We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve

Save
Traveler (137)
Room & Suite (39)
Pool & Beach (11)
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good30%
  • Average9%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“nature reserve”(16 reviews)
“hiking trails”(13 reviews)
“beehive huts”(11 reviews)
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
2.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (258)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
111
53
15
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
111
53
15
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature reservehiking trailsbeehive hutstwo nightsthe cottageswe loved our staygreat poolsafari tentsouthern africatwo night staywater flowingoverlooking the valleybeautiful lodgespectacular viewsroad leadingcity lifelarge garden
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
51 - 55 of 182 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2016

Unfortunately we miscalculated our drive from Marloth park towards Pigs Peak, making us arrive at 17:00. The setting is really nice. In the middle of the forest, far away from everything. We drove 30 minutes into nothing before we got to the reception. This was...More

1  Thank Johan B
Response from Rod d, Owner at Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature ReserveResponded December 25, 2016

Thanks very much for your detailed feedback on your short stay at Phophonyane. This is very important to us. It's great that you managed to observe so much in such a short time. We are grateful that you mention a shortcoming in the warmth of...More

Reviewed November 20, 2016

This beautiful lodge is tucked away in a nature reserve in Piggs Peak. To get there you drive through mountains and forests, and at the lodge you are surrounded by the sounds of water flowing and birdsong. The owners have had the place since 1975...More

1  Thank jasmine_zim
Response from Rod d, Owner at Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature ReserveResponded December 25, 2016

Your lovely review of Phophonyane is highly appreciated and we are so glad that you enjoyed it so much. Thanks for also mentioning the Geo Trail, which is a wonderful facility and experience and not nearly used enough.

Reviewed November 20, 2016

If you want to be one with nature then this is where you have to be. Very cozy cottage. Very friendly people. I don't understand people complaining. If you are in the middle of nature it's normal to meet insects. We have spent two nights...More

1  Thank FrankTatyana
Response from Rod d, Owner at Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature ReserveResponded December 25, 2016

Thanks very much for your positive review and your reflections on being one with nature. It is indeed very much a place for nature lovers!

Reviewed November 11, 2016

We stayed in Phophonyane for two nights on a three week trip of South Africa and Swaziland and my only complaint was that we didn't stay longer. We booked the tents but due to rain on arrival were updated to the beehives which were amazing,...More

2  Thank siliek
Response from Rod d, Owner at Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature ReserveResponded December 25, 2016

Thank you very much for your lovely review of Phophonyane. Even though you would have liked to have stayed longer, you made the most of your stay by going on the hiking trails and the guided walk to the village. Hope to see you again!

Reviewed November 1, 2016

This hotel is absolutely spectacular. The cottages are delightful, but we chose a tent, which was wonderful. It had extremely comfortable beds, heating, fan, beautiful decoration, and a beautiful view, completely surrounded by nature. The restaurant has an extensive menu, with delicious plates and service...More

2  Thank Laura d
Response from Rod d, Owner at Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature ReserveResponded December 25, 2016

We really appreciate your positive review of Phophonyane and thanks very much for the recommendation. It's very pleasing to us that you decided to stay another night and that you would love to come back!

View more reviews
PreviousNext
191011121337
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$105 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
$105 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (137)
Room & Suite (39)
Pool & Beach (11)
Dining (10)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Bring your walking shoes."
Read review
"The tents are good fun and very comfortable"
Read review
"We enjoyed the tents close to the river, but the toilets are outside with a little to walk"
Read review
"Do try a 'Beehive'"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing