We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel

9 High Street, Wendover, Aylesbury HP22 6DU England
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (79)
Room & Suite (77)
Dining (22)


Travelers' Choice
Set in the village of Wendover near Aylesbury, The Red Lion is a perfect hotel for a weekend break or a family holiday. Just 45 minutes from London and sporting one of the area's finest restaurants, The Red Lion offers excellent real ales and warm hospitality.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
784Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 324
  • 246
  • 127
  • 51
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
rufa09 wrote a review Nov 2020
New Romney, United Kingdom108 contributions53 helpful votes
We have now had two one night stays here and the fact we returned shows that we rated it highly. It appears to be an old coaching inn so the entrance to the large car park is through a fairly narrow archway. The rooms seem to be on the opposite side of the archway from the main pub/restaurant. We found the rooms comfortable and well equipped although the heating is idiosyncratic. This was our one complaint; that the radiators are controlled from reception and we had to go and ask for them to be switched on. The food in the restaurant is substantial and excellent. On our first visit we found the Sunday roast offering to be simply too big but items from the normal menu on our second stay were spot on. The staff are all friendly, professional and helpful. We have stayed in more "up-market" hotels and found the standards less good than the Red Lion hence the 5 star rating.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Sleep Quality
Response from Red Lion, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel
Responded Nov 3, 2020
Hello rufa09, Many thanks for the 5 star rating a feedback. We do hope you will visit us again in the future. Kind regards Fiona & the Red Lion team.
Read more
bigbadchief wrote a review Oct 2020
Aldershot, United Kingdom10 contributions7 helpful votes
Service was slow at one point 4 members of staff seemed more interested in standing around bar area talking rather than check whether i was ready to order and the fact I'd pushed the menu aside should have been a clear enough indication that i was ready to order . Ordered a wild boar pasta but the portion size resembled a childs portion and it wasn't particularly hot and it severely lacked and meat or flavour . Couldn't get anyone's attention and as i was extremely hungry ate but left feeling as hungry as when i arrived. Certainly wouldn't return or recommend
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Tatjana Hine wrote a review Oct 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom5 contributions
It is an Old Coaching Inn and is now more of a Pub. The room we had was extremely noisy as it was on the main walkway out of the Hotel. We were only saved by the fact that due to everything having to close at 10pm, silence then reigned. So room 22 0r 23 is to be avoided. The heating could not be controlled and we roasted, but hopefully this can be fixed. An interesting experience!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Room Tip: Anything bar the rooms on the walkway to the exit
See more room tips
Response from Red Lion, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel
Responded Oct 11, 2020
Hello 526tatjanah, Thank you for your review. Kind regards The Red Lion team.
Read more
snowfamily1 wrote a review Oct 2020
Torquay, United Kingdom41 contributions14 helpful votes
Ideally placed if you are walking the Ridgeway . Food was good ,room was well equipped (bath much appreciated after a long day walking) and breakfast was served from 7am making it ideal for an early start. Staff were all very friendly and welcoming .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Response from Red Lion, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel
Responded Oct 3, 2020
Thank you for your lovely review, We get a lot of people stopping off for the Ridgeway, look forward to seeing you again if you are ever in the area, Kind Regards, The Red Lion Team
Read more
Tim S wrote a review Sep 2020
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom49 contributions30 helpful votes
We booked here as our normal hotel near Wendover was full on a Saturday night. We asked for a quiet room and we got the noisiest room in the hotel, right over the tunnel and on the main road. The bed creaked every time we tossed and turned. We had told the hotel we couldn't stay for breakfast as we had to leave the place early on Sunday morning before they started to serve and we expected a reduction on the rate but this was not offered and when we complained, they said breakfast was "complimentary" so there was no refund for not having it. No one told us this when we said we couldn't stay for breakfast. And lastly, the efforts at social distancing were very poor. The toilets are upstairs, so people from the bar, unmasked, were constantly going up and down the stairs which led to our room. We won't stay there again - there are much better options around Wendover. The Premier Inn, for example, is far superior.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Response from Red Lion, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel
Responded Oct 3, 2020
Hello Tim, Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. I understand that you notified us that you wouldn't be staying for breakfast. Our breakfast is complimentary for residents, hence there is no charge that we can refund as explained to you in the morning. I’m sorry to hear you felt your room was noisy, in the future please do let the team know if there is anything not to your liking at the time, as we will always endeavour to rectify any issues to enhance your stay with us. Like many pubs & restaurants the toilets are located on the first floor, during the time you stayed customers were not required (as they are now) to wear a mask once up from their table. Obviously we are now adhering to the new government guidelines. We have signage to ensure distancing on the stairs as well as a hand sanitising station at the bottom. All of this is in place to ensure our customers safety during these unprecedented times. Kind Regards, The Red Lion Team
Read more
$80 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
red lion wendover hotel aylesbury, red lion aylesbury
United KingdomEnglandBuckinghamshireAylesbury ValeAylesburyWendover
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Red Lion Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Red Lion Hotel?
Nearby attractions include No 2 Pound Street (0.1 miles), Aces High Gallery (0.3 miles), and a little bird told me gallery (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Red Lion Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Red Lion Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Red Lion Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Red Lion Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tres Corazones, Rumsey's Chocolaterie and Coffee Shop, and Lady GreyTea Room.
Is Red Lion Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Wendover.
Does Red Lion Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Red Lion Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cholesbury Camp (3.8 miles).
Is Red Lion Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.