We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Heliconia

Save
Share
Carretera Principal 8 Km South of Mariato Palmilla, Mariato, Malena Panama
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (45)
Pool & Beach (6)
Room & Suite (4)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

Full view
Contact
Carretera Principal 8 Km South of Mariato Palmilla, Mariato, Malena Panama
Getting there
Tocumen Intl Airport149 miSee all flights
Chitre Airport44 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
98Reviews2Q+A15Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 77
  • 17
  • 2
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ian M wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
We stayed with Kees and Loes just before the pandemic crashed down on us all and we look back very fondly on our three nights at the hotel and two nights on Coiba Island. All the positive reviews you'll read below are correct: Kees and Loes are wonderful hosts; Coiba Island is a rare gem and the snorkelling is outstanding, and two nights in cozy tents on a hilltop with magnificent sunrises, sunsets and moonrises and the most spectacular shower on the beach that you will ever have are memorable; yes, the road from Santiago is terrible but probably serves to give the west side of Azuero a remoteness it would not otherwise have. Kees took an entire day to take us on a bird-watching hike up Rio Playita in Cerro Hoya National Park. To top it all, K and L went out of their way to scramble and send up glasses we had left in their vehicle after leaving. Extremely kind! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kees G, Owner at Hotel Heliconia
Responded Apr 2, 2020
Hello Ian M., Thank you for writing this review. We hope you made it safe and sound back home. Coiba and Cerro Hoya are special places indeed and as soon as we can, we will take people out there again. Best regards,
Read more
NeilElaine wrote a review Mar 2020
Campbell River, Canada31 contributions3 helpful votes
We did the 3 day all-inclusive package with Loes and Kees. First night at Heliconia B&B and then 2 days camping on Coiba Island with several snorkelling outings, forest walks and a mangrove boat trip. The entire experience was fantastic. This was the best snorkelling we have ever done anywhere in the world! It was really great to be on a trip like this with a biologist, and he sent us underwater photos taken during the snorkelling, so that was an additional treat! The camping accommodations were "rustic" but the food was very good. The local boat crews were great. The bed and breakfast and dinner at Heliconia were also excellent. The couple also look after injured owls so we met some lovely little birds too. The only negatives we experienced were the pot hole filled road to get to Heliconia, and the very rough waters between the mainland and Coiba. Neither of these are the responsibility of Loes and Kees. The boats could maybe be improved by installing padded backs on the seats to make them more comfortable in rough seas. And the government has promised to repair the road this spring.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kees G, Owner at Hotel Heliconia
Responded Apr 2, 2020
Hello NeilElain, Thank you for writing a review. Coiba is a special place indeed. In February and March the sea can be rough going in a nd out. We will have a look at your tip for padded back rests, it seems like a good idea. The repair of the road will start later than promised because of the COVID-19 pandemic, but hopefully it will be repaired by June 2021.
Read more
Sal wrote a review Feb 2020
Panama City, Panama5 contributions
Located on the lesser known side of the Azuero Peninsula we found this wonderful hotel, run by kind and very knowledgeable Dutch biologists Loes & Kees. The rooms are a perfect mix of informal and comfortable. The meals were excellent and they can cater to any type of diet. Tanager Tourism is part of this hotel runs extraordinary ecotours in the area (amongst others to the island of Coiba). When you are there make sure to visit and support the turtle project on nearby Malena beach and you might be able to release some turtle hatchlings!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kees G, Owner at Hotel Heliconia
Responded Apr 2, 2020
Hello saldasilva, Thank you for writing a review. We enjoyed having you as a guest. Visiting the turtle project is definitely recommended. The project is run by local people and they usually release hatchlings from August to January. The best chance to see and help release the little ones is from mid November to mid December. Every year the project releases some 25,000 hatchlings! Best regards,
Read more
KentBL wrote a review Aug 2018
Panama City, Panama2 contributions
I just spent one night at Heliconia Hotel and one night on Coiba Island with Kees (the husband, pronounced like "case" of beer) and Loes (the wife, pronounced like the first syllable of "Lucy"). We saw all of our bird target species (e.g., Coiba Spinetail, Blue-footed Booby, Galapagos Shearwater, Scarlet Macaw) plus humback whales, dolphins, turtles, etc. Kees ran everything like clockwork on the trip, and he is an excellent birding guide. My big surprise was how well Loes took care of my vegan meals. In addition to the great side dishes everyone else ate (including zucchini soup), she made sure I had vegan main dishes including stuffed peppers (full of tasty vegan ingredients) and vegan sauce for the pasta. I had soy milk for cereal and even a vegan brownie for desert. She made two types of humus for sandwiches, and her homemade bread was incredible. Highly professional and smoothly run outfit all around, plus they are attentive and fun. She is an amazing wildlife artist as well.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Kees G, Owner at Hotel Heliconia
Responded Aug 27, 2018
Hello KentBL, Thank you for a glowing review, we are both blushing now. We enjoyed having you as a guest and we hope you willl visit again. Best regards,
Read more
vacationerII wrote a review Jul 2018
Ann Arbor, Michigan8 contributions12 helpful votes
My wife and I spent 3 days with Loes and Kees at Hotel Heliconia. We arrived with drama as we drove into the wrong entrance and the left wheel went over the embankment. Loes and Kees acted swiftly by asking neighbors to help and offering advice about how best to resolve the situation which we did after jacking up the car and using the board that Kees provided to back up! We then were able to move into our comfortable room and then join the two of them on their comfortable deck greeted by numerous hummingbirds feeding at the 6 feeders just off their deck - my wife was entertained for three days snapping picture after picture. Our priority for this, our third trip to Panama, was to network with people who have moved to Panama from other countries as we consider a future partial retirement in Panama. We were highly rewarded with a vast amount of information gathered from many conversations with Loes and Kees during our 3 days there. These included a great tour of their amazing property by Kees, 6 very enjoyable breakfasts and dinners prepared and served by our hosts, a night sea turtle patrol with Kees as our translator, and numerous other casual conversations while sitting with Loes and enjoying their outside covered deck. Loes and Kees have interesting life stories and an investment in the Panama community in which they have become part of. They have fully immersed themselves and are doing great work there not only in the community but for the environment. If you want to learn more about the area and what it's like to relocate there, you will not be disappointed in a stay with these two people.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kees G, Owner at Hotel Heliconia
Responded Aug 2, 2018
Hello Vacationer, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$76 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PanamaVeraguas ProvinceMalena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Heliconia
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Heliconia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Heliconia?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Heliconia?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Heliconia?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Hotel Heliconia accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.