We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Wivenhoe House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wivenhoe House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

566 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 558: English reviews
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice alternative to large chains. Lovely old building, fantastic rooms and consistently good food. Evening meal was with a business group and we had a private room (Board Room), both food and service was first class. Lunch in main restaurant was also very good, although service was a little mixed.

Helpful?
Thank jakeb0x
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My partner and I decided to treat a elderly relative to a cream tea as a treat. Selected Wivenhoe House because we have been before. The high standard is still maintained in this beautiful old building. The rooms have high ceilings, high Windows and ornate plaster work on the walls, a beautiful palatial building. Now for the food. We had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frances N
Oliver B, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this review

Dear Frances, Thank you for your review, and thank you for your recommendation. We really are very proud of our afternoon tea, and change it regularly, sticking more to the traditional theme. Yesterday we launched our Christmas Afternoon Tea, which will run until 29th December, we would love to see you back. Regards Oliver J. Q. Brown General Manager More 

Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed overnight as part of a group of friends with group booking rates made by another member of our party. The first point that needs clarifying is that guests are, effectively part of an experiment-as the Hotel exists as a training ground for Hotel Management students from the University of Essex. No disadvantage per se, but service standards will... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 100Shar0n
Oliver B, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Wivenhoe House is home to the Edge Hotel School, where undergraduates study for their Honours Degree over an accelerated programme of 2 years. The degree is validated by the University of Essex. On rotations, the students spend time in the hotel, working alongside the hotel team. I am sorry your shower was difficult to operate... More 

Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Each year my local running club, Great Bentley Running Club holds an award evening for our members and this year we chose Wivenhoe House as our venue and what a fantastic choice it turned out to be. From the very start of the booking process everything was handled in a very professional manner with nothing overlooked, when it came to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catman101Essex
Oliver B, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this review

We were so pleased to be welcoming Great Bentley Running Club last weekend, and I am so pleased you had such a wonderful evening. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best wishes, Oliver J. Q. Brown General Manager More 

Wivenhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

it's necessary to book for their tea which we duly did and were ushered in to a large formal room with tables well spread apart. There is a wide selection of teas and coffees to choose from and we added a glass of champagne to our order. The meal consists of sandwiches, scones with clotted cream and jam followed by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian G
Oliver B, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this review

Dear Ian, Thank you for your review. We are getting really well known now for our afternoon tea at Wivenhoe House. We have the perfect venue, in the Grade II listed lounges, and our pastry chef, having trained in London, really understands the classic afternoon tea. We have yesterday launch our Christmas afternoon tea, which I am sure is going... More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hi just thought I'd pop a review about Wivenhoe hotel. Stayed last night Saturday for one night as a little thank you from my daughter. Had a room in the new block which was only a short walk from the reception and Brasserie reasturant. Room was nice with nice view, bathroom was nice, just a shame that the standard of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
Oliver B, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this review

Dear Deborah, Thank you for your review, following your Saturday night stay a couple of weeks ago. We are pleased your enjoyed your room in the Garden Wing, but sorry the shower did not meet your expectations, feedback which I will consider when we plan to refurbish. So pleased that the 'Davids' looked after you well at dinner, and your... More 

Essex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just stayed in one of the suites at this hotel. On arrival we were met and checked in efficiently and taken to our room which I liked as a lot of places give you the key and only show you to the lifts. As our room had not been used the night before we were able to check... More 

Helpful?
Thank Essexblogger
Oliver B, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, which I am of course delighted to read such a thorough and positive account of your stay. I am sorry however that you were disturbed in the night by the noise. We are still trying to establish exactly what it could have been, but will keep trying until we do. Hopefully we can welcome you... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly, polite, helpful staff. We stayed in an amazing suite that was very clean with superb decor. Included breakfast was very nice and could not fault waiting staff. Very competitive rate for the one nights stay. Impressive hotel in great surroundings. A very successful stay with excellent service all round.

Helpful?
Thank Gemma S
Oliver B, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this review

Dear Gemma, We really appreciated you taking the time to post your review, and are delighted it was so positive. We do have wonderful rooms and suites and pride ourselves on serving a great breakfast every day. We are so pleased you had such a successful stay, and hope to be able to welcome you back one day. Yours sincerely,... More 

Colchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We just spent a lovely weekend here. The hotel is set in pleasant grounds and has adequate parking. The room we had was in the garden wing with a balcony and a lovely view. Unfortunately it was a little noisy during the evening as there was a wedding party below us. On the good side though we were not from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Squashyone
Oliver B, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this review

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us recently. Sorry you were a little disturbed by the wedding celebrations, we do everything we can to minimise any disturbance to our other guests. I am so pleased you enjoyed your dinner, afternoon tea, and the poached eggs at breakfast. I have ask the chef to take a look at the... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Access is not easy and cannot be made through the University campus. Having arrived, there is a strangely sterile atmosphere about the hotel. The reviewer who commented that reception was somewhat public is absolutely right. Reception is a small desk one end of the large hall. Our room, actually a suite, was overly large and under furnished. Air conditioning was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travellersboth
Oliver B, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, following your recent visit. Some Sat Navs do unfortunately direct you through the University campus, but, as you point out this is not in fact any access through. It is best to follow our directions we have posted on our website, for anyone who is thinking of coming. Unfortunately, due to restraints of being a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

370 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (267)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (144)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wivenhoe
9.7 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
491 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
2.1 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#5 of 24 in Colchester
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
2.5 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
227 reviews
5.6 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Re-opened in June 2012 after a £10 Million refurbishment, Wivenhoe House Hotel is a 17th Century country house, which is also home to the Edge Hotel School. Students at the school work alongside professionals, as they study for their degree in Hotel Management. There are 40 rooms, 16 in the main house and 24 in the more modern garden wing. The brasserie offers breakfast lunch and dinner daily, and afternoon tea is served in the drawing room daily. The panoramic views over the wooded parkland tot he University of Essex, are stunning. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wivenhoe House

Address: Wivenhoe Park, Wivenhoe, Colchester CO4 3SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Wivenhoe
Price Range: $109 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wivenhoe House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Wivenhoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wivenhoe House Hotel Colchester
Wivenhoe Hotel Colchester
Wivenhoe House England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Wivenhoe House staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Amman
3 months ago
Essex, United Kingdom
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Wivenhoe House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We stayed on the 4th floor which had great views.”
 of 5 bubbles 100Shar0n, 6 days ago | Read review
“We stayed in the new wing with a great view”
 of 5 bubbles JanetD83, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“The new block overlooks the playing fields with lovely balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles newsheep, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
“Chose a suite they are great”
  • This is the bed, so big and such comfy bed it was too
  • nice big bath too
 of 5 bubbles 527ianw, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be seated in the garden room, or don't visit for afternoon tea.”
 of 5 bubbles annieg23, Sep 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay