We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

La Hacienda Hostel Ranch

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La Hacienda Hostel Ranch
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 49: English reviews
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

My friend and I intended to stay with Karin for just three nights, but as soon as we arrived we knew we needed to stay longer and ended up staying for a week. Karin made us feel at home right away in a new country. She knew everything about Las Galeras and gave great advice. She helped us out by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erica B
KarinVoeten, Owner at La Hacienda Hostel Ranch, responded to this review

Thank you girls ! Sometimes after talking just a few words with guests I know they will be fine here at the Hacienda. This was the case with both of you. Nice contented people enjoying there vacation and feeling home. I am sure you had also a great time after leaving my place. Hope one day you will be back.... More 

Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

Karin's place is a really beautiful and green retreat on the top of a small hill facing the sea, with a wonderful beach accessible on foot (10 min walk). It was an inspiring experience to stay one week there, living in a simple but cosy way, respectful of nature, people and the environment, with very friendly guests and host, nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marion_Mn
KarinVoeten, Owner at La Hacienda Hostel Ranch, responded to this review

Thank you Marion, know that it was a pleasure having you as a guest here at the Hacienda. I honestly hope to see you again and know there is still a lot to discover here in the area. Take care Karin More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2016

Travelling and looking for a bit of adventure, I chose to stay at this place with my eleven year old daugther. Invested some time informing myself with all you can find on the internet. The place was what I expected, and even more. An eco lodge in the middle of nature with no additional luxury and giving us the beautiful... More 

Helpful?
Thank margo g
KarinVoeten, Owner at La Hacienda Hostel Ranch, responded to this review

Thank you Margo and Benthe for the nice review. It means a lot to me to know people had a nice experience here at the hostel and on the trails with the horses. I honestly hope to see you coming back one day. Kind regards Karin More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
158 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2016

Before arriving in Las Galeras I read up a bit on accommodations. I of course read that La Hacienda was a bit rustic and out of the way and that seemed appealing. However within 5 minutes of arriving I knew I had made a terrible mistake. 'Out of the way' was more like in the middle of nowhere. Nor is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Supadappa
KarinVoeten, Manager at La Hacienda Hostel Ranch, responded to this review

You made a reservation for a double private room with single beds. The room has a private bathroom with a nice heavy curtain, so what is the problem? The room has a lock what is and was NOT broken (you locked it when you walked to the village remember?). One of the windows has a nice garden view, don't you... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2016

The owner, Karin, organised the most beautiful walk we did in the DR for us: first we walked to the faro, from where we had great views over the sea and spotted 3 whales in the distance. Afterwards we continued to Playa Fronton, where we could relax for a while and snorkelled! The hostel is quite basic, but has everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucie253
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015 via mobile

I stayed La Hacienda with my boyfriend. We had travelled to the east of the island to see the humpback whales and stayed at La Hacienda for 4 days. The lodge was located on top of a hill with incredible views of the bay below. It is peaceful and glorious. The garden is full of fruit bearing trees that you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ori C
KarinVoeten, Owner at La Hacienda Hostel Ranch, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice words. It was a pleasure to have you staying here at the hostel and always welcome to come back. Kind Regards Karin More 

Balen, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Calm and quiet Beautiful views Horsedriving with excellent guide, Karin Karin was in the past a Begium Olympic horsedriver She can talk to her horsers She takes you with her to the most beautifull places where nobody ever was The whale-mother and her little ones

Helpful?
Thank inge19662015
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015 via mobile

My 5 nights at La Hacienda are without any doubt my best memories from the Dominican Republic. Don't expect 5* rooms, but they're charming, the atmosphere at the hostel is wonderful and you'll get anything you need. It 's clean, there is a equiped kitchen and the living room is a great place to discuss the discoveries of the day!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annelies C
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We had a 3 nights reservation at the hostel but when we arrived and saw how isolated the place was, decided to cancel the last night. Karen was not happy at all with our decition and tried to forced us to stay the 3 nights, finally she agreed and everything went smoothly. The place is nice and clean but the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ricardo b
KarinVoeten, Owner at La Hacienda Hostel Ranch, responded to this review

Hello guys, I have a lot of work this time of the year and less time available to be around my guests. I'm really sorry that you experienced this as "not being welcome". I never force people to stay, it wouldn't be good for the atmosphere at the hostel. However, if you make a reservation for a certain number of... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

We didn't stay here but took an excursion by horse with Karin who runs these 2 hotels and also does excursions by horse. The excursion was very nice. Karin accommodated our schedule and in general she is a very nice, sweet person who truly and genuinely cares about her horses. It was not cheap and was rather costly for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Falasafa
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Galeras
0.0 mi away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#2 of 5 in Las Galeras
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalet Tropical Village
Chalet Tropical Village
#1 of 18 in Las Galeras
5.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
0.0 mi away
21 Palms B&B
21 Palms B&B
#2 of 18 in Las Galeras
5.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Tortuga
Hotel La Tortuga
#2 of 29 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#1 of 5 in Las Galeras
4.0 of 5 stars 3,187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bungalows of Las Galeras
Bungalows of Las Galeras
#3 of 18 in Las Galeras
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about La Hacienda Hostel Ranch

Address: Calle al Faro, Las Galeras 32000, Dominican Republic (Formerly La Rancheta & La Hacienda Hostel)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Price Range: $33 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Hacienda Hostel Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hacienda Hostel Ranch Samana, Dominican Republic
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay