We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 138: English reviews
San Diego, California
Reviewed October 17, 2016

This B&B was very disappointing. The accommodations were shabby. The property and home have not been maintained to a standard I would expect for the price, or as described on the property website. My bath towel looked like a dirty rag that had been used to clean the floor - I kid you not. The woman who greeted us was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabebo
Lunenburg, Canada
Reviewed October 5, 2016

We arrived around 5:30 pm last Monday night and when we found the location there was no sign or indication of where to check in. We headed up a little gravel drive past some ramshackle huts which turned out to be a woodshed and chicken coop. There was a large house so we thought this must be where we check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharisab
Reviewed September 28, 2016 via mobile

We've been on a 3 week road trip of the Maritimes staying at lots of different B&Bs. Most were great and some excellent but this was by far the worst. It is very misleading as Marie, the owner, answers any emails and phone calls. She seemed so nice and we were looking forward to meeting her but you don't realize...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Reviewed September 18, 2016

My boyfriend and I spent two nights in a cabin and then one night in the house. The online photos don't do this place justice - the cabins are clean, cozy, romantic, WELL-STOCKED, artistically decorated, absolutely perfect for a trip to Cape Breton which is remote where you would want to do a lot of your own meal prep. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maribeth A
London, Canada
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Exactly what we were looking for. A quiet place, clean, comfortable, cosy, located within reasonable driving distance from the hiking trails of the national park and other attractions (Boat tours, Bell museum in Baddeck, Hooked rugs in Cheticamp, Sydney, Fortress of Louisbourg). We stayed from Aug.26 to Sept.5, 2016 in the first cottage, the queen bed is comfortable, the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mgfm
themavengypsybandb, Owner at The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages, responded to this review

Awww thank you Monique so glad you had a great stay and we were thrilled to have you enjoy the ambiance in our part of Paradise and appreciate the Country Side and local culture for what its meant to be. often we forget to stop and enjoy the World in different places and the uniqueness of each. Please do come...

Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

I'm not sure if it's a cultural barrier or what, but the wife was trying to be welcoming, I think? We got there late because of a long day of sightseeing, didn't really get greeted at the door at first I thought I was in the wrong place until I asked if it was the maven gypsy. I really needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irfan M
themavengypsybandb, Owner at The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages, responded to this review

Good afternoon Ifran, so sorry you were disappointed with the B/B, yes as sometimes thought the wifi is not always uo to everyones requirements but ctually I understand you were attempting business at 11 o{clock at night so unless all other guests were watching movies not sure why the wifi was insufficent it is not a usual problem so I...

Waterloo, Canada
Reviewed August 30, 2016

This was our first time in a B&B and if it wasn’t for a much better experience later in our trip (see my review on the Fiddle and Sea in Port Hood, NS) then it would have been our last. The first thing you should know is the person that you deal with by email, Marie, does not actually live...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DevMegsMum
themavengypsybandb, Owner at The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages, responded to this review

Hi DevMegs Mom, so sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay with us and indeed your first B/B. yes you are right part of the year I - Marie do live and work in Mexico and spend part of the year in Wreck Cove. yes a Lady named Danusia is happy to help and I am sorry if...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 16, 2016

This place is horrendous and its dirty, the staff are unwelcoming, breakfast limited with very small portions and don't ask for more unless you want to be treated like Oliver Twist. Nearest place for dinner is 23 Kilometres away and again limited. The beds are just knocked together with numerous mattresses on top and nothing like the management photographs which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LittleStevieB
themavengypsybandb, Owner at The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages, responded to this review

Oh so sorry we disappointed you, many of our guests love the remotenss and ambiance of this century old home with no buildings, highrises and fast food restuarants on the street. Yes many of our furniturepeices are antiques but our beds are generally thought of to be extremely comfotable, As with any guests it is sometimes better to call or...

Leawood, Kansas
Reviewed August 11, 2016

We were looking forward to our visit and were pretty unimpressed. No one greeted us; we had to uncomfortably poke around to get attention. The room was hot, the fan stored in a closet was quite dirty and the breakfast was so-so. We are frequent B&B guests and this one was below par; ok, but nothing special.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KimSKim
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed July 26, 2016

Our cottage was a perfect simple place for our base on the Ingonish side of the Cabot Trail. There is a hilly drive between Wreck Cove and the nearest restaurants and such, beautiful but don't try to drive back to the cottage after a beer or two. The cottages are kept clean and the bed is really comfortable. The walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurellaterne
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wreck Cove
9.9 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
7.5 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
13.5 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
78 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
26.8 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Maven Gypsy B&B and Cottages (formerly Goodwill House) is situated in one of the most scenic areas in Canada. You will be surrounded by untouched, unspoiled wilderness with the ocean just a 5 min walk away. There are four quaint guestrooms in the main house and four detached, self catering cottages with mountain views. Your hosts, Cody and Shain are lifelong hospitality professionals who have traveled and worked all over the world and look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages

Address: 41682 Cabot Trail, Wreck Cove, Nova Scotia BOC 1HO, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Wreck Cove
Price Range: $88 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“It is obvious that a lot of work and thoughtfulness went into the unique decor of this inn and the cabins.”
 of 5 bubbles 493maribetha, Sep 18, 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles LittleStevieB, Aug 16, 2016 | Read review
“Perhaps eat dinner before arriving because restaurants are about 15-20 minute drive either way, nothing near by.”
 of 5 bubbles blueberry_boy, Sep 27, 2015 | Read review
“We loved Room#1 on 1st floor spacious with en suite.”
 of 5 bubbles EeyoreCA, Sep 12, 2015 | Read review
“Main floor room is big and bright. Only complaint is the shower head drips.”
 of 5 bubbles Brenda201560, Jul 21, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay