the design of the hotel is inspired following the Andean architecture so our rooms are distributes around central yards that Alpes the view of all the areas. We are sorry you couldn’t enjoy the food in our restaurant, please receive our apologies for the inconveniences. We are taking into account your feedback as it will definitely help us to note those matters that may need more attention from our side. Kind regards, Pozo del Cielo Team.
Read more
James C wrote a review Oct 2019
Cali, Colombia11 contributions4 helpful votes
The rooms are simple but pleasant with a small sitting area and a pleasant view. The atmosphere in the dining room in the evening was delightful with many nationalities mixing and talking over a pleasant buffet dinner. All in all, a great way to prepare for the following day in the amazing Colca Valley and Canyon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from POZODELCIELO, Director Comercial at Pozo del Cielo
Responded Oct 18, 2019
Dear guest: Thanks to the loyalty of our valued guests, every year we have raised the quality and added new services, which you yourselves have been able to verify, the views to the Colca valley and the landscapes make Pozo del Cielo a charming place. We hope you will return soon for our facilities and receive him with the best happiness. Sincerely, Pozo del Cielo.
Read more
kcran2017 wrote a review Jul 2019
Manchester, United Kingdom24 contributions17 helpful votes
Stayed for 1 night during our 2 week trip to Peru. Interesting hotel! Rustic and colourful. Bonus to have heating and electric blankets. Best thing was that the planetarium was just across the road which was totally worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from POZO DEL CIELO H, Director Comercial at Pozo del Cielo
Responded Aug 26, 2019
Dear guest: Thank you for staying with us, always a pleassure to know that our guest enjoy our services. Feel welcome again!
Read more
Liana C wrote a review Apr 2019
San Juan, Puerto Rico127 contributions36 helpful votes
We stayed for a night as part of a tour to the Colca Canyon. The hotel is pretty, so was the room. It was rustic and charming. The beds were nice, so were the linens. Breakfast was nice. The only problem was no hot water. There was no time to tell anyone since I tried to shower late at night and then early in the morning, but I have seen other travelers complain about this too.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from POZO DEL CIELO H, Director Comercial at Pozo del Cielo
Responded May 30, 2019
Dear Guest: Thank for your kind words despite the issue with the hot water. Can assure you that if we had noticed the problem, we would have solved it immediately.beacuse our personal is available 24 hours. Best regards.
Read more
Ceejay22013 wrote a review Apr 2019
Ormskirk, United Kingdom61 contributions16 helpful votes
This was listed as a 3 star hotel but to be honest if they had listed it as 2 star then the expectations would have not been as high. It is very basic, clean and simply furnished. Staff did not speak any English but were doing their best to communicate with the limited Spanish we offered. We did have a decent stay but with very limited offerings. Breakfast was fair and enough to provide a start to the day, limited overall.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from POZO DEL CIELO H, Director Comercial at Pozo del Cielo
Responded May 30, 2019
Dear Guest: We are sorry for your comment, which is very different from the opinions of other travelers however we are very respectful of this and we invite you to check again the quality of our service. It is necessary to mention that there is a staff in charge of the reception who speaks English and French. Best regards.
Read more
Pietro wrote a review Dec 2018
Rome, Italy97 contributions29 helpful votes
Located just outside Chivay's city centre, Pozo del Cielo is a picturesque structure, it seems you are in a tale, with little streets to reach the rooms and colorful buildings. The room was good and also the breakfast, the hotel was under some renovation so a little bit noisy. At the end is a good option to not stay near Chivay's city centre.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from POZO DEL CIELO H, Director Comercial at Pozo del Cielo
Responded Jan 12, 2019
Dear guest: Thank you for writing such a nice comment, indeed the design of the hotel is inspired by the Andean architecture and its design is very nice and peculiar. We invite you to visit us again so you can appreciate the internal remodeling. Receive a warm greeting.
Read more
Pat C wrote a review Nov 2018
Southampton, United Kingdom251 contributions107 helpful votes
Nice enough basic hotel which is a bit of a walk from the interesting village which has a good local market. However we made the mistake of getting one small bag of laundry (mostly underwear and socks) done and were totally ripped off on the price. They don’t price by the kg like most hotels, but by the item which meant about 4x what we paid elsewhere. So a single sock cost as much as a full shirt or trousers. We complained at the reception where the attitude was “yes it’s crazy expensive but management insists that this is what we charge”. We then got our tour leader to intervene and the manager agreed to refund half. (Although we were actually given less than this, and a shrug when we went to collect it.) Lesson learned. Breakfast was basic but ok. Internet worked at the times where reception were not streaming videos and YouTube.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from POZO DEL CIELO H, Director Comercial at Pozo del Cielo
Responded Nov 24, 2018
Dear guest Thank you for sharing your experience with us. fortunately your order was resolved by our management, however I must mention that the prices of our services are reported before and can be accepted or not by the customers. For us it is important your satisfaction so we do not hesitate to satisfy your request. Thanks for having stayed with us. best regards.
Read more
Scott E wrote a review Oct 2018
Denver, Colorado228 contributions37 helpful votes
No hot water for a morning shower was not what we had in mind for our 2 night stay at this hotel. This was brought up to the hotel staff and they were checking on the problem- but unfortunately no hot water. Other than the bartender the first night and her pisco sours and cheerful attitude- staff seemed a bit disinterested. Not much for breakfast, either- even with the rating that the breakfast is good. Nice property just outside of town- could have been a nicer experience at a minimum.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from POZO DEL CIELO H, Director Comercial at Pozo del Cielo
Responded Nov 24, 2018
Dear guest We thank you for giving us your opinion and at the same time we regret the mishap. We will take into account your suggestion. Thank you for staying with us. Best regards.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$48 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pozo del cielo chivay
LOCATION
PeruArequipa RegionColca CanyonChivay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pozo del Cielo
Which popular attractions are close to Pozo del Cielo?
Nearby attractions include Planetarium & Observatory Colca (0.01 miles), Plaza de Armas de Chivay (0.3 miles), and Galería ARTES DEL COLCA art & souvenirs (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pozo del Cielo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Pozo del Cielo?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Pozo del Cielo?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pozo del Cielo?
Conveniently located restaurants include One Coffee, Aromas Caffee, and Restaurante Maray.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pozo del Cielo?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Pozo del Cielo?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Uyo Uyo Archaeological Site (4.3 miles).
Does Pozo del Cielo have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.