We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
41682 Cabot Trail, Wreck Cove, Nova Scotia BOC 1HO, Canada
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 128: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Somewhat shabby room. The owner was not present and had other hosts working who were not familiar with the area, so they did not offer much assistance. Our room was not cleaned or attended to after the first night. The price was too high for what was offered. Breakfast was okay, but not what prior reviews suggested. We did have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 3flower
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The cabin we stayed in had all the basic amenities that you would need plus free wifi. There was a mix up with our reservation, it seems the person who booked it did not communicate properly to the on site staff. The mix up was sorted out with relatively little difficulty. The mattress was ok, I found it a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank mhmcd
Murwillumbah, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

It was very hard to find the Maven Gypsy as there was no road side sign and the street number was on the other side of the road, we were disappointed with the amenities, we think it needs a bit of an update especially at the price we paid. I didn't want a full breakfast and was made to uncomfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank jan52s
ClubIntrawest, Owner at The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages, responded to this review

Hi, and thank you for your response, I hope you had continued wonderful travels to meet your friends in the US. I am truly sorry if I (Marie) offended you when after the granola and fruit you requested toast only. We pride ourselves on a nourishing fresh ingredient breakfast but by no means should we insist that guests enjoy it,... More 

North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

A very old house, situated south of Smokey Head, and not an easy place from which to get dinner. Our room was large, curiously furnished with bits of odd antiques, but it was clean and comfortable. It was a bit spooky when we arrived at dusk and the house was all in silent darkness with a note on the door... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandjmat438
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

We had booked the Maven Gypsy based on reviews that were mostly quite positive. Our experience was different from the others, and left us disappointed. We had booked two cottages, for two couples. The cottages were clean and had most amenities including wifi. We had a good sleep. However, we were surprised to find that (perhaps on our particular day)... More 

Helpful?
Thank bennymarn
Hamilton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

My wife and I stayed for one night at the Maven Gypsy last Wednesday, September 23 -2015, very comfortable and inviting environment. Kevin was the consummate host, very friendly, easy going but very competent in cooking, cleaning and managing the property. A very hard working and conscientious young man who catered to our needs and knows the area very well.... More 

Helpful?
Thank blueberry_boy
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015 via mobile

This place has a homey touch. It's not pretentious as some bed and breakfasts can be. Nice quilts on the beds and souvenirs from Mexico on the walls. The proprietors are easy to talk to. They were raising quail when we were there. Look for the path to the beach through the field across the road.

Helpful?
Thank GuatadeLapis
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights in late August 2015 and loved their hospitality. Kevin, the manager, was so helpful and we really enjoyed our breakfasts with a view. We arrived from a torrential downpour to a going-away party for the B&B owner. This is not the usual greeting but were we pleasantly surprised and were welcomed to the party.... More 

Helpful?
Thank AHTripper
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

Our one-night stay here was fantastic. Our host was gracious and incredibly helpful, letting us make phone calls on her phone and giving us advice about booking a whale-watching tour. We had a single issue with some noise at night, and the problem was dealt with immediately and with great politeness. The breakfast was delicious and watching the hummingbirds whiz... More 

Helpful?
Thank ericelshtain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015

We had a great stay at the Maven Gypsy, the room was quite comfortable and Kevins breakfasts were very good, make sure that you try his homemade juice. We were in room 3 at the head of the stairs over the kitchen, and waking up to the smell of a homemade breakfast was wonderful. Everyone here was incredibly warm and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ebradk
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wreck Cove
9.9 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
7.5 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
10.0 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
6.3 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castlerock Country Inn
Castlerock Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Ingonish
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Maven Gypsy B&B and Cottages (formerly Goodwill House) is situated in one of the most scenic areas in Canada. You will be surrounded by untouched, unspoiled wilderness with the ocean just a 5 min walk away. There are four quaint guestrooms in the main house and four detached, self catering cottages with mountain views. Your hosts, Cody and Shain are lifelong hospitality professionals who have traveled and worked all over the world and look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages

Address: 41682 Cabot Trail, Wreck Cove, Nova Scotia BOC 1HO, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Wreck Cove
Price Range: $91 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay