We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 135: English reviews
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I spent two nights in a cabin and then one night in the house. The online photos don't do this place justice - the cabins are clean, cozy, romantic, WELL-STOCKED, artistically decorated, absolutely perfect for a trip to Cape Breton which is remote where you would want to do a lot of your own meal prep. Our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maribeth A
London, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Exactly what we were looking for. A quiet place, clean, comfortable, cosy, located within reasonable driving distance from the hiking trails of the national park and other attractions (Boat tours, Bell museum in Baddeck, Hooked rugs in Cheticamp, Sydney, Fortress of Louisbourg). We stayed from Aug.26 to Sept.5, 2016 in the first cottage, the queen bed is comfortable, the shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank mgfm
themavengypsybandb, Owner at The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages, responded to this review

Awww thank you Monique so glad you had a great stay and we were thrilled to have you enjoy the ambiance in our part of Paradise and appreciate the Country Side and local culture for what its meant to be. often we forget to stop and enjoy the World in different places and the uniqueness of each. Please do come... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'm not sure if it's a cultural barrier or what, but the wife was trying to be welcoming, I think? We got there late because of a long day of sightseeing, didn't really get greeted at the door at first I thought I was in the wrong place until I asked if it was the maven gypsy. I really needed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Irfan M
themavengypsybandb, Owner at The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages, responded to this review

Good afternoon Ifran, so sorry you were disappointed with the B/B, yes as sometimes thought the wifi is not always uo to everyones requirements but ctually I understand you were attempting business at 11 o{clock at night so unless all other guests were watching movies not sure why the wifi was insufficent it is not a usual problem so I... More 

Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first time in a B&B and if it wasn’t for a much better experience later in our trip (see my review on the Fiddle and Sea in Port Hood, NS) then it would have been our last. The first thing you should know is the person that you deal with by email, Marie, does not actually live... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DevMegsMum
themavengypsybandb, Owner at The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages, responded to this review

Hi DevMegs Mom, so sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay with us and indeed your first B/B. yes you are right part of the year I - Marie do live and work in Mexico and spend part of the year in Wreck Cove. yes a Lady named Danusia is happy to help and I am sorry if... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

This place is horrendous and its dirty, the staff are unwelcoming, breakfast limited with very small portions and don't ask for more unless you want to be treated like Oliver Twist. Nearest place for dinner is 23 Kilometres away and again limited. The beds are just knocked together with numerous mattresses on top and nothing like the management photographs which... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LittleStevieB
themavengypsybandb, Owner at The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages, responded to this review

Oh so sorry we disappointed you, many of our guests love the remotenss and ambiance of this century old home with no buildings, highrises and fast food restuarants on the street. Yes many of our furniturepeices are antiques but our beds are generally thought of to be extremely comfotable, As with any guests it is sometimes better to call or... More 

Leawood, Kansas
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2016

We were looking forward to our visit and were pretty unimpressed. No one greeted us; we had to uncomfortably poke around to get attention. The room was hot, the fan stored in a closet was quite dirty and the breakfast was so-so. We are frequent B&B guests and this one was below par; ok, but nothing special.

Helpful?
Thank KimSKim
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

Our cottage was a perfect simple place for our base on the Ingonish side of the Cabot Trail. There is a hilly drive between Wreck Cove and the nearest restaurants and such, beautiful but don't try to drive back to the cottage after a beer or two. The cottages are kept clean and the bed is really comfortable. The walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank laurellaterne
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016

Somewhat shabby room. The owner was not present and had other hosts working who were not familiar with the area, so they did not offer much assistance. Our room was not cleaned or attended to after the first night. The price was too high for what was offered. Breakfast was okay, but not what prior reviews suggested. We did have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 3flower
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

The cabin we stayed in had all the basic amenities that you would need plus free wifi. There was a mix up with our reservation, it seems the person who booked it did not communicate properly to the on site staff. The mix up was sorted out with relatively little difficulty. The mattress was ok, I found it a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank mhmcd
Murwillumbah, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

It was very hard to find the Maven Gypsy as there was no road side sign and the street number was on the other side of the road, we were disappointed with the amenities, we think it needs a bit of an update especially at the price we paid. I didn't want a full breakfast and was made to uncomfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank jan52s
ClubIntrawest, Owner at The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages, responded to this review

Hi, and thank you for your response, I hope you had continued wonderful travels to meet your friends in the US. I am truly sorry if I (Marie) offended you when after the granola and fruit you requested toast only. We pride ourselves on a nourishing fresh ingredient breakfast but by no means should we insist that guests enjoy it,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wreck Cove
9.9 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
7.5 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
10.0 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
6.3 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castlerock Country Inn
Castlerock Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Ingonish
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Maven Gypsy B&B and Cottages (formerly Goodwill House) is situated in one of the most scenic areas in Canada. You will be surrounded by untouched, unspoiled wilderness with the ocean just a 5 min walk away. There are four quaint guestrooms in the main house and four detached, self catering cottages with mountain views. Your hosts, Cody and Shain are lifelong hospitality professionals who have traveled and worked all over the world and look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages

Address: 41682 Cabot Trail, Wreck Cove, Nova Scotia BOC 1HO, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Wreck Cove
Price Range: $90 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay